Skip to content
one last furniture fix

Sorry for the sporadic posting (or lack thereof) lately.Β I just really don’t have anything interesting to post about.

Trust me…you don’t want to hear about my pre-move activities. You’ll die of boredom. πŸ™‚

Let’s just say I’ve had two giant sales and made countless trips to the clothing donation drop box.

It feels so good to weed out the excess. Like an instant weight loss, only I didn’t have to give up chocolate chip cookies! πŸ˜‰

Purging (albeit very productive) isn’t really “blog worthy” and it’s not nearly as much fun as thrifty finds or furniture transformations!

On that note…today I was going through full-blown withdrawal. I had the shakes and was jonesing for one last hit of thrifty furniture before the move. Β And I figured…with all the pieces that went out surely one eensy weensy piece could come in.

So I got my kijiji on. And looky what I found.

Oh, and just to make you extra-jealous…it was $50.

you: no WAY!

me: YES way!

Just look at this handsome devil.

A 1920’s walnut chest on chest with original hardware.

It had been in the owner’s family for three generations. From father to son and onto to his son.

I love the grain, the shape, the legs, the hardware, well…basically everything about it.

This will be my first chalk paint project after we get settled in our new house. That trend-setter Miss Mustard Seed has gone and done it again and gotten everybody fired up to use chalk paint.

Me included.

Hopefully it will be easier than her dang sheet music wreaths! πŸ˜‰

Don’t give up on me…once we get settled in a few weeks, I’ll have projects aplenty.

Promise!

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    ooooo, that is a beauty (or very handsome, kind of looks manly, but it is called a chest on chest lol)!

    I don’t blame you one bit, you deserve a handsome chest after all of your hard work.

    April 18, 2011
  2. whoooooa- so jealous! I just love that hardware! Best wishes on all of your “clean-up” projects before the BIG move!

    April 18, 2011
  3. Sharon #

    Love it. You’re going to paint it? Won’t you loose all the detail? Have you thought about re-staining it?

    April 18, 2011
  4. Am missing all your inspiring posts and humor, but am excited for you to have a new house–a blank slate–to redecorate! Hope you will take us along for the journey as you do it, room by room! Good luck with your purging and packing…

    April 18, 2011
  5. Can’t wait to see where this goes and how it turns out in your new digs. Best of everything in your new move. Happy Tuesday! πŸ™‚

    April 19, 2011
  6. Anne-Marie #

    I’m sorry but this is one piece you should definately NOT be painting with anything!
    An antique, beautiful walnut, been in one family for 3 generations.
    PLEASE have a heart and do NOT paint it.
    I’m sorry but I think it will ruin it.

    April 19, 2011
    • Anne-Marie, You are exactly right. I had the same thought last night. This one is beauty just the way it is. πŸ™‚

      April 19, 2011
  7. PLEASE whatever you do, DON’T paint it! It is just so perfect the way it is!!

    April 19, 2011
  8. Your creations continually amaze me. Wishing you luck on the move and new home. Am so very anxious to see what the changes bring. Hopefully, Illinois will bring you as much luck in your hunting for treasures as Canada. I can certainly attest that central Minnesota finds aren’t as readily available.

    April 19, 2011
  9. Anne-Marie #

    I’m thrilled you thought the same thing!
    I am very new to the blogging world and I’m so happy you replied to me!
    I have signed up to quite a few blogs and now think it’s time I got off my f@@@y and got some projects done.
    I missed the fact that you are moving. I will have to look back at your older posts.
    Good luck with your move and take good care of that lil old antique chest!

    Anne-Marie

    April 19, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

