Skip to content
estate sale goodies

I have mixed feelings about estate sales. I mostly avoid them altogether. Besides the obvious, I don’t like them because they generally involve pushy/shovey/grabby  people in very tight spaces. Not my idea of a good time.

But Friday, there was an estate sale advertised with a preview of the items to be sold. It had definite potential so I decided to go.

The sale was very well run, super organized and I found the prices to be incredibly reasonable.

Here are the items that I came away with:

vintage suitcase

shabby shelf

finials…love the patina

Spode plate

oval silver plated bowls

Restoration Hardware silver plated vase

Tiffany & Co. clock

Vintage Wooden spools

Gorgeous trumeau mirror

love the bird carving and the finish…beautiful!

Vintage chest with mirror

I’m diggin the mismatched hardware!

I needed another white chest like I need a hole in the head but this one was so pretty I just couldn’t leave it behind.   So that’s it for my estate sale goodies.  I was very pleased with my thrifty finds!

Enjoy your day!

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Whoa, you scored big time, that chest is spectacular and all the rest great too, you wonder who that was that had such good taste…

    April 26, 2011
  2. What incredible finds. I am particularly jealous of your trumeau mirror!

    April 26, 2011
  3. Great finds! I especially love the suitcase and dresser. I’m currently collecting vintage suitcases for my wedding in October. How will you use your suitcase?

    April 26, 2011
  4. thought you were trying to downsize before the move? LOL!!! great finds. love the suitcase!

    April 26, 2011
    • Ha! Pam…oh but I have! A few more little things won’t hurt! 🙂

      April 26, 2011
  5. Melinda G Burke #

    Oh Susan, you did goog girl! I love the white chest, I have been looking for one just like it!

    April 26, 2011
    • Melinda G Burke #

      Well I guess goog, is the new word for good! OK so I can’t spell!

      April 26, 2011
  6. lenka #

    Hey you: downsizing much?????

    April 26, 2011
  7. That trumeau mirror is gorgeous! Will you paint it or leave it alone? I think estate sales are a little sad because you know someone has died and the family apparently doesn’t cherish all the lovely things left behind. (like we junkers do), or maybe they just don’t have the room or they need the money…anyway, it’s always a little sad how “things” outlive people. But then people like us buy them and give them new life and enjoy them for many more years, so I guess it all works out.

    April 26, 2011
    • Mel #

      Well done girl! I love the mirror best! Just how many trucks will you need to move? LOL

      April 26, 2011
  8. Your crazy girl! Your suppose to be weeding out fun finds and you keep bringing in more! I would to if I were there. You don’t see items like that here in Michigan…so keep on treasure huntin all the way to your new place!!!

    April 26, 2011
  9. Great finds! I find nothing! Just a comment – I think you may be formatting your pictures incorrectly. They are coming out long or a bit off. Do you need help with this?

    April 27, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

