Skip to content
everything’s cuter under a cloche

Cloches have been on the decorating scene for a while now.

I know, I’m late to the party. Everyone in blogland has featured cloches and maybe it’s soooooooo 2010, but I still love them.

And apparently, so does Pottery Barn.  For $19-29.

And Wisteria reeeeeeaaaallllllyyyyy loves theirs. They are $79.

Look, I have the same one that I found at goodwill for $2.99.

It didn’t have a base, so I used a white plate that I had on hand.

Here’s one that I found at HomeSense for $14.99. Love the rustic base.

And here are a couple more from thrift stores.

They were a cheese dome and an anniversary clock dome in their former lives.

I kept the dome and pitched the cheap-o clock.

Don’t worry, there is no shortage of them in thrift stores around here!

Don’t you just LOVE outsmarting retail stores?

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lol. Just posted about ours this week!
    Shannon
    {aka}|design

    February 3, 2011
  2. I love them as well, regardless of if they are all so 2010! I will now be on the hunt for the clock domes to repurpose…thank you!!!!

    February 3, 2011
  3. i just love your thrift store bargains!

    February 3, 2011
  4. Great deal! I love them too, and had a really huge one I picked up at HomeSense for about $12. My son picked it up and dropped it! My parents had one of those brass clocks. I love the tile in the photo, your backsplash I assume.

    February 3, 2011
  5. Debbie #

    Just wondering???? Any ideas how to attach something to top of the “anniversary clock cover cloche wannabes”. If anyone can come up with an idea it would surely be you!!!

    Debbie

    February 3, 2011
    • Hi Debbie, What do you want to attach? Like a finial?

      February 3, 2011
      • Debbie #

        Possibly, what do you think??? I have been trying to come up with something. Round glass, finial??????

        On another note I have to tell you I am in awe of you and all the transformations you do. I have several pieces I have recently acquired and look to you for inspiration. Your energy and talent are both so bountiful!!!!

        Debbie

        February 3, 2011
      • Debbie, thanks for the sweet comments! A finial might be cool on top. Great idea. I would use a hot glue gun to adhere it. That should work fine. Send me a photo of your finished masterpiece!

        February 3, 2011
  6. Love, love, love them too! Never thought about the clock idea, thanks for another great tip! Will be on the lookout at all the thrift stores. I’ve always wanted a cloche, but the retail prices were just more than I wanted to spend.

    February 3, 2011
  7. Rondell #

    I’m glad I stopped by today…I found one without the clock at GW but couldn’t figure out what it had been, now I know…love all of yours! I see the bigger ones at Marshall’s everytime I’m there just haven’t bought one yet:)

    February 3, 2011
  8. What an ah ha moment…an old clock…gotta use my brain sometime!

    February 3, 2011
  9. Sue #

    I just love your post on the cloches so cute! It’s funny I found one at my goodwill to use in a display at my new shop I will be opening in just 2 weeks thank you for the wonderful inspriation they are so charming no matter what you put under them!

    February 4, 2011
  10. Jessica #

    Hi there! I just had to send a quick note to say….Love Love Love everything you do! I really forget how I stumbled upon you…I do know I was googling something. Anyways, you’re talented and funny to boot!! I’ve recently gotten into the revival of “things”. It happened when I realized that the ideas I would come up with, I could never find. Solution?? Create it yourself! Keep up the amazing creations….and I’ll keep tuning in!

    Jessica

    February 4, 2011
  11. Carol Thomas #

    Wow I have one of those clocks in the garage sale box in the garage. Guess I will bring in the glass now and put it to use. Love it!!!

    February 4, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. cloche love | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

