Skip to content
my Mom’s makeover {sneaky peek}

Greetings from Alabammy. We are wrapping up our week long sunshine-and-warm-weather-filled visit here and headed back to cold and dreary Canada in the morning. Hopefully I’ve stored up enough Vitamin D to make it through till whenever the weather decides to finally warm up!

Well, as promised my mom’s been cracking the whip. I’ve painted, shopped, redecorated, rearranged furniture, accessorized, hung curtains, you name it and I’ve done it.

The result? Mama likey! πŸ™‚

I’m not going to share the whole makeover till I get home but here’s a sneaky peek of a couple of the pieces I painted for her.

These dark pine Ethan Allen bookshelves have been in my parents’ home since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. Time for a change…big time.

Oh yeah…that’s what I’m talkin bout.

This maple stereo cabinet belonged to my grandparents and is a very special piece of furniture to my mom.

She loved it but it needed to be updated to flow in the redecorated living room.

A couple of coats of Creamy White and some new knobs and it has a crisp, clean, coastal vibe.

Check back early next week for the whole makeover post! πŸ™‚ You’re gonna like it!

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mommies like it when their daughters come home and give them some TLC…awesome job as always Susan!! Say Hi to your Momma for me!

    March 19, 2011
  2. Judy #

    Since you are down this way, come stay a week with me. I am just next door in Mississippi! The dogwoods are in bloom–it is that little lull between heater and a/c that we here call Spring.

    Anyway, love your mom’s re-dos.

    March 19, 2011
  3. You can come visit me anytime! Your mommy is a lucky lady

    March 19, 2011
  4. When I read your title I though “oh no – she’s gone to far”. I thought maybe you had made-over your mother!

    Great new looks on those two pieces.

    March 19, 2011
  5. Paula Diekhoff #

    Oh, I wish, wish, wish you could come to MY house and redecorate!! I have some similar furniture pieces as your mom’s and have wondered how to re-do them to update (trying to save $$). I loved the cream and white you did and can’t wait to find out the brand of paint and your exact steps for refinishing — please include every step!! I know this is what I need to do and am anxiously awaiting your post!!

    March 19, 2011
  6. Sylvia #

    Just found your blog. I am ( hubby, too) originally from Alabama and now live in Washington State. Great job on your makeover for your mom. I am looking forward to see the rest of the pics.

    March 19, 2011
  7. Nola Brown #

    WoW!! Both pieces look great! I sure hope Mama is happy!!

    March 19, 2011
  8. Mel #

    There’s no stopping you! Love the bookcase and how you’ve staged it.

    Oh, btw, the cardinals are back and bugging the heck out of me πŸ™‚ See, it’s almost spring here too.

    March 19, 2011
  9. Glenda Harder #

    Luv it! How much prep is involved in painting an older stained piece of furniture?

    March 19, 2011
  10. What a wonderful change for those pieces of furniture. I am not surprised that she loved them. Can’t wait to see the rest of the reveal!

    March 19, 2011
  11. Lookin’ good! I look forward to seeing the whole reveal! Have a safe trip home. πŸ™‚

    March 19, 2011
  12. oooh- seeing the white against that dark wall has me wanting to see more!!!!! πŸ™‚

    March 19, 2011
  13. Wanda #

    Great job! Have a safe trip home.

    March 19, 2011
  14. Great pics! Keep ’em coming! I am really feeling inspired by the lighter wood paint jobs!

    March 19, 2011
  15. Karen #

    I love how you redid the two pieces especially the stereo cabinet. Looks fabulous. It was a nice spring day here on Vancouver Island. Have a great trip home.

    March 19, 2011
  16. Lucky mom! Glad you got to enjoy the sunshine this week!

    March 20, 2011
  17. Kathy #

    I enjoy all the furniture painting that you show. Please include a step by step tutorial (including your favorite products) on how I can have the same results. Thank you so much.

    March 20, 2011
  18. I can’t wait to see the rest!

    March 20, 2011
  19. Tammy Hall #

    I love what you did with those Ethan Allen bookshelves/cases. What was with all of those dark colors back in the day?

    April 18, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. back in the saddle again… « Maple & Magnolia
  2. my mom’s living room makeover « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

