Skip to content
restful, relaxing, romantical retreat

After the December bedroom makeover mishap, I knew which direction I needed to go with our bedroom. Light and airy. Lots of neutrals with just a hint of color.

The bedding was a no-brainer. Once I saw the Hadley duvet cover in the Pottery Barn catalog, it was love at first sight. Of course, it was backordered here in Canada so I picked one up in Birmingham on March break. It’s everything I hoped it would be…heavenly. Β The ruching is scrumptious. This bed takes so little effort to make now because the messier it is, the more cozy and inviting it looks.

As you saw in previous posts, I painted the mantel, french chairs and cedar chest in Light French Gray. I Β wanted to introduce a hint of color and this sea glass was the inspiration for the color I chose.

I painted the shutters

the chest and the Mora clock in Behr’s Tide Pools. It’s such a fresh shade of pale blue/green. I’m so happy with how the clock turned out. Just as I always envisioned it.

This room was fun to pull together because I used mostly what I already had. And a couple of thrifted pieces got new life. I always love that!

It’s now a restful, relaxing, romantical (yes I made that word up) retreat. Everything a master bedroom should be.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends!

Linking up here…giddyup.
Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingRedoux

43 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kim #

    Your room is scrumptious. I would never want to leave. So it’s a good thing it’s your room & not mine. πŸ™‚

    April 1, 2011
  2. Melinda #

    Susan! It is so very Romantical and Beautifical!

    April 1, 2011
  3. Lush, gorgeous, inviting! I want one just like it…seriously. I think I’m going to have to knock-off that beautiful bedding. Thanks so much for sharing! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! πŸ™‚

    April 1, 2011
  4. Mel #

    Pretty! I absolutely Love the light french grey you have used on the chairs and fireplace.

    I can imagine Saturday mornings, staying in that lush bed foreva!

    April 1, 2011
  5. Colleen #

    Beautiful – I Love how it turned out!

    April 1, 2011
  6. Ido #

    That Mora clock turned out beautiful, I wonder if you could do a tutorial on the painting technique (or am I just dreaming here!)
    Happy Friday!

    April 1, 2011
  7. wow! it looks AMAZING! i love the new look- so soft and pretty, and yes, romantical.

    April 1, 2011
  8. Vanessa #

    I’ll sleep with you !! haha Looks fab, but I didnt expect less!!!

    April 1, 2011
  9. Marcia #

    It’s gorgeous!

    April 1, 2011
  10. Kim B. #

    Susan! I love this look the best out of all 3!! It looks so beautiful!! I love the beach glass, well you know me and beach anything…and that clock, oh my, it is amazing!!

    April 1, 2011
    • Run to Homesense in Burlington and get the other one and I’ll paint it for ya! πŸ™‚

      April 1, 2011
  11. I love all the shabby chic details!

    April 1, 2011
  12. This room is so romantic, calm, peaceful and just plain beautiful. Wow

    April 1, 2011
  13. Allison #

    You did a beautiful job! Your bedroom is gorgeous….a peaceful, romantic retreat. The bedding is lovely and that clock! I love that clock and the way you’ve painted it.

    April 1, 2011
  14. Diana #

    As usual, beautiful! Question the suitcases under the mantel did you paint those too?

    April 1, 2011
    • Hi Diana, Yes. The two on top are spray painted and the one on bottom I painted with behr’s light french gray.

      April 1, 2011
      • Diana #

        Thanks πŸ™‚

        April 2, 2011
  15. Oh my goodness! Your entire room looks beautiful! I love the suitcases in the fireplace, and LOVE LOVE LOVE your bedding! Well done!

    April 1, 2011
  16. I think your blog is my new favorite. I found you on tt&j. I am crazy about everything. I spent a good amount of time here tonight. Thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

    ❀

    Risa

    April 1, 2011
  17. p.s. I am your newest follower πŸ™‚

    April 1, 2011
  18. Allison #

    May I ask you what colors you used on your clock? It’s really lovely. I’ve gone back a few times to look at it.

    April 1, 2011
    • Allison, it was originally a dark green and I dry brushed Behr’s Tide Pools on it.

      April 2, 2011
      • Allison #

        Thanks! It’s beautiful!

        April 2, 2011
  19. It’s beautiful! I have always loved that bedding from PB too. My last bedroom was painted light french gray, it’s such a nice color πŸ™‚ Great job!!

    April 2, 2011
  20. This is such a gorgeous space! I don’t know that I’d ever want to leave it! Thank you for sharing.

    April 2, 2011
  21. What a awesome transformation! I love that bedding from PB and the green shutters are my favorite.

    April 2, 2011
  22. Such a pretty room! Love the bedding, the clock, the shutters, the mantel… everything. Gorgeous!

    April 2, 2011
  23. Rise' Croenne #

    I love the colors! Looking to update my extra bedroom. Gave me some wonderful ideas!

    April 3, 2011
  24. Lovely! The look is so beautiful and relaxing. You did a wonderful job. Congrats!

    April 3, 2011
  25. Your room is just gorgeous!!!

    April 3, 2011
  26. Just love it so soft and comfy!

    April 3, 2011
  27. FABBY #

    Love your beautiful and all white bedroom!!! It is gorgeous, you did a fantastic job! Everything is perfect and it’s so romantic too….who would want to get’ara that bed!!!
    FABBY

    April 4, 2011
  28. BEAUTIFUL !! I love all of your white pieces … the fireplace is such a great addition. I drooled when you shared that … drooling more now seeing the reveal. The shutters and suitcases are awesome! *Becca*

    April 4, 2011
  29. helene #

    stunning!!
    I adore the sea glass!!!!

    April 4, 2011
  30. Kim #

    I love what you have done with your bedroom. It is so serene. I love the blues, whites and tan together. I really love your mantel. Did you buy that vintage or did you make it. The details on it are wonderful. I will be decorating our bedroom soon and I am going for the same theme. Thank you for sharing.

    Kim

    April 4, 2011
  31. Sue #

    This is really stunning. Of course I love sea glass and white is so calming. I really like the way you used a mantel. We don’t have a fireplace at this house and we have wondered if we could use a faux mantel to capture the look. Very pretty.

    April 4, 2011
  32. I just absolutely adore this room!!!! oh my, you have given me some serious inspiration. I just found you through MM. I wanted to invite you to link up to my Wendnesday party, Transformations and Treasures. This is a spectacular room transformation!!

    April 4, 2011
  33. just gorgeous! so glad to find u via betweennapsontheporch. come visit anytime!

    michele

    April 4, 2011
  34. What a beautiful job you did on the bedroom. It is just stunning. It’s so nice to meet you.
    ~ ~Ahrisha~ ~

    April 5, 2011
  35. WOW! I love this room it is so beautiful!

    I wonder if you would be interested in writing a special guest post on Remodelaholic about the project! Let me know, I will send you the details.

    Thanks,
    Cassity

    April 6, 2011
  36. Jenny Anunson #

    I love the room it is beautiful! What color did you paint the walls?

    April 8, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

