Skip to content
Mora clock LOVE

Oh, how I’ve wanted a Mora clock for the longest time. You know about my love of clocks but this particular kind of clock takes that love to a whole new level. Like, the marrying kind of love. 🙂 Well, that may be a bit of a stretch since I celebrated 19 years of wedded bliss on Monday and I don’t love this clock nearly as much as I do my better half! But you get the point, right?

The thing about these clocks is that they are ex.pen.sive! With a capital E. And hard to find.

So today, I gave myself the day off because I’ve been painting like a house afire. My arms are currently covered in stubborn oil-based paint and I look like I’m sporting tribal body art. One particular streak on my forearm looks like a dagger and it’s in dark grey. Menacing, I tell ya.

Anyhoo, back to my day off…I went to my happy places…Pottery Barn and HomeSense. While browsing the furniture section at HomeSense I spot this Mora clock. Actually there were two. There wasn’t a price on it. My heart went thud. I did a spastic Kramer move to go find a salesperson real quick-like. I was afraid that in the 2.9 seconds it took me to tackle the sales dude, two people were gonna come buy the clocks! Don’t MAKE me have-ta flash my dagger tattoo! 😉

Not to worry…he gave me a price and carried it to the front as a hush fell over HomeSense. All the ladies in line took off running to see if there was another one in the back. There was hair pulling and cat fighting over the one remaining clock. Ok, not really. But that would’ve been funny. And I would’ve taken photos with my phone for ya, cause I love ya that much.

Not the marrying kind, or even the Mora clock kind…but I really like you uh-lot. 😉

So are you ready to see my find?

I love it. Except that it’s green. And while I like green, I always envisioned my Mora clock in another color. So I picked up some paint and I’m gonna paint it. On my day off. 🙂

Stay tuned for the reveal, probably on Monday!

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh she’s lovely, even in green. But wait, you never spilled the price! I’m nibby like that!

    March 31, 2011
  2. Ido #

    Hi susan,
    I don’t know how you do it, but you always find awesome deals. I love that clock. Can’t wait to see it finished. Are you gonna keep it?

    March 31, 2011
  3. Pam Meyer #

    It’s beautiful! I’m envious! I’m glad you had a great day off!
    Also, you’ve inspired me to redo an old table with a paisley print and turn a 100 year old door into a headboard. I always scan my email to check if you have posted anything before I look at any other emails. I love your style, the way you write and your sense of humor! Thanks for keeping us inspired and entertained!

    March 31, 2011
    • Pam, send photos! I wanna see those re-dos especially the door-turned-headboard! Too cool.

      March 31, 2011
  4. Forget the clock…your funny 🙂
    No seriously, it’s great and I am sure after you are done with it…it will be even better.

    March 31, 2011
  5. Vanessa #

    Monday!? We have to wait for Monday?! I also LOVE THIS… and have questions about the items in the background…?!?! That Yellow is a-nice I a-like! Way to go on your day off!!

    March 31, 2011
    • V…patience, my friend! 😉 The yellow sideboard is for a client but I painted the little goodwill piecrust table in the same yellow. It’s got your name ALL over it!

      March 31, 2011
  6. Oh, you are too funny! I am so there with you…I also purchased the same clock from Homesense. I was panicking that someone else would scoop my clock when I went to the front for help so I quickly ripped the price tag off and ran to the front to get help. I tried to look under control and cool but it was not easy. I also love clocks and can not wait to see what you will do with yours! C

    March 31, 2011
  7. mary paulson #

    Can’t wait to see how this one turns out! Exciting……..

    March 31, 2011
  8. I am jealous! When I traveled to Sweden I fell in love with Mora clocks. Have always wanted one. What a buy! Unfortunately there are no Homesense stores even remotely close to me (middle of nowhere in NE) so I won’t be getting one like yours! I will enjoy seeing how you “restyle” yours however. Enjoy your blog–admire your creativity, energy, and humor!

    March 31, 2011
    • Hi Karen, HomeSense is somehow related to HomeGoods/TJ Maxx, I believe. Maybe you’ll find one there! Thanks for the nice comments! 🙂

      March 31, 2011
  9. Colleen #

    I live in Cape Town South Africa and we have NO!! chance of finding anything like that here, so the rest of my comment is GREEEEEEEN

    April 1, 2011
  10. Mel #

    I have to admit that I’ve never heard of a Mora clock before, I must be living under a rock.

    Painting on your day off? You sure know how to live on the edge. LOL

    April 1, 2011
  11. I am in TOTAL LOVE with your Mora clock! Never knew they existed until today, and now I have clock envy! 😉 Can’t wait to see the reveal. Happy Anniversary! Sounds as if your ‘day off’ was fabulous. 🙂

    April 1, 2011
  12. looove the clock and love the yellow stuff going on in the background! 🙂

    April 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. restful, relaxing, romantical retreat « Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

