Skip to content
back in the saddle again…

Hello my bloggy friends! I’ve missed ya.

We had oodles of fun spending time in Alabama with my fam, but this homebody is glad to be home.

I’ve got some goodies to share with ya today!!!

First of all, the night before we left on spring break I scored this awesome beauty on kijiji for twenty five buckeroos. Yep, you read that right. I can’t wait to get my hands on this piece.

Don’t mind my snowtracked floors…they’re getting mopped today. Or tomorrow. πŸ˜‰

This morning Goodwill and Salvation Army were calling my name. I haven’t been on my “thrifting route” in a few weeks so I thought I’d make the rounds before Β my spring break sleepy heads woke up.

I moseyed on back to the furniture section at Goodwill and this bee-yoo-tee called my name. Be still my heart. The sticker said $129.00 which was waaaayyyy high but it was half-price day so I got it for $64.99. πŸ™‚ Love.

Then I hit Salvation Army and scored these solid end tables

and this vintage suitcase/trunk. It’s huge. It’s going to get a makeover of some kind…still thinking on it.

As I was leaving Salvation Army, I took the back way through a neighborhood. It is trash pickup day and you wouldn’t believe the furniture that was thrown out. I’ve honestly never seen that much furniture in one day sitting out in the trash. Here are the pieces I rescued:

A french provincial desk. It has some pretty bad water damage on the top, but totally worth saving.

This telephone table which has great lines but a seat that came from funkytown.

This is such an easy fixer-upper.

A sweet french provincial dresser. This one is going to a local blog friend’s niece.

Not a thing wrong with it. Β The people were moving and just threw it out.

And last but not least this wonderful chippy, shabby bench. Can anyone else see the beauty in this one? Or have I finally lost it? My kids thought I was crazy. Can’t you just picture this in a garden surrounded by wildflowers?

If any of my local peeps want it, just let me know.

I honestly could have filled my Suburban up three more times with all the roadside furniture in this one neighborhood.

Well, I’m off to take a bike ride with my kids and then do some unpacking and then change the time on my bazillion clocks!

I’ll be back tomorrow with photos from my mom’s living room makeover!

Have a terrific Tuesday, friends!
Partying here:
 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    Wow, fabulous finds! Can’t wait to see the transformations!

    March 22, 2011
  2. Vanessa #

    Please add Bench to my PILE! LHUVE IT! You did good! I am soo excited for these transformations… You have been gone too long.. amd you know what they say … something something makes the heart grow fonder! haha

    March 22, 2011
  3. Wow..I am so impressed with the stuff you found sitting at the trash pickup!! That desk and dresser is amazing. You’re so lucky!!

    March 22, 2011
  4. Ido #

    Welcome back, I missed you! Can’t wait for those transformations.

    March 22, 2011
  5. evelyn #

    I l o v e! the shabby bench!!! Just love it!

    March 22, 2011
  6. Wow, Wow, Wow! On all counts. I love that little bench and yes, I can see it surrounded by wildflowers.

    March 22, 2011
  7. Mel #

    You’re back!

    Wow, you found some great things! If you mean me, for that dresser, (and who else could you mean lol), I am floored! It’s perfect for the girls. Maybe I will modge podge some pretty paper to the drawer fronts eh?

    Ok, if you don’t mean me, I take it all back ha ha.

    I am looking forward to the amazing transformations you did at your parents, can’t wait.

    March 22, 2011
    • Yes, Mel. I thought it would be perfect for your niece’s girls. What do you think about the desk? It’s needs some tlc for sure. I’m going to sand the top down and see what I can do with it. Would she like it?

      March 22, 2011
  8. Mel #

    She would love it, both of the pieces!

    You are amazing! And kind and talented. I could go on and on πŸ™‚

    March 22, 2011
  9. Melinda Burke #

    Susan, I just can’t believe that you find such wonderful treasure’s in the trash! Wow, I never find anything in our neighborhood, but then again I haven’t really looked hard enough! Love all of them! can’t wait to see you work your MAGIC!!!

    March 22, 2011
  10. Holy cow! You made up for your away time in just one day!

    March 23, 2011
  11. OMJealous. Thats all there is to say about that. Thanks for linking up!

    Love your guts
    mandi

    March 26, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

