Skip to content
maybe my best find ever

I should totally be packing. But I needed to get my thrift on before getting my packing on.

Tuesdays are the best thrifting day. Thrifty Tuesdays must not be denied.

You want proof???

I’ve been searching for an antique twin bed for the guest cottage of the farmhouse. I wanted something with charm and character…not just any old twin bed.

So I’m be-bopping around Salvation Army this morning and peek around the corner where they stash the headboards and footboards.

And the heavens parted. And the angels sang. Okay, that may be a little over-dramatic.

But my wallet parted. And I sang. Does that count?

Here is the french beauty in all her gorgeous green glory.

I know I could have done a better job on the presentation. My paint stained garage isn’t quite the staging area that I’d imagined to reveal my best thrifty find EVER. But hey, it’s raining and foggy so this will have to do.

You know the saying April Showers bring May flowers? Well, then our neck of the woods is going to be a flippin botanical wonderland. Cause all it’s done is rain lately.

Back to the beauty.

Just look at that natural distressing and chipping.

And that curvy deliciousness.

No paintbrush will touch this piece. It’s perfection.

P.S. Wanna know how much I paid for it? $69.99. 🙂

Oh, no you ditten…

Oh, yes I di-id. 🙂

Here’s to fantastic thrifting finds!

Linking up here:
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating

27 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yes my friend…that just might be the best! What a wonderful piece.

    April 29, 2011
  2. Jamie K #

    Oh Wow Oh Wow!!!!Whoohoo! Priceless! Can’t wait to see it in your room!

    April 29, 2011
  3. LOVE this bed! I can’t believe you paid only 69.99 for it! Crazy!! I found a similar one in a white double bed a couple months ago. I paid 175 for it. I thought that was a good deal. You beat me!!

    April 29, 2011
  4. You Stole that! I’m calling the police right now.

    lucky duck. I feel in love with queen size quite similar to that years ago, expect it was a little out of my price range and was at least 10x as much as your new best friend 🙂

    April 29, 2011
  5. Melinda G Burke #

    oui madame! fantastique!!!!!!!!!!

    April 29, 2011
  6. Mel #

    Steal! How pretty. Will you change the colour?

    April 29, 2011
  7. What an amazing find!!!!! Score!!!!!!

    April 29, 2011
  8. Glad to see I don’t have the only ruined garage floor from paint stains! My garage floor is simply embarrassing now. I love that bed! Hallelujah! The heavens DID part for you, sometimes it really IS meant to be 🙂
    Have a fabulous day
    Julie
    paintedparlor.blogspot.com

    April 29, 2011
  9. you luck devil!

    April 29, 2011
  10. you lucky devil!

    April 29, 2011
  11. well done my friend

    April 29, 2011
  12. Marcy #

    I’m absolutely green with envy! Lucky you!!!!

    April 29, 2011
  13. lenka #

    O.M.G….. what an amazing bed!!!!! Will you be putting this on your current listings???
    I think not !!!! Great job bargain hunting.

    April 29, 2011
  14. You hit the jackpot girl!!

    I just recently found your blog and I love it! I’m currently addicted to furniture painting blogs and am in the process of painting a few pieces for my daughters. I bought an ugly side table today at Goodwill for $5 and I can’t wait to do something with it.

    {If you happen to stop by my blog… I haven’t been a very good blogger lately, but I do plan on doing a blog soon on my thrifty finds at Gwill today!}

    April 29, 2011
  15. Oh.my! Fab-u-lous!

    April 29, 2011
  16. Mary Paulson #

    I agree, its your best deal evahhh!!!!!!!!!

    April 29, 2011
  17. Jim #

    If I had a dollar for every time I heard you say, “best find ever!” I don’t think there is such a thing because there is always your NEXT find… Love ya!

    April 30, 2011
  18. You make me want to run to a thrift store right now! My mom found one like that in double size at a thrift store near Midland, ON. Enjoy that beauty.

    April 30, 2011
  19. Yowsers!!! I absolutely LOVE your find. I might even be a tad envious! In my neck of the woods we find particle board, MDF junk! The trash piles, on the other hand are a different story! 😉

    April 30, 2011
  20. I have almost the same bed and mine was FREE! My husband is a realtor and the only way to complete a particular closing a few years ago, was to clean out the cabin. This and a wonderful armoire were the only items worth keeping. Can you believe neither the seller OR the buyer wanted it?!? Sad, but true. Still shaking my head over that. http://www.flickr.com/photos/15582155@N00/4891476039/in/set-72157624600028371

    May 1, 2011
    • OM goodness, Michelle. It is BEAUTIFUL! I like yours better than mine! I’d love to see the armoire! 🙂

      May 1, 2011
  21. Abi #

    um, absolutely gorgeous!! and it looks perfect just as it is!!! great great find!

    May 1, 2011
  22. You are always to LUCKY with your finds. I am “green” with envy.

    May 3, 2011
  23. You and Michelle both really lucked out with these wonderful, fabulous, georgeous, beautiful, marvelous beds!!! I couldn’t think of any more words to describe them off the top of my head but given a few minutes I probably could! Lucky, lucky girls!! Take care, VBg

    May 3, 2011
  24. OMG! Lucky lady!

    May 3, 2011
  25. Sharon #

    Oh my. I was not expecting that. I read, then scrolled, expecting to see a cute wrought iron twin bed. I was not prepared for the over the top gorgeousness of your find. It is perfection!

    August 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. the in-between | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

