Skip to content
goin’ coastal

Yesterday I went to Toronto to pick up a chest that I found on kijiji.  My son Jake was with me so we decided as long as we were there we might as well hit Yorkdale Mall. Something magical happens when kids hit 16. Boys that once despised shopping all of a sudden don’t mind it so much. Especially if they are eyeing the new Kobe Nikes and our dinky mall doesn’t carry them. Plus, Yorkdale has a Pottery Barn…this is what we call a win-win, my friends!

Right across from Yorkdale, there is a Goodwill. Who knew? I ran in to have a quick little look-see. I emerged the proud owner of two antique shield back chairs. Aren’t they great? I scored the pair for $28. cha-ching.

I immediately began thinking about what kind of fabric I would use to cover up the lurvely Austin Powers-ish shagadelic gold velour. Yeah, baby. I wanted something bold and different.

While browsing through the clearance linens at Pottery Barn (my favorite area of the store) I found this pillow cover on clearance for $13.97.

Are you pickin up what I’m puttin down? No? Let me splain.

You may remember this post where I used a pillow case to cover a chair seat.

The cool things about pillow covers/cases is that there are two sides. 2 sides=2 chair covers. 🙂 Very easy and economical.

Now when deciding what color to paint the chairs (I did not want to leave them in the original wood—attention all furniture purists that insist on leaving me comments about not painting furniture—hello? this is a furniture painting blog) I wanted to go classic and bold.

I had plenty of Sherwin Williams Naval Blue left from my Union Jack chest. Perfect shade.

While the paint was drying, I worked on the chair pads. I covered them with two layers of batting to fluff them a bit. Then I cut the pillow cover in half and used one half to cover each seat. Another beauty of using these pillow covers is that the fabric is nice and thick, plus it is lined which gave very professional looking results.

Here they are all finished!

I love the updated look. I think they are very smart looking with a traditional yet coastal vibe.

I’m going to sit in one right now and sip a fruity drink with an umbrella in it and listen to some Jimmy Buffet.

And pretend we didn’t get a couple more inches of snow dumped on us last night.

Linking up here:
Boogieboard CottagePhotobucket/Anything RelatedDomestically SpeakingBeach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays

32 Comments Post a comment
  1. You did a beautiful job on the chairs. And what a deal you scored! I had no idea about the GW near Yorkdale. I have to go check that out.

    March 6, 2011
  2. marilyn elsenpeter #

    Absolutely fabulous. What a wonderful, creative idea.

    March 6, 2011
  3. vanessa #

    These are STUNNING… I love that blue!! I must have that blue!! You made my day! p.s What snow?

    March 6, 2011
  4. Debbie #

    Love these chairs!!!! You rock!!!
    Our snow came and melted. Have a nice Sunday.

    Debbie

    March 6, 2011
  5. Very cool! I can use a nice ‘coastal’ view with the snow we received last night.

    March 6, 2011
  6. These are GORGEOUS. What a great tip about using pillow covers for chair pads.

    March 6, 2011
  7. These chairs look amazing! Really clever idea using the pillow cover. You always make me laugh with your posts — especially the Polly and her twin siser Urethane. I think Urethane has waited on me at Home Depot.

    March 6, 2011
  8. Terry #

    I’ve been lurking for about month now and am too shy to comment but can’t help myself on these chairs. They took my breath away. You’re work is beautiful!

    March 6, 2011
  9. Sharmin #

    Your description of the “before” chairs is too funny! I LOVE what you did with them!!! Do you ever sleep? You get so many amazing things done – I feel like such a slacker! 🙂

    March 6, 2011
  10. Amazing. I never would have thought of pillow covers. I will have to remember that. I love what you did with them. Perfect touch with the nautical design. ~~Sherry~~

    March 6, 2011
  11. I’m headed to that Pottery Barn NEXT WEEKEND! We’re heading to Rainforest Cafe for a birthday dinner.
    So is this Goodwill worth checking out?!
    Our Goodwill’s here in Ottawa are BRUTAL for pricing.

    March 6, 2011
    • Sarah, overall that Goodwill is a dump. But, I did find these great chairs for dirt cheap so it’s always worth checking out! Have fun!

      March 6, 2011
      • I LOVE them!! Makes me miss our beach house even more! It was washed away in Hurricane Ike. I love your transformations!

        March 6, 2011
  12. Well the stars certainly aligned for you on this project. Just perfect!

    March 6, 2011
  13. Sue #

    Fabulous Love the color and the pillow case is amazing I am always so inspired by your projects! I wish I could find the deals you do at the Goodwill their prices have gone up so much here I can’t afford them anymore 😦

    March 6, 2011
  14. Nola #

    Chairs look great! I’m a wood purist….hah! But I’m learning how to change my way of thinking by reading your posts. You have made some super-teriffic looking items come back to life with paint. Maybe soon, very soon, I’ll be able to pick up that paint brush and just go with it!!!

    March 6, 2011
  15. Lookin’ good! I love a good shield back. Thanks for the “pillow cover” tip! I can’t wait to start using my extra ones!

    March 6, 2011
  16. Wanda #

    Once again a true masterpiece! Those are beautiful . When it comes to daughter-in-laws we hit the jackpot.

    March 6, 2011
  17. Anybody can buy some beat up furniture but it is what you do with it…and you rock it every time!

    March 7, 2011
  18. What a great metamorphosis! Well done.

    I am having a hilarious Linky party with prizes this Wednesday. Details are on my blog today.
    I hope you’ll join in on the fun.

    March 7, 2011
  19. Great job! I just love anything coastal!

    March 7, 2011
  20. Wonderful!

    March 7, 2011
  21. Marcy #

    Simply stunning!!! Thank you for the tip on pillow covers. I’m a seamstress and I always forget about “unsewing” things as another way to use the fabric. You always seem to find bargains at GW . . . not so much in my town. GW is way overpriced, especially on furniture (or any of the “good stuff” for that matter). Keep up the good work! You inspire me.

    March 7, 2011
  22. Sandi #

    Wow… gorgeous… I just love your ideas!

    March 8, 2011
  23. Deneen #

    Love the material! This came out great!
    dreaming-n-color.blogspot.com

    March 8, 2011
  24. Wow, this is fantastic. I am following you. Hope to see you at My Dream Canvas.

    March 9, 2011
  25. Your chairs are just wonderful!! I’m so glad I found you today through BC’s Good Life Wednesday.

    Please come visit and say hi sometime – we celebrate the coastal lifestyle too!

    March 16, 2011
  26. Your chairs are part of today’s featured article! :O)

    Link: http://www.sallyleebythesea.com/2011/04/beach-cottage-design-inspiration.html

    April 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. B’s family room « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

