Skip to content
thrifty silver

At Goodwill the other day, I made a major silver score. Now, silver plated pieces are a dime a dozen at thrift stores. But nice, heavy, quality silver plate or sterling pieces get snapped up pretty quickly.

These were all super nice and heavy…no cheapy stuff here. I got the bowls and sugar bowl for $1.99 each and the teapot, covered dish and salt and pepper set for $3.99 each.

What appealed to me about some of the pieces was the Old English engraving.

Love the intricate detailing on this bowl.

This simple sugar bowl had me at hello.

I polished it all with Tarn-X silver polish…look how pretty it is all shined up!

Have you scored any thrifty finds lately?

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow! You really did score! I have found so many silver plated pieces at GW. That reminds me I need to stop by GW this week.

    February 20, 2011
  2. Melinda Burke #

    That’s funny how Mary calls it the GW! That was the name I gave it so if anyone happen to see my check register they wouln’t think I was crazy……instead they just see GW and wonder why I write them so…..many checks. Susan I would love to share my finds with you, where can I post my pictures? Let me know

    February 20, 2011
    • Melinda…that’s a hoot. You can just email them to me…not sure how else to do it. 🙂

      February 20, 2011
  3. I love a good loot from Goodwill! A great day for thrifting! Here is a loot I found one day:

    http://thesavvyspeechie.blogspot.com/2011/01/awol-and-little-treaures.html

    February 20, 2011
  4. Wow….lucky you!

    February 21, 2011
  5. I love a good GW find! I was just at my local GW Last Chance Warehouse yesterday and found a cute, shabby chic cottage sign…I’ll have to take a picture tonight and email it to you M&M. It was only $1.18 with tax! Sooo happy. At this warehouse they weigh everything and it’s something like $1.37/pound, so if you get something heavy it’s most likely going to cost you more than it would if you bought it in the regular GW store.

    February 21, 2011
    • Ooohhh, Andrea! I’ve never heard of a GW warehouse! Sounds like heaven to me.

      February 21, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

