Skip to content
Florida Keys Blue China Cabinet Makeover

A client of mine had a vintage china cabinet that she received from her aunt. She wasn’t crazy about it because it was very outdated.

But it was a quality piece of furniture in excellent condition that I thought would work nicely in her dining room. All it needed was a little facelift.

I have one word for the taping off of this piece…nightmare. It took forty forevers. Once it was finally taped off, I gave it a couple of coats of the most beautiful blue called “Florida Keys Blue” by Benjamin Moore. The color reminds me of a box from Tiffany’s. It injected a nice dose of color into this dining room.

Since they are a young family, I didn’t want stuffy china on display.

Instead, I filled it with adorable polka dot dinnerware from Pier One and a mixture of vintage and new objects.

My client loves it now which makes me happy.

Linking here:

http://www.centsationalgirl.com/2011/04/paint-projects-link-party/#more-17492
Domestically Speaking

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gorgeous!! Couldn’t of been better!! Love those dishes I have been eye balling them for awhile although I don’t have a beautiful cabinet like this to display them!! Maybe I will be on the hunt =)

    April 24, 2011
  2. Love the color! It turned out beautifully.

    April 24, 2011
  3. Looks great love the color!

    April 25, 2011
  4. I love the way this turned out! I have been trying to get up the courage to paint two similar pieces that I have had a long time. My husband is against it, of course. Men!

    April 25, 2011
  5. To die for! This is gorgeous!

    April 25, 2011
  6. I love this cabinet now. You saved the day! I know what you mean by the taping off! But so worth it.

    April 25, 2011
  7. Oh MY!!!!! Gorgeous!!

    April 25, 2011
  8. Kim @ A Brush of Whimsy #

    10 times better! Great color! I’ll bet the polka dot dishes are awesome!

    April 25, 2011
  9. Beautiful pretties..Lovely post and thank you for sharing your inspiration.

    April 25, 2011
  10. Absolutely gorgeous !! You’ve filled it beautifully, too !!

    April 25, 2011
  11. So fun, and what a fabulous color!

    April 25, 2011
  12. i love the impact of the color! it is so pretty, and it has just enough painted parts that it is not overwhelming… beautiful as always!

    April 25, 2011
  13. I am so glad I came across your post! I have my grandmother’s vintage curio cabinet and I’ve been wanting to paint it but was scared… this shows me it can be done!

    Did you have to sand and prime first?

    April 25, 2011
    • Hi Rhonda, I used an oil-based paint so I didn’t have to sand or prime. But with latex, you need to do both.

      April 26, 2011
  14. mary paulson #

    Fabulous! what color was that?

    April 26, 2011
  15. While I thought this was lovely before, the updated color makes it so fun. Plus I love the contemporary dishes you placed in it. It makes such a dramatic difference! I’ve seen similar cabinets on CL and would have passed them by. You’ve given me something to consider. Hugs, Kim

    May 2, 2011
  16. This is adorable and what a fun color! It most certainly looks like a Tiffany box. Nicely done.

    July 13, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

