Skip to content
a little trunk in the junk

The newest members of my roadside rescue club found this pine trunk in the garbage.

Isn’t it great? Well, maybe not at first but it’s gonna be!

First step…remove the hinges. Guh-RODY.

Next step…sand all over with 80 grit to get the dings out. Pine is such a soft wood that it dings and scratches very easily.

I primed and then painted it all over in Benjamin Moore Gull Wing Gray. Then I gave the hinges a fresh coat of black spray paint.

I wanted to give this trunk a little oomph so I decided to stripe it.

The first step was to measure off the stripes.

Then I taped off using Frog Tape. This is the best painter’s tape I’ve tried. No bleeding!

I painted the stripes in Sherwin Williams Creamy. Once dry I used MinWax finishing paste and re-attached the hinges.

I love how fresh and clean it looks now.

Wouldn’t it make a cool coffee table?

One more before & after:

Love it. Hope my roadside rescue peeps do too. 🙂

Don’t forget to enter the french letter box giveaway!

Linking up here…
Photobucket/Domestically SpeakingAnything RelatedChic on a Shoestring Decorating

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ooh! The stripes really do make this trunk pop. Cute! Thanks for the detailed instructions too. Happy Thursday!

    March 3, 2011
  2. That is an amazing transformation. Wish the discards in our area were so great. It has a beach feel to it. ~~Sherry~~

    March 3, 2011
  3. you know i love those colors! 🙂

    March 3, 2011
    • So cute and I lvoe the blue stipes, just makes the whole thing smile!

      March 3, 2011
  4. This is beautiful, way to save a very nice piece. (Why can’t I find things like that. 🙂

    March 3, 2011
  5. Melinda Burke #

    Susan It’s so cute! are you keepting it, or selling it?

    March 3, 2011
  6. karen #

    absolutely love this little chest, your colors chosen and the stripes make it! good job!

    March 3, 2011
  7. This is a beyond fabulous makeover! I just love the stripes. Well done!

    March 3, 2011
  8. Wow – definitely shabby to tres chic! Love the beachy vibe with it too.

    March 3, 2011
  9. AWESOME!

    m ^..^

    March 3, 2011
  10. This looks amazing! great job!

    March 4, 2011
  11. Lindy@ Itsy Bitsy Paper #

    Wow, this is a beauty!
    http://itsybitsypaper.blogspot.com

    March 4, 2011
  12. kim #

    I am so ALL about stripes lately and this is fab!

    March 4, 2011
  13. Meg #

    Oh, I love the stripes! What a great rescue you made! Love it.

    March 5, 2011
  14. Nicely done, the stripes add a nice fresh touch to your trunk

    March 5, 2011
  15. Girl that looks awesome! I love just the stripes on the top and the rest gray. Nice job!
    Christine
    greatoakcircle.com

    March 5, 2011
  16. This turned out fabulous! Love the colors and the stripes. I’m going to feature you in my Flaunt it Friday Features. Please stop by and grab a button if you’d like. Thanks for linking up!

    March 6, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

