Skip to content
If you buy a bargain chair…

If you buy a bargain chair and a pair of thrifty end tables

you’re gonna need to make some thrifty drapes to go with them.

But once you hang those thrifty drapes, you’ll realize that the brown tables that you promised not to paint would realllllyyyyyy look better black.

So you paint them black.

And you love them so much that you realize you need something that makes more of a statement on the mantel.

So you buy a new mirror.

And then you call it good.

Except, now the coffee table really needs to be painted blue to match the throw on the chair and to add a pop of color to the room. πŸ™‚

I know you are tired of seeing this room. Β Once I get the coffee table painted (hopefully this week) this room will be finished.

No, really! I mean it this time!

before

and after

before

and after

We are in for a heck of a snowstorm tonight!

How’s the weather in your neck of the woods?

Linking up here:

Photobuckethandmade projectsDomestically SpeakingMake it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

32 Comments Post a comment
  1. In CT, we’ve had continual snow every wk since Xmas! Got another 7″ today of fluffy white snow, but Round 2 comes in tonight. ‘Wintry Mix’ overnight & most of tmrw w/more snow, plus sleet & freezing rain. We’re already living in igloos! Icicles from roof to ground & everyone’s been shoveling their ROOFS to avoid collapses…

    February 2, 2011
  2. Your room is looking STUNNING!!! LOVE it!

    February 2, 2011
  3. Patricia #

    We are going to get the leftovers of your storm here in Montreal!

    I guess you will be staying home and painting blue tomorrow – sounds like a plan to me.

    February 2, 2011
  4. Vanessa #

    Talk about “If you give a mouse a cookie” HAHA This room is just beautiful!! Love the chair! I forget did you do the houndstooth pattern or was that your Hubbys fav chair as is?! Love to see you do something houndstooth like a small chair or stool and then see it under your current listings! haha

    February 2, 2011
    • V, I got the chair on kijiji. 40 bucks! I want to do something in houndstooth but haven’t found the fabric. Any fabric store suggestions other than Fabric-gag-me-land? πŸ˜‰

      February 2, 2011
      • Vanessa #

        Ebay seems to be where its at!

        http://shop.ebay.ca/?_from=R40&_trksid=p5197.m570.l1313&_nkw=houndstooth+fabric&_sacat=See-All-Categories

        or just go to ebay and search houndstooth fabric! Looks like there are a few at $1 plus shipping per yard!! Thats GREAT – one place in Toronto is listing the fabric T $38 a yard!!??

        You know the green antique table you did for me?! well I have a similar secretary desk that needs a backless chair/wide stool and hounds tooth would look cool with it!! Anything in inventory?! haha

        February 2, 2011
  5. it’s just the basic evolution of a room- one thing leads to another… tell me something more! πŸ˜‰ it’s all looking wonderful- you really have a knack!

    February 2, 2011
  6. You are so extremely talented! What a great transformation. Love it!

    The weather here…colder than a well digger’s behind! Not so typical for Southeast Texas!

    February 2, 2011
  7. Kim #

    Cute post. One thing always leads to another. Love the new look. Cold and raining here. Thank goodness it isn’t snowing. Thanks for joining the party.

    February 2, 2011
  8. Renee #

    And if you decorate that room, you’ve got to decorate the next room…
    Your room is stunning! I love it.

    February 2, 2011
  9. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    It’s 63 degrees here in FL at 8:20 pm, had a little thunder storm roll through that gave us some rain, which we always need. Hate it for all you igloo dwellers.

    Susan, your Grandmother is looking down from heaven with a smile on her face evertime you sit down at the sewing machine. So glad you are adding sewing to your other talents. However, I was wondering if you had thrown your glue gun, then you did the rope knobs, great job.

    Can’t wait to see that blue coffee table in your Den.

    February 2, 2011
  10. There is a really big snowstorm, the same one, so close to us now, it should be here soon. I love the little black end tables. They look so sophisticated now.

    February 2, 2011
  11. I am a new follower and loving your blog! If You Give A Mouse A Cookie is a great analogy for my hunt for treasures! Love it!!

    February 2, 2011
  12. snowy. very snowy. πŸ™‚

    February 2, 2011
  13. I love every detail of this room. Those drapes are amazing! I love anything striped. Add the wonderful houndstooth chair and you are singing my song!
    I was a balmy 75 degrees here in sunny Florida today! I am sorry the rest of the country can’t enjoy this weather! I know it won’t last long for us!
    Lacy

    February 2, 2011
  14. Melinda Burke #

    Susan the room looks GREAT! I would like to know where you purchased the silver canle holders on your mantle I love them! Please let me know!

    February 2, 2011
    • Hi Melinda, I got them at IKEA a few years ago. I’m not sure if they still have them.

      February 2, 2011
  15. I’m visiting from My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia. You did a terrific job decorating your family room! I love the painted side table/chest. It looks completely different black.

    February 2, 2011
  16. Love your “Give a mouse a cookie” analogy! We use that phrase with every remodeling project it seems…The room is looking great. Those curtains are genious! We didn’t get all the snow you’re supposed to get here in NE because it’s too d…. cold–it’s supposed to be 21 below tonight! Happy painting, and stay warm.

    February 2, 2011
  17. Those nightstands are so beautiful! Your room looks amazing!!!

    February 2, 2011
  18. Wow! That room is really looking sophisticated. Great job! I like the end tables and how you painted the drawer pulls black. I have a very large dresser with the same drawer pulls that I’ve been wanting to change to something black. I could paint them with spray paint I already own and save $50 to $100. Please keep posting on this room; I never tire of seeing it.

    February 2, 2011
  19. Jamie #

    You never cease to amaze me….it looks beautiful!!!
    Lots of sleet and snow here…realllly coold …brrrr!! Stay safe..and thank you for all your inspiration!!! Can hardly wait to see what you do next!! God Bless!!

    February 2, 2011
  20. There is never “done”…you know that!

    February 2, 2011
  21. i love the way you got to where you are in this space-you are 100% right, one thing leads to another! the shape of those newly painted tables are soo nice. great job!

    February 2, 2011
  22. Carrie #

    Too funny! You make me feel normal! The mirror looks great and I have the same little bedside table in my daughters room. I just may have to add that to my “PAINT” pile! Thanks again for the inspiration! C

    February 2, 2011
  23. You room looks beautiful & I love your end table painted black. I’m putting it in the PoPP Spotlight. Thanks for linking up.

    February 5, 2011
  24. The room turned out gorgeous! Love the painted black side tables.

    February 5, 2011
  25. WOW!!! The room looks FABULOUS!!! Where did you purchase the Mirror? I love the Quatrefoil design!

    Artful Blessings,
    Kathryn

    February 6, 2011
    • Hi Kathryn, Thanks so much. I found the mirror at HomeSense (Canada’s version of Home Goods).

      February 6, 2011
  26. This is like the book: If you Give a Mouse a Cookie!
    The end tables are great in black!

    February 7, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

