Skip to content
you aren’t gonna flippin believe it…

I scored the mother load of thrifty furniture finds yesterday. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to top this one.

Rewind to yesterday…I was totally bummed that I missed out on this awesome furniture on kijiji.

As I told you, the seller said that a lady was on her way to pick it up and I begged him to call me if she ended up not showing up or not buying the furniture.

But let’s get real…there was no way on earth this lady wouldn’t buy ALL of this beautiful furniture for a mere FORTY dollars! I absolutely didn’t expect for the seller to call me.

BUT HE DID.

He called and said that the lady got there and hemmed and hawed and didn’t have a vehicle big enough and wanted her daughter to come take a lot at it….yada yada yada.

So he called me.

And we went at 8:30 last night with both our vehicles and you can bet I didn’t hem OR haw. πŸ˜‰

As I handed the man the $40 I said, “this is criminal.” But he was just happy to get rid of it.

Take a look at all the beauties I scored…

this gorgeous chest

This beautiful vanity and original vanity stool. I can’t wait to replace the pink moray taffeta with tan linen.

And just check out the mirror that goes with it! Be still my heart.

Two nightstands. LOVE.

And matching bench. I’m going to replace this seat with tan linen as well.

And as if all of that beautifulness isn’t enough….I also bought this great looking antique chair

Can’t you picture it in high gloss white? This will be my new desk chair.

I also bought a beautiful vintage mahogany sofa table that is five feet long. Β The price for the chair AND sofa table? $25.

There’s nothing quite as wonderful as a motivated seller!

I’m just tickled with my latest purchases. I’d say borderline giddy.

The lessons in this? 1) scan kijiji/craigslist often 2) always call if there is a phone number on the ad…begging is more persuasive over the phone than in email πŸ™‚ 3) Don’t hem and haw πŸ™‚

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

Photobucket/

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. AHHH! I’m so happy for you!!! I was hoping this would happen.

    God Bless Kijiji!!

    April 6, 2011
  2. That is Kijiji bliss! I showed this post to DH and he wants to move North just to score some Kijiji finds. πŸ™‚

    April 6, 2011
  3. Rebecca P #

    That’s awesome! I always leave my number with sellers if they say they have somebody coming to look at something. You just never know obviously. Congratulations on an AWESOME score!

    April 6, 2011
  4. Ido #

    Is there any way I can come and live with you? I never, ever find good bargains, may be I don’t know how to look for them.
    I think I’m moving.
    XXX Ido

    April 6, 2011
  5. OMG I am so happy for you. I would have ran fast as a rabbit over to the guys house to pick it up…What good fortune. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

    April 6, 2011
  6. OMG….I felt bad for you yesterday today it made my day!!! Good for you, I have looked at kijiji for the first time local and your right there are awesome finds!

    April 6, 2011
  7. What a fabulous acquisition! I am a little jealous and I’m going to start looking at this kijiji place!

    April 6, 2011
  8. Chantale Keruzore #

    I’s super jealous. That chest is to die for. I’m hoping to see it on current listings πŸ™‚

    April 6, 2011
  9. Jenna #

    Yay, I’m so happy for you! I was so sad for you yesterday but you got it and that was SUCH an amazing price! I’ve started checking out kijiji lately and haven’t found anything… yet. People rarely post things where I live. But I’m not giving up yet. Congrats on your finds!

    April 6, 2011
  10. Mel #

    Way to go! SCORE!

    April 6, 2011
  11. Deb J #

    Since I just learned about your blog info just a few minutes ago I have been totally engaged. What a great find and I love the post on filling holes. I hope they sell it in the US Home Depots!

    April 6, 2011
  12. Vanessa #

    Ya ya Im happy for you yadayada… get painting lady I wanna see! I love that whole score… See I have this room that it would be perrrrrfect in!! HAHAHAHAHAHA You are truly the bestest at what you do and I cannot wait for this makeover!!!!

    April 6, 2011
  13. I shall not covet… I shall not covet… Holy COW that is an amazing find, I would have paid 40.00 just for that double chair…

    April 6, 2011
  14. Cathy #

    Woo Hoo! Awesome score. Looking forward to seeing the reveal on these pieces.

    April 6, 2011
  15. mary paulson #

    Lordy, lordy girl! what a deal! I have to say its probably the best haul yet. Lovely pieces. Enjoy!

    April 7, 2011
  16. I love it! Those lines are just my style. I’ve always followed your blog, but just now started officially following it- Hi!

    April 7, 2011
  17. Speechless!

    November 3, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

