Skip to content
B’s family room

A client of mine (B) and her family just moved into a new home and I’ve been helping her decorate. Can you say dream job? She is so incredibly easy to work with and is so open to trying out new ideas. She’s loved everything I’ve done so far (whew). It helps that our styles are very closely matched.

The living room, family room and dining room are almost finished.ย The beauty of this job was that we basically started with a blank slate.

This isn’t a “true” before photo because it was taken with the previous owners’ furnishings. But it’s all I had.

And here is her mostly finished living room…

As you can see, I relied heavily on IKEA for this room. She had the red love seats but wanted to add more seating, so we went with the Ektorp sofa (love) in Abyn Blue. Her home is older and has a very cottage-y feel so I wanted to play off of that. ย The living room and kitchen are open to each other so they needed to flow. The kitchen has beautiful white cabinetry so this look ties in nicely.

I purposely didn’t put anything on the coffee table because she has a very curious 11 month old. ๐Ÿ™‚ You may recognize the side tables and the coffee table. On the wall that is adjacent to the pictured wall, I am adding this armoire and these chairs.

The photo gallery on the wall is made up of Ribba frames from IKEA. Best value for the money ever!

I got to put on my wanna-be photographer hat one afternoon and snapped all of those portraits of her beautiful children.

Here are a couple of my faves…(shared with B’s permission, of course)

Have you ever seen such incredible eyes?

And this cutie pie is so adorable I just want to squeeze his cheeks.

And this is a heart melter.

I will be posting more photos of her home later in the month.

We are traveling to Sweet Home Alabama for March break to thaw out so I won’t be posting for a couple of days.

But tune back in early next week. My mom has got lots and lots of projects planned for me that I’ll be sharing with you.

I’m bringing my sewing machine, sander, paint, glue gun, staple gun, etc.

I sure hope I have enough room leftover for clothes!

LInking up here:
Anything RelatedChic on a Shoestring Decorating

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beth #

    Susan,

    You amaze me! Beautiful job on that room and those children are just adorable! Have a great March break..hope it’s a lot warmer in Alabama!

    March 10, 2011
  2. Vanessa #

    Perfect! I love the lanterns! LOVE!! Cant wait to hear about customs and how they feel about your equipment! They are going to think you are Martha!! xo

    March 10, 2011
    • V-my feeling on customs is what they don’t know won’t hurt ’em.
      I’m more worried about customs when I come back over the border. Do I have to declare 800 knobs and 75 pounds of fabric???

      March 10, 2011
  3. Paula Robertson #

    I absolutely love what you have done here. and the pix of her children are wonderful Beautiful Children!! You are an inspiration.

    March 10, 2011
  4. Wanda Haskins #

    Love the room. Great job!!! The children are beautiful.

    March 10, 2011
  5. great transformation & the pics came out great! xoxo’s nancy

    March 10, 2011
  6. Lydia Plunk #

    It is a blessing that Southerners spread out to share their zest for the accoutrements of living.

    March 10, 2011
  7. Great photos – you should really explore your talent!

    March 11, 2011
    • Thanks, Kirsten. It’s on my list of things to explore!!! Have a good day. ๐Ÿ™‚

      March 11, 2011
  8. It’s beautiful! I love how people in design are always like, “Of course you recognize these items from Ikea.” Well, we don’t HAVE an Ikea in Birmingham and I’ve never been to the one in Atlanta, so I’m always in the dark about which furniture is Ikea and which isn’t. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I just bought my very first Ikea pieces, which I had my parents drive downtown to get (they live in Atl), but they’re still in the box waiting for me to put them together. Can’t wait!

    March 11, 2011
    • Hi Katherine, we are on our way to my parents in Montgomery as I type this. I am bringing a whole bunch of Ikea goodness for my mom. I take it for granted because we have ikeas on every corner here in Toronto. But then again…we don’t have Target! I would happily trade!:)

      March 11, 2011
  9. Those pictures are gorgeous! I am visiting from Chic on a shoestring, I would love if you could stop by http://www.mooseandtater.com

    March 11, 2011
  10. Hannah #

    Aww. I miss the little kids. Seeing them reminds me of Paigey and Avy โค

    July 1, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

