Skip to content
can of worms

Remember the goodwill dresser turned media console? Well, that piece of furniture opened up a serious can of worms.

I liked the look of it soooooo much better than the tacky glass stand.

My original plan was to take out the top drawers and create a shelf for the components. But I chickened out. I liked the way the dresser looked too much to take the drawers away.

Which left me with a tiny problem. No room for the components. Which was kind of the point of the whole media console to begin with! Like I said, can of worms.

So as a temporary solution to get the components off of the floor, I bought an el-cheapo laminate media cabinet from goodwill. It was $5. Just till I figured out what I wanted to do.

Functionally, it is great…it holds all of the components just fine and dandy. Aesthetically, it is ug.  For a split second, I thought about painting it black. But that would be the equivalent of putting lipstick on a pig.

What to do…what to do…

What if I take some pretty fabric and make a slipcover for it? Why not?

I found this pretty fabric on a road trip to JoAnn Fabrics in Buffalo yesterday. Love.

Today I whipped up a slipcover. Pretty fabric can solve most any problem. (Another bumper sticker?)

Here it is. Considering I’m a beginner sewer, I think it’s gooder ‘n grits.

Here is a little trip down transformation lane.

The lid is back on that can of worms.

I’ve got some other changes in the family room that I can’t wait to show you this week.

Till next time!

The DIY Show Off

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gooder ‘n grits, eh? Too funny, especially since that’s what I just had for breakfast!

    Love the cover idea!

    January 31, 2011
  2. So much better….you are right…fabric and paint are the answer to all of life’s problems!

    January 31, 2011
    • Wanda Graves #

      I love all ideas you come up with, wish i had you at my house!!! I have only had your site for about 3 weeks, Janette Ingram my BFF shared it with me me.

      January 31, 2011
  3. You are too funny! I am a beginner in the sewing department too and I love what you did and it gives me inspiration!

    January 31, 2011
  4. Ido #

    I like it! I have the same problem in my bedroom, too bad I can’t sew. Love the fabric!
    Have a great day!

    January 31, 2011
  5. Patty #

    Hi! I enjoy reading your blog every day. So inspiring! 🙂

    Here is a possible solution to your component storage dilemma without changing the look of the dresser. You can use drawer slides that allow the drawer fronts to flip down for easy access to your components. 🙂 Check it out!

    http://en.allexperts.com/q/Cabinets-Furniture-Woodworks-1468/2009/10/converting-armoire-base-tv.htm

    Patty 🙂

    January 31, 2011
  6. Wow, what a great idea! It looks so nice. I too am in the market for a dresser for my big, ugly eyesore, aka the tv. I will definetly keep your wonderful makeover in mind!!

    February 1, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

