Skip to content
Losing the Maple

Howdy, friends! Missed me? I’ve missed you guys but I’ve been busy, busy, busy!

The day after the sale, I hopped on a plane to look for a house in our soon-to-be new city.

That’s right…we’re moving! We are adding state number 8 to our repertoire. Illinois here we come!

Leaving Canada is bittersweet…it’s been wonderful to us for almost three years now. My kids have made the best friends of their lives here. But we’ve missed our “homeland” and we are ready to get back.

The best part??? You know my “farmhouse dream?” It’s coming true!!!!!!! 🙂

Stay tuned…can’t wait to share more with ya!

Have a wonderful weekend!

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m SO happy for you guys!! and I’m happy that we’ll get to see how you work a FREAKING FARMHOUSE!! WOOOOOO!!!
    Congrats on it all.
    Canada will miss your style though!

    April 15, 2011
    • Oh.My.Golly! Cannot wait to see what you do with your dream! Congratulations and best wishes on an easy move. Happy Friday! 🙂

      April 15, 2011
  2. jennifer #

    oh wow, have been following your blog. live in the NW suburb of illinois, would be cool to be your neighbor

    April 15, 2011
  3. Ido #

    Oh my gosh, I’m so excited for you! welcome back to the US and I know there will be a lot of pictures of the farm house, cant’ wait.
    XXX Ido

    April 15, 2011
  4. Mary Paulson #

    So happy for you,you must be having butterflies just thinking about the possibilities of decorating a big old farmhouse! I’m still thinking about all that white furniture you picked up for $40.00. I enjoy your blog.

    April 15, 2011
  5. I can certainly relate to your big move! We too are moving. We aren’t leaving the country, but it sure feels like it (we’re going from BC to Alberta, and Alberta feels like a whole new country for us =)
    I look forward to seeing your new home come together. We too bought a Farmhouse, and I can’t wait to get into it (July 1) and start decorating! I’ll miss the fact that you were in Canada though-it’s nice to hear about Cdn stores, places etc =)

    April 15, 2011
  6. Julie Peck #

    Congrats…OMG you must be bursting at the seams with excitement!!! I’m sure you can’t wait to get your hands (and elbow grease…lol) into making this dream farmhouse represent your personal “home” style. I so look forward to any and all pics you’ll post in the near future on your blog. Happy trails to Canada…it served you well! However, welcome home to the US of A…you are welcomed with open arms and open hearts 🙂

    April 15, 2011
  7. karen #

    Omg Susan, what many stories ahead, cant wait to hear more from you! Simply love the new, huge country house, it’s perfect! Of course to see your decorating skills, furniture, decor will look so fabulous, just jumping for joy for you and your family! Safe travels, moving and mtg new friends 🙂 from an IL resident and fan!

    April 15, 2011
  8. I can’t wait to see more!! It looks amazing!

    April 15, 2011
  9. that is sooo exciting! i can’t wait to see many more room and furniture makeovers with the new home!

    April 15, 2011
  10. Susan #

    If that is your new house, I’m a jealous b**ch. It’s gorgeous.!! I will be looking forward to future entries to see how your incredible talent makes it your own. Welcome home!

    April 16, 2011
  11. Rise' Croenne #

    So glad to hear you are coming our way! Love your site so keep it coming!! Good luck

    April 16, 2011
  12. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    Hmmm, now this sounds interesting!

    April 16, 2011
  13. Kim B. #

    So exciting! I can’t wait to see you put your touches on this beauty!

    April 16, 2011
  14. Let me say “Welcome to Illinois!” I live in a western suburb of Chicago…soon you will realize everything is a suburb of Chicago in IL! 🙂 Can’t wait to see your farmhouse makeover!

    April 17, 2011
  15. Patricia #

    Best of luck! I am looking forward to reading all about tons of new projects!

    April 18, 2011
  16. I know you are happy to get stateside again…but Lord knows I bet they don’t have the furniture deals like where you are!!! AND…how the hell did you recognize me from that tiny picture 🙂

    April 18, 2011
  17. Our family is moving to the suburbs of Chicago in a month. I am super excited too! I look forward to reading about your new home!

    April 30, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It’s Still Winter Here! | my1929charmerblog.com

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

