Skip to content
Library tour

Just before we move, I thought I’d give you a little tour of our library and some of my favorite things in it.

The leather sofa with nailhead trim is the most comfortable and durable sofa we’ve ever owned (and we’ve had several). We’ve had it for.ever…we found it at Sam’s Club over 10 years ago and love it more than “name brand” sofas we’ve bought !

The french postcard and ticking stripe pillows were found last week at HomeSense…I know, I know! I’m trying to wean myself gently before the move! 😉

The side tables were a makeover from a few months ago.

The light french grey coffee table is in my current listings.

The wicker tray on the coffee table was a recent Pottery Barn score. I wanted to buy it but it was missing its tag. The sales girl and her manager searched the computer and couldn’t find any information on it. So the closest one to it was on clearance for $13 bucks and that’s what I got it for.  I have a thing for PB trays…especially at those kind of prices. 🙂

The library shelves are a nice place to house all of my thrifty finds! My favorite being the globe collection I have accumulated over the past year. I love the colors in them and how different they are from each other. I’ve found every one of them at garage sales and thrift stores. The lowest I’ve paid is 75 cents and the most I’ve paid is $9.99. 🙂

I have a huge collection of old books. It’s a rare occurrence that I visit a thrift store and leave without purchasing at least one.

An old copy of Sense and Sensibility/Northanger Abbey by my favorite author…Jane Austen.

Some pretty old books (another Jane Austen) that my mom found while thrifting in NY.

I just love the cover on this one.

An early 1900’s Oxford Dictionary. 

More classics found at thrift stores.

These old library books with dewey decimal numbers on them (love that) found at a garage sale. Do kids these days even know what the Dewey Decimal system is???

The complete Works of Shakespeare (well almost complete…missing volumes 10 and 11). Found at Value Village for cheap. Man, these are out of order…I can feel my OCD kicking in!

This old card catalog drawer was $2.99 at Goodwill. I’ve been on the lookout for a full card catalog for the longest time but this will have to suffice until I find one!

These old spools are some of my favorite thrifty finds…I found the large one with the metal last week at Goodwill for $1.99!

And finally the old Bibles (mostly from the mid-1800’s) that my husband has been collecting for several years.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the tour of our library and some of my favorite thrifty finds!

Have you scored any thrifty finds lately? Do tell!

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. so gorgeous! i for one am so anxious to see your new home and see you go through the decorating process- it is going to be so fun and inspiring!

    April 21, 2011
  2. Hello and have I ever scored some thrifty finds! I just love your site you give me such inspiration everyday! Come visit my blog I now have my own shop Past & Present Antiques & Flea Market I opened March 1st with 8 vendors and we now have 16 and more coming this week and next week hope you can stop in would love to hear your comments on the shop happy thrifting!

    April 21, 2011
  3. Enjoyed the library tour! Love old books. They just don’t make them like that anymore.
    Just thought I’d let you know that I’m a 4th grade teacher in NE and I DO teach my students about the Dewey Decimal System… Gorgeous globes, too, by the way! Thanks for sharing.

    April 21, 2011
  4. Mel #

    Such a restful and soothing space.

    April 21, 2011
  5. I love your library! In fact, I’d love to see a tour of your whole home before you move!!! Remember, Home Sense, just becomes Home Goods when you move. I have a very strong addiction to Home Sense myself!

    April 21, 2011
  6. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    Susan, thanks for the final tour of your library. Enjoyed so much. We are so happy that you are getting back to the States, and what a wonderful city you are moving to. The winters are a little harsh, but hey, can’t be any worse than Canada, huh? Don’t be surprised if we come knocking on your door one day.
    Thrifty finds, me ???? I try to look through your eyes when I go out shopping, but all I see is a blur.
    Happy Moving to you and your family.

    April 22, 2011
  7. I love your decorating style! REally love love love your bookshelves with the rolling ladder! Thank you for sharing!

    April 24, 2011
  8. sheree #

    LOVE LOVE the library only one question…where does one find a fab ladder like yours?

    April 25, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. sofa saga | Maple & Magnolia
  2. anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom | Maple & Magnolia
  3. sleeping porch project | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

