Skip to content
anthropologie inspired rope knobs

Don’t you love these coiled rope knobs from Anthropologie?

They are pretty darn cute.

I’m working on some side tables for a client and these are just the knobs I want to use.

The problem is Anthropologie is downtown Toronto. And I’m lazy. Well, when it comes to driving into Toronto in the snow I am.

The side tables have wooden knobs and I thought, “Hmmmmm….I bet I could create some knobs similar to the Anthropologie ones for free.”

So I got out some twine and my glue gun.

I started twisting from the end of the twine and made several circles before gluing it to the center of the knob.

Then I kept adding glue around the edge and wrapping the twine.

Here’s a sneak peek of how it looks on the side table. It has a very nautical feel which luckily is what I was goin for!

Check back later this week for the side table makeover reveal!

Linking up here:
Photobucket/Today's Creative BlogThe DIY Show Off Tute yourself tuesday red and white

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. those are awesome!!! what a great idea and update for tired old knobs!

    February 1, 2011
  2. Beautiful knobs. I love the nautical look myself. They look amazing!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Laura

    February 1, 2011
  3. These are awesome! What a great idea to use twine to make anthro knobs! Hope you will share with my Pink Hippo Party @ http://pinkapotamus.blogspot.com/2011/01/pink-hippo-party-14.html

    February 1, 2011
  4. Once again…I am amazed!

    February 1, 2011
  5. Ido #

    I like yours better than Anthropologie’s a thousand times.
    They’re beautiful, can’t wait to see the finished piece.

    February 1, 2011
  6. Kim H #

    Love your knobs! I was just oogling some very similar knobs at Hobby Lobby yesterday. Theirs were half off and came to only $2.00 a piece! Good option for the not so crafty and a way better price than Anthro.

    February 1, 2011
  7. Oh….how completely and totally cool! You always have the best ideas!

    February 1, 2011
  8. i like those even better than the anthro ones! great job!

    February 1, 2011
  9. KHeller #

    You must have been reading my mind. I have a little beach cabin and was planning on working on the kitchen this weekend. I wanted to replace the plain, boring wood knobs on the cabinets but couldn’t find anything nautical looking that I could actually afford to purchase so I got the same idea you did and was planning to use twine to cover the knobs in exactly the same manner as you did. So nice that I could see your finished product before I start mine this weekend. Thanks so much for the inspiration!!

    February 1, 2011
  10. I LOVE anything with twine! Great job! I’ve never seen anything like this!

    February 1, 2011
  11. I love these! The nautical feel is so much fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d love for you to link up to my new linky party, Tute {Yourself} Tuesday!
    LittleEme.blogspot.com
    The linky will be open until Wednesday evening. ๐Ÿ™‚

    February 2, 2011
  12. What a great idea!!! Thanks for sharing, I’ll have to give it a try.
    Cindy

    February 2, 2011
  13. Lei #

    Fab.u.lous! I love them.

    February 2, 2011
  14. Great job! I saw this on Anthro’s site.

    February 6, 2011
  15. What a fantastic simple & thrifty project idea! I can’t wait to see the whole table reveal. Thanks so much for sharing!

    February 8, 2011
  16. What a cute idea! I love the beachy details! I linked this to my nautical post too, well done!

    May 3, 2011
  17. Adore those nautical knot knobs. Yous are a great idea for an easy breezy knock off, so doable.

    May 3, 2011
  18. LOVE this! I’ve done the same thing with plastic eggs…why not knobs?? Great idea.

    May 20, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. meet Polly and her twin sister Urethane « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

