Skip to content
Greetings from Busytown

Sorry I’ve been MIA. I have all these great blogging plans and then life gets in the way. πŸ™‚

I’ve been working on some big projects for a client and I’m excited to share one with you.

She found this antique teacher desk on kijiji and brought it to me to beautify. My first thought, of course, was to paint it. But I couldn’t pull the trigger on a color. And if I can’t pick a color…well, Houston we have a problem.

So instead of covering it up, I thought I’d try restoring it to its original beauty. Which meant sanding. Lots and lots of sanding.

The top had suffered from years of abuse. It had stains, rings, gashes, you name it.

The more I sanded, the more the beautiful grain came through.

Here it is all sanded and ready to be conditioned.

I rubbed Minwax Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner all over the wood. Let it sit for 15 minutes and it was ready to be stained.

I knew I had to choose a dark stain because some of the dark gashes didn’t come out. I wanted them to blend as much as possible so I chose Minwax Dark Walnut.

After 2 coats here is what it looked like. Don’t mind the stain/stains on the floor, I’m very messy when I work.

I love the grain.

I added some antique nickel Victorian pulls to the drawers.

And here is the AFTER.

One more time….BEFORE….

and AFTER…

I really love how this turned out. I hope my client is happy with it.

If not, it will be in my current listings for

oneΒ MILLION dollars…

Toodles. πŸ™‚

Linking up here:
Photobucket/ The DIY Show OffPhotobucketAnything Related

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ido #

    Hello Susan,
    I’m sooooo sorry for all those comments that appeared on your yesterday’s post. For some reason it wasn’t working and I kept trying again and again. I feel so embarrassed, again I’m sorry!
    That desk is beautiful, I love those drawer pulls.
    Ido

    February 8, 2011
    • Ido, no biggie! Sometimes the comments just go haywire! Anyway, I’ll take comments any way I can get them! πŸ˜‰ Have a good day.

      February 8, 2011
  2. glad houston had a problem – LOVE the orignial natural beauty of this oak desk shining through! love the handles too.

    February 8, 2011
  3. Love the stain you chose! It’s the same stain color we used for our hardwood!

    February 8, 2011
  4. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    You had me on pins and needles all weekend waiting to see what you did with this desk. Kudo’s to you for bringing it back to it’s natural beauty. I think the pulls you chose are soooooooo much better than the old ones. I have a dining table that I’d love to do this exact same thing to – – – can I borrow your arm?

    February 8, 2011
  5. that is just beautiful!!!! you did a wonderful job making that piece sooo much better and much more valuable. worth one million for sure!

    February 8, 2011
  6. Patty #

    LOL You crack me up! πŸ™‚ The desk is just gorgeous! The drawer pulls are perfect.

    February 8, 2011
  7. Tiger Oak is my favorite wood grain. You did it justice. Very beautiful.

    February 8, 2011
  8. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    That is one big, beautiful desk!

    February 8, 2011
  9. I only wish a giant old teacher’s desk would come my way someday. Absolutely stunning and the stain fits the “authoritative” sense of the desk. Well done.

    February 8, 2011
  10. Ashleigh @ Sincerely #

    The Doctor Evil picture at the end was the perfect touch!

    The desk came out perfectly!

    February 8, 2011
  11. Oh my, it’s gorgeous! Wow! What a makeover! Great job! I’m so glad you joined me for Anything Related!

    February 8, 2011
  12. You did a wonderful job. All of that sanding is a real workout but it turned out to be worth it.

    February 9, 2011
  13. I love it! Wow.

    February 9, 2011
  14. Kim #

    That was a LOT of sanding. It turned out beautifully. Don’t you have an electric sander for big jobs like that. I just got one and love it!

    February 9, 2011
  15. Normally I love painted furniture, but I’m sure glad you didn’t paint this piece! The wood is beautiful and you did a wonderful job restoring it!

    February 9, 2011
  16. I am so glad you decided not to cover that beautiful wood grain. White may be popular but natural wood will never be a bad choice in my opinion.

    I love your asking price. Just covering the value of your efforts!

    February 9, 2011
  17. Wow that was a lot of work…wonder how your nails look today:) Looks fab!

    February 10, 2011
  18. Hi Susan! So very excited about this post. I have desk “parts” similar to this desk. They got put on hold for the winter here in the Great White North. Meaning: I was able to get the stripper on and off. The pieces are waiting to be sanded. Your post gives me a bit of an idea of what to expect. I will remember to be patient (I usually can’t wait to get to the finished project). Thanks! -Tami_

    February 10, 2011
  19. This is lovely. I am hosting a Valentine Giveaway. I would love for you to stop by!

    February 10, 2011
  20. Lee Ann K #

    what a fantastic job, you are only the 2nd dresser/desk makeover that kept real wood, HURRAY!!

    i get the shabby chic rage but honestly something different like this is nice, i do love real wood!

    February 22, 2011
  21. MomFick #

    New at redoing old items! Fun new hobby!

    March 7, 2011
  22. That desk looks great and I love that you stained it! I know your client will be happy.

    Have a wonderful day,
    Gail

    October 3, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

