Skip to content
as uplifting as a Sarah McLachlan song…

A couple of weeks ago I found this pair of end tables at Salvation Army. They had everything I look for in used furniture…great lines, nice quality and sturdiness. The price sure was right… $14.99 apiece. Booyah. And they didn’t even charge me extra for that layer of dust! Who can argue with that?

And you know how I feel about end tables…they are like shoes, you can never have TOO many! 🙂

Sure they were pretty dinged up, but I planned to paint them anyway! I didn’t worry about getting every scratch and ding out…I just lightly sanded the top with a sanding sponge.

I’m still working on my gallon of Light French Gray so I gave them a couple of coats of that. I also used my secret hole-filling weapon to fill the hardware holes because I wanted knobs, not pulls on these.

Here is how it looked in Light French Grey. About as uplifting as a Sarah McLachlan song. One-way ticket to snoozeville, please.

They needed oomph and depth.

So I brushed on MinWax stain (very sparingly) in Jacobean. Then I gently wiped it in the same direction as the brush strokes with a lint-free cloth.

Just for comparison sake here is one plain and one with stain…now that’s what I’m talkin bout!

Here are the knobs I chose. Purchased during half off week at Hobby Lobby on my trip to Alabama. I think they’re delicious.

I love the depth that the stain gives.

Before

After

Whatchu think?

Linking up to these par-tays:
Domestically SpeakingPhotobucketPhotobucket/Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingFurniture Feature Fridays

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Vanessa #

    Well hello there beautifuls..!

    April 5, 2011
  2. Letty #

    Wow-I look forward to seeing all of your exciting re-do’s!
    This one is really great…Love it!
    Letty

    April 5, 2011
  3. Kim @ A Brush of Whimsy #

    They look so great! Love the stain on them!

    April 5, 2011
  4. Jenna #

    They look fabulous! I love how the stain looks and the knobs are to die for! Great job 🙂

    April 5, 2011
  5. I love them and that color is really nice with the stain over it.

    April 5, 2011
  6. I think the jacobean (my all time favorite stain) over the light grey might might be on of your best finishes yet. looks wonderful

    April 5, 2011
  7. Paula Robertson #

    I love what you did with these!! I love reading your blog and seeing the great things you have done.

    April 5, 2011
  8. i LOVE sarah mclachlan’s music- what does that say about me?
    but i also love the tables in their after after form- the stain was perfect!

    April 5, 2011
  9. Linda@Coastal Charm #

    Love the makeover on these $14.99 tables…great color. Hop over and show them off at my NIFTY THRIFTY TUESDAYS…hope to see ya there:)

    Blessings,
    Linda

    April 5, 2011
  10. Wow! What a transformation! Love them both…Christine

    April 6, 2011
  11. Melinda G Burke #

    Susan, Great Job! I especially love the fleur de lis knobs. I’m from New Orleans ya know!

    April 6, 2011
  12. These are adorable. I also love your comment about having too many end tables..so true!!

    April 7, 2011
  13. wow! u did a great job here. congrats. they sure looks like brand new end tables!i love them!

    April 8, 2011
  14. Totally totally… love the transformation.. Gorgeous!! You’ve got a lovely blog!!

    April 8, 2011
  15. Those tables look awesome! Love the glazing. It really changed the look and gave them depth. Amazing what a little paint and labor can do to transform a piece!

    April 8, 2011
  16. Ann #

    I love the style of these. And the updated knobs you put on them just makes them perfect! Great job!

    April 11, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

