Skip to content
re-do take two

Remember this french provincial white dresser that I found at Salvation Army for ten buckeroos?

I originally painted it for my office.

But it has since migrated to Hannah’s room where the aqua color worked just fine.

Lately she and I have been planning her room in the new house.

Tip: a way to get an I-don’t-want-to-move-and-leave-my-friends daughter to get excited about the move is to involve her in the planning of her new space. 

She’s going to be twelve in June…and I’m sad to say that she’s outgrown her cutesy Pottery Barn bedding that she’s had for the past three years.

Time for a little more grown-up room.

Something along these lines…

image from Pottery Barn
 
And maybe some stripes like these on the walls…

image from Danielle Oakley interiors

I let her pick the color palette for her new room and she chose black, white with lavender for a “pop of color.” Her words. 🙂 Someone’s been paying attention!

So over the long holiday weekend I repainted the dresser for her new space.

The color is “Enchanted” by Benjamin Moore. It’s the perfect shade of lavender. Not too pinky, not too wimpy, and not too Barney. 😉

Since one of the original french provincial pulls was broken, I needed to go a different route. Since I needed 9, cost was an issue. No way was I spending a ton of cash on a ten dollar dresser. Not. gonna. do. it. I selected some simple inexpensive white pulls from Home Depot.

I love the clean, simplicity of this dresser. And of course the nine drawers of storage. I think this will be a beautiful addition to a black and white bedroom while keeping some little-girlishness. It’s a win-win.

Partying here:

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    Too cute about her paying attention; nice to know that it eventually rubs off on them eh? LOL

    The PB bedding she has is sooo sweet, but I agree that it’s probably too young for her now. Clever girl.

    And, purple happens to be my fave colour, so she has great taste to boot

    have a great day Susan.

    April 28, 2011
  2. I too have been trying to get my 7 year old excited about our new house and her new room. She’s big on the ‘Pllllleeease Mom, I don’t want to move! She’s informed me that she’s ok to move if we can paint her ceiling black and her walls tiger stripes. Lord have mercy. It’s gonna be an interesting move!

    April 28, 2011
  3. great idea to get her involved with the new room! i love danielle’s daughter’s room. you are going to have tso much fun decorating your new home!!!
    and i love the dresser- it’s beautiful! i have liked it every way so far!

    April 28, 2011
  4. lenka #

    Wow what great taste : love it !! But I am a bit biased since Lauren’s(16) room is a soft lavender colour too!

    April 28, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

