Skip to content
random saturday stuff

Today I went and picked up my most recent kijiji purchase…this suh-weet antique vanity.

Most vanities that I have found have been large so when I found this petite beauty, I knew I had to have it.

I plan to paint it light french grey. The hardware will be painted as well.

I want to use it next to the tub, like her royal decorating highness Sarah Richardson did in the latest episode of Sarah 101. Gorge!

Of course while I was out I had to pop into Goodwill for a quick peek. Here are the goodies I found…

Love that “more or less 4 cups” pitcher! And check out the back…

The little ironstone creamer will be added to my rapidly growing collection and the green and white sugar was a nice touch to my spring dining room mantel.

And last but not least is this fun table runner I found on clearance at Pier One a few weeks ago.

Hope you are having a nice weekend. It’s cold and lightly snowing here. We are snuggled on the couch watching Karate Kid and then I’m off to organize.

Toodles!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. wow- that is one beautiful vanity! love it!

    February 26, 2011
  2. Allison #

    Your vanity is beautiful and will look lovely in a French gray. You find the best treasures. Enjoy your weekend and stay warm! It’s chilly where I live as well so I’m indoors working on projects.

    February 26, 2011
  3. Mel #

    ooh la la, it’s gorgeous! Great finds. I adore your wall of plates

    February 26, 2011
  4. Debbie #

    Lightly snowing here to and as always enjoyed your post. Your mantle is so pretty!!!

    Have a great day.

    February 26, 2011
  5. So not only do we both have Hannahs but it looks like we both had great success at the GW! Your mantle is really beautiful, I love the platters hanging above it! Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

    February 26, 2011
  6. Love the vanity! I miss having one and putting my makeup on sitting down….not enough space.
    I think a french gray will look gorgeous!

    Londen

    February 27, 2011
  7. I love the mantel! So clean! And your little vanity is so suh-weet! A perfect size!! Can’t wait to see the finished look!

    February 27, 2011
  8. Theresa #

    Hi,First let me say that I absolutely love your blog.
    Your $1 art desk has inspired me to do something similar to my granddaughter’s little tea table. But I have a few questions.
    How do you get such a smooth paint finish?
    If By hand, do you use a brush or roller?
    On sanding, is that by hand also? and do you sand every piece?
    sorry for the questions, but I’m new to this and if mine come out half as beautiful as yours, I’ll be so happy.
    Theresa

    February 27, 2011
    • Hi Theresa, Thanks so much! The smooth finish comes from the roller. I use a roller with a little nap to it. It holds the paint and distributes it more evenly better than foam. The brand is Wooster and the rollers are “Red Feather.” I only use a brush for areas that the roller won’t reach. As for sanding, that depends on the piece. The art table didn’t require any sanding. It was smooth and since I was using a good primer, I didn’t sand. On pieces that I do sand, I use a mouse sander or for larger pieces a rotary sander. If it’s a rough piece, I start with 80 grit and then end with 220 for a nice smooth finish. I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any more questions! Have a great day.

      February 27, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

