Skip to content
Dropcloth Bookcovers

A couple weeks ago when I was in Chicago house hunting, I stopped into Restoration Hardware.

The Restoration Hardware here is alllll the way in Toronto, about 40 minutes from our house. And that’s IF the traffic isn’t horrendous…which on the QEW, it ALWAYS is.

Anyway, I don’t get into the actual store much so when I see one I stop. Nuff said.

As I was perusing the store with my eyes wide and my mouth hanging open, I made a mental note of some canvas-covered books on a shelf.

They were only for display so I filed it away in my “I’m soooo gonna make that when I get home” vault.

So today, I’m cleaning out my disastrous craft room and I had bits and pieces of canvas dropcloth. Too little for a big project, but too much to just toss. Ding ding ding…I extracted that canvas covered book idea from my very dusty mental vault. I grabbed some hardcover books and a glue gun and got to work.

Talk about easy. I just cut the dropcloth pieces and covered the books just like we used to cover our books in school. You know…back in the dark ages when we had those manilla paper book covers. The ones that we wrote I heart Shaun Cassidy on. Am I alone here?

Here they are…

I think they are super cute.

What say you?

Partying here:
The DIY Show OffMy Backyard Eden

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I say they are super cute too! On my manila book cover I wrote, “I love Kelvin,” a meellion times until every millimeter of the bookcover was covered. I still love Kelvin. I married my highschool sweetheart almost 20 years ago! My, how time flies!

    April 26, 2011
  2. Really cute! I love your blog and hardly ever comment so I thought I’d finally leave a comment but I read your blog religiously. You have great ideas!

    April 26, 2011
  3. Gloria R. #

    Neat idea! …and for labels? Thiis would be a great idea to salvage old poetry books and decorate with names, flowers, butterflies and other pretty things. Quite Edwardian!

    April 27, 2011
  4. Love them! Excellent idea that I am going to copycat. 🙂

    PS…I was required to write JMJ (Jesus Mary Joseph) on my book covers. I went to Catholic school! LOL 😉

    Happy Wednesday!

    April 27, 2011
  5. Rondell #

    I love them, what a great idea! Thanks for sharing, I have some drop cloth left too and this is such a neat idea to use some of it up with! Great how you displayed them too!

    April 27, 2011
  6. Karen #

    superduper cute! I think I will do the same, we have new bookshelves with many books since our move, and think it gives a clean, sleak, finished look! thx for the idea Susan 🙂

    April 27, 2011
  7. Your definitly not alone!!! Love the canvas dropcloth, Love restoration Hardware!!!!! Not to mention loved (david Cassidy)….LOVE YOUR BLOG!!

    April 27, 2011
  8. VintageBeachgirl #

    A really great idea to coordinate your books in a bookcase, a la Restoration Hardware! Won’t we be elegant then!! Take care VBg

    April 27, 2011
  9. I really enjoy reading your blog. You’re ever so clever and many lovelies to see. I’m learning how to, so much 🙂
    Thanks,
    elise

    April 27, 2011
  10. Oui, Oui! They look great, and I think I see those new finials peeking out, too!

    April 27, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

