Skip to content
church pew re-do

One of my fav-O-rite pieces of furniture in our home is this church pew. I found it on kijiji last summer.

It is over 100 years old and was crafted by Monks in Quebec. I love the fleur de lis and flower detail.

We have a large foyer and the pew fills it nicely and makes a wonderful conversation piece. It’s also a handy place to house throw pillows from my ever-growing collection. I change them out often…such a quick and easy update and it keeps things fresh.

So here’s the problem…the wood wasn’t in fantastic shape to begin with and a pair of wet winter gloves that sat overnight didn’t help matters. It also had a heavy layer of varathane which was yuck.

To be honest, I was tired of the dark wood anyway. So I decided to paint it. Gasp. I know. I’m terrible.

I didn’t want a stark white, but more of a layered aged look. So I played around with creamy white, gull wing gray and heath. I brushed them on till I got the look I was happy with. I also glazed it a bit.

I like it. For now. My ultimate goal for this piece is to strip it down to the bare wood and then wax it. I think that will be gorgeous. But for now this will do just fine.

Please ignore the puddle on the tile. Melted snow from my boots this morning. Yes, I said snow. We got hammered with it yesterday. Ahhh, springtime in Canada.

No complaints today, though. It’s cold but the sky is crystal clear and blue and sunny. Just the way I like it.

Enjoy your day!

Partying here…
Domestically SpeakingChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFurniture Feature FridaysMy Repurposed Life

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. I adore this!! so great!! Where did you get the yellow striped pillow?!

    March 24, 2011
  2. Mel #

    Get outta town. It’s perfect and the finish you have achieved is stupendous!

    Simply beautiful.

    March 24, 2011
  3. Rondell #

    I think it turned out wonderful…love the clocks great idea!

    Rondell

    March 24, 2011
  4. Loos way better in your house than in one of our empty Québec churches.

    March 24, 2011
  5. Melinda G Burke #

    Susan, I just love the church pew! Always wanted one, could you please tell me where you found the storage baskets you have underneath the pew. Thanks!

    March 24, 2011
    • Hi Melinda, they are from Pottery Barn. It’s hard to find baskets with lids and they were a perfect fit!

      March 24, 2011
  6. What an absolutely gorgeous piece, and I LOVE what you did with it! I also love your wall of clocks; something I’d like to do in our new home also (instead of a photo gallery wall, it will be a clock gallery wall).

    March 24, 2011
  7. beautiful! and so springy with those pillows on it! come on warm weather- get here already!

    March 24, 2011
  8. This is gorgeous! The finish, the pillows, all of it! I have always wanted a church pew for my home. I really hope to find one some day. Thanks for sharing, visiting from Shabby Nest.
    Jen

    March 24, 2011
  9. Love the bench, I only find pews that are 9 and 10 feet long when I look. This one is a great size. Love those baskets underneath too.
    Kim:)

    March 24, 2011
  10. Jill #

    This is so gorgeous! You did a fantastic job. It fits perfectly in your house.

    March 24, 2011
  11. Wonderful transformation and it looks right at home in the spot you have it in. ~~Sherry~~

    March 24, 2011
  12. That is beautiful! I like it white and love that you put pillows on it. What a great place for all those pillows (I had to stop making pillows because the couch is full).

    March 24, 2011
  13. I adore this!! We have an old church pew too and I LOVE it! It is such a great conversation piece and I love it for my toss pillows too. I love what you did with yours and the space around it (baskets under, wall art above) looks gorgeous. I’ve never thought about baskets under it like that, but we’re moving in a few weeks (eeek!) and I’m definitely going to find some baskets for under it at our new house! Thanks for the fabulous ideas 🙂

    March 25, 2011
  14. HI ..Love what you did with the bench!

    March 25, 2011
  15. karen #

    oh you did a great job with this church pew bench, absolutely love it. keep it the way it is 🙂

    March 25, 2011
  16. This is gorgeous! We are currently taking in a century-old pew from our church. It needs some repair but I hope to also give it a new finish/paint treatment. Love the baskets underneath. Wonderful job!

    March 25, 2011
  17. I love how it turned out. The pillows look great on it. Also love the clocks!

    March 25, 2011
  18. What a lovely pew! I am so jealous, I may burst into tears. It is just beautiful!

    March 25, 2011
  19. We had snow here today and St Louis Missouri!!! I am so ready for spring!

    megan
    craftycpa.blogspot.com

    March 25, 2011
  20. Jodie #

    I love your entry with the clocks and the bench, it turned out great. I was wondering where you got the pillow on the left with the bird on it? I really like the colors in it. I am your newest follower, glad I found your blog.
    Jodie

    March 25, 2011
    • Hi Jodie, welcome! I got that pillow at pottery barn in the fall. Look in the clearance section at your local pb and I bet you’ll find it! Have a great weekend.

      March 25, 2011
  21. Turned out great! Love the pillows on it. Thanks for linking Flaunt it Friday!

    March 26, 2011
  22. I soooo love this. Great job. I have been on the look out for a church pew. I want one terribly. Yours is awesome. great details in the wood plus a story of where it came from! you lucky lady!

    thanks for sharing!
    chickhardware.blogspot.com

    March 27, 2011
  23. I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! This turned out amazing…..

    March 27, 2011
  24. Perfect! I love your layered paint look!

    March 27, 2011
  25. Sydnee #

    This is FABULOUS! And I also love the clocks on the wall surrounding the mirror! It all looks wonderful! I will revisit your blog again…found you via MustardSeed =)

    March 27, 2011
  26. I love your pew. You did a really nice job getting just the right look. Your entryway is awesome!
    gail

    March 27, 2011
  27. nice job on the bench…Love those clocks!!! Amazing use of scale.

    March 28, 2011
  28. This was one of those pictures that stops you in your tracks and you say “now that is what I want”. Beautiful.

    March 31, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. tres magnifique! | Maple & Magnolia
  2. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

