Skip to content
masculine dresser makeover

I found this vintage dresser on kijiji the other day for a song.

Totally not the typical style that I go for, but I loved how it reeked of masculinity. Not in a bad way, more in an Old Spice kinda way.

I could totally see this in a teen boy’s room.

The wood was in fantastic shape, but to me really dated the piece. I imagined it in a very dark charcoal.

I gave the dresser a couple of coats of a custom Ben Moore color and spray painted the hardware in Rustoleum’s Satin Nickel.

Here he is.

Not the greatest photo, but you get the idea.

He’s heading over to current listings.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Linking up here:
Anything Related Photobucket

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. THAT was the perfect color….I love it!

    February 18, 2011
  2. karen #

    great job on masculine chest, luv it! no sanding first? luv to know the trick of that paint.

    February 18, 2011
    • Hi Karen, I use an oil-based Melamine paint made by Para. It requires no sanding OR priming (as long as the piece is in good condition). I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this paint. It is the same one that is used on kitchen cabinetry. It has a very durable finish…much more so than latex. Hope that helps! Have a great weekend!

      February 18, 2011
  3. Beautiful!

    February 18, 2011
  4. Nola #

    Really cleaned this dresser up! Looks great!

    February 19, 2011
  5. It looks just great!!

    February 19, 2011
  6. This is really cool. You walked the fine line between making it look “pretty” but still keeping it masculine.

    Robby
    http://downonsanford.blogspot.com/

    February 19, 2011
  7. Hi, this is Nick from the DaySpring Affiliate Program. After looking over your blog, I think you might be a good fit for our program. You can learn all the details on our website or email me with any questions you may have.

    February 20, 2011
  8. I love the lines of the dresser! What’s Kijiji?

    February 23, 2011
    • Hi Yanet! Love your blog! kijiji is like craigslist. 🙂 Lots of great stuff!

      February 23, 2011
  9. wow! if you got a good deal, that’s an awesome piece!
    gail

    February 25, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. tres magnifique! | Maple & Magnolia
  2. tiny chest enhancement « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

