Skip to content
not Mrs. C’s sewing table

I found this vintage sewing table from the 50’s at Goodwill the other day.

I wasn’t in love with it. I’ve seen prettier sewing tables for sure. The legs didn’t really blow my skirt up. But the price was right and I thought it would be a good candidate for a makeover.

The thing I love about old furniture is its history. Can’t you just picture Mrs. Cunningham sitting down at this to sew Joanie’s prom dress?

Problem is…this baby hasn’t been updated since then. Makeover time.

The first thing I did was to clean the table and remove the Singer sewing machine which was bolted down.

I wanted to totally transform this dated table so I chose a fresh and fun color, Waterfall by Benjamin Moore. It is the color of a box from Tiffany’s.

After painting, I added some pretty paisley Anna Griffin scrapbook paper to the drawer fronts with mod podge.

Next, I lined the drawers with a coordinating pattern.

For the hardware, I spray painted the existing pulls and knobs with Rust-oleum Caribbean Blue.

For a touch of bling, I hot glued some scrapbooking embellishments to the 2 knobs.

Aren’t they a fun touch?

Now it’s funky and fun…definitely too hip for Mrs. C. 😉

If you are local and interested it it, shoot me an email…it’s heading to current listings.

TGIF people!!!!!!!! Can I get an AMEN????

Have a great weekend.

Linking up here:
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cuteness……and about that amen…..YES!

    February 4, 2011
  2. I’m in total LOVE. And I’m swooning…though I can only see the bottom of the machine, is that a Singer 230? Girl, if it is, you’ve got a gem! They absolutely purr. Fabulous makeover. Thanks for sharing.

    February 4, 2011
  3. Ido #

    Beautiful! AMEN! Susan!

    February 4, 2011
  4. so cute!! I love it!

    February 4, 2011
  5. Jackie #

    I love it!! THe paint color is perfect.

    February 4, 2011
  6. Totally groovy and Amen!

    February 5, 2011
  7. oh that is adorable!!! i love the fun of this piece… i need to try more like this. ijust love it!

    February 5, 2011
  8. Theresa #

    Amen!! Another great piece. Love coming home from a hard day and seeing what fun stuff you have to show us!

    February 5, 2011
  9. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    Oh what fun! Wouldn’t Mrs. C be surprised!

    February 5, 2011
  10. Oh I love it so much!

    February 5, 2011
  11. This time you really made me smile. One Of A KIND!

    Very hip, chicka.

    February 9, 2011
  12. I LOVE that sewing table! My first thought too, was kinda plain, boring….don’t like the legs either. But afterwards, WOW! I’m in love! Way to go!!

    February 10, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

