Skip to content
pinwheel quilt

I started a quilting class last week. It’s only a two week class. My homework was to complete 36 squares.

I finished them yesterday. Today I discovered the hardest part of quilting, for me, so far. Arranging the squares!

Trying to make a random pattern while keeping like colors and patterns somewhat spread out from one another. Maybe I was over thinking it.

I have no idea if it is “right.” But it looks okay to me I guess.

The fabric is Dream On by Urban Chiks for Moda. It was really fun to work with. Bright and cheerful and springy. And flowery. 😉

Tuesday we will supposedly finish it. It’s only a two  hour class.  Somehow I don’t think I will walk out of there with a finished quilt. We’ll see.

Can I ask a favor to those quilters out there? Do you have a favorite quilting blog? If so, would you leave a link in the comments? Preesheate it. 😉

Hope you are having a good Sunday. Right now the Daytona 500 is on the tv at about 7 million decibels and my walls and windows are vibrating.

My question to certain fellas that I live with…why do you need sound to watch cars go round and round in a circle?

Lord, help me. 😉

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful quilt! It’s your first?! Laying out is agonizing for me too, but the part I find most tedious is binding. Will you quilt this yourself too? As for quilting blogs, there are SO MANY! One of my favorites is Crazy Mom Quilts. http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/ From there just check out who she follows, and you’ll have an endless list. Another site to check out is Flickr. There are tons of quilt groups, and many of the users there post links to their blogs, which are full of invaluable information, from ideas, to patterns, to tutorials. Have fun!

    February 20, 2011
  2. ReaderWoman #

    I adore your blog! Searching out some websites for ya. We have so much in common! Hey, I sure hope you don’t have surround sound! (WE do! ROFL)

    February 20, 2011
  3. Love your pinwheels. It looks darling. Your fabric choices were perfect and you’re doing great. I think you’re a natural! This quilting thing becomes an obsession you know. Prepare to have your life taken over by bolts of fabric and a million quilting ideas running through your head constantly.

    Here’s a few of the “big guns” in the quilting world to inspire you.

    http://www.cluckclucksew.com/
    http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/
    http://www.ohfransson.com/

    There are lots of smaller very talented quilters out there too.

    Enjoy your class!

    February 20, 2011
  4. Carole Evon #

    It is so exciting making your first quilt. I made my first one in 1993 and having stopped since. There are so many great quilting blogs, a few of my favorites are
    http://bunnyhillblog.com
    modabakeshop.com and http://camilleroskelley.typepad.com/simplify/

    February 20, 2011
  5. Kim Brown #

    I agree with the above, this is one of the best quilting Blogs I have found:

    crazymomquilts.blogspot.com

    ps…your arrangement looks beautiful!! 🙂

    February 20, 2011
  6. Sharmin #

    Hi,
    I am sooooooo impressed with your quilt!!! It’s hard to believe that you just got started – you rock!!!

    I don’t sew, but I know someone who’s an AMAZING quilt artist. Her name is Marilyn Belford – I know she has a website – you should be able to find it if you Google her name. I hope she inspires you!

    February 20, 2011
  7. I am so envious…this is your FIRST quilt?…You are a true talent. I LOVE that quilt and feel I am an expert, you see I went to the fair this year and there were tons of quilts and this would have been my pick for Grand Champion no kidding!

    February 20, 2011
  8. marilyn elsenpeter #

    What a Race and how great that a Rookie with a capital R won it!! Only his 2nd sprint cup race. That’s like finding an heirloom at the Goodwill!! Great lookin’ quilt!! The pinwheels all look like pinwheels, so I’d say you nailed it!!

    February 21, 2011
  9. Jim #

    I am so proud of you! You’re so talented. It amazes me how fast you learn and master new things.

    p.s. NASCAR is meant to be watched loud – like we were there! Just like Gilmore Girls episodes are meant to be watched over and over and over…

    February 21, 2011
  10. Melinda Burke #

    Susan you are getting way too talented, and your making me mad!!! just kidding….anyway it’s FAB!

    February 21, 2011
  11. Mel #

    Wow, you jump in with both feet, dontcha?

    It’s so pretty, and I love the bright colours.

    February 21, 2011
  12. Thanks, everybody for the nice comments but ESPECIALLY those links! I think I spent at least three hours looking through Cluck Cluck Sew. Love. that. blog. 🙂 I’ll post tomorrow with whatever I get finished at my class. I’m already planning my next quilt. This could be a highly addicting hobby!

    February 21, 2011
  13. Haha – guys, sports and volume could certainly put us over the edge!

    Good job on the quilt – I would never have the patience. Another blog to check out:

    http://coloradolady.blogspot.com

    February 21, 2011
  14. Thanks for saying Hi on my blog today – I’m so happy to find you too! I LOVE the quilt – that Dream On collection is my most recent favorite. The pinwheels look wonderful.

    Also I’m loving all of your furniture makeovers and thrift store finds. I need to have the guts to tackle more awesome furniture projects like those!

    February 22, 2011
  15. Looks great to me! I have always wanted to learn how to quilt ~ this looks amazing! Keep up the good work!

    February 23, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

