Skip to content
some pretties

We made it to Illinois! The movers delivered everything on Monday and although most of the boxes are gone now, it’s still a bit chaotic.

I’m never, never, never moving again. Never. Don’t get me wrong, I love moving and I love change, but after 14 moves in 19 years I’m done. Plus, after only a few days here it feels like we are finally home.

My mission is to to get things organized quickly before the kids start school and my hubby starts work on Monday.

Obviously it will be a while before I’m ready to post photos of the house. But I can share some pics that I snapped this morning while Riley and I walked around the property (our morning ritual).

I wish you could take in the scents and sounds that accompany these photos. This is most peaceful place on the planet. Imagine total quiet but for the sounds of croaking frogs, singing birds, and pecking woodpeckers.


I can’t wait for the peonies to bloom.

The fragrance of these lilacs is intoxicating.

The path to the cottage

I can’t wait to share more photos with you. Hopefully soon.

xo.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. There’s nothing quite like the feeling that you have found your home. I’m sure hoping that we feel the same way when we get our house on July 1. The grounds of your new home look gorgeous. Looking forward to more pictures!!!

    May 12, 2011
  2. Barb V. #

    Hi – next state neighbor – I live near St. Louis, Missouri and was just wondering what part of Illinois you moved to. I have a sister who lives near Belleville. Love seeing your amazing transformations!

    May 12, 2011
  3. twicklep #

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful, peaceful retreat. Welcome back to the U.S.! πŸ™‚

    Patty

    Michigan

    May 12, 2011
  4. Allison #

    Welcome to your new home! Your grounds are beautiful. What a lovely place to walk each morning and take in the sounds and scents.

    May 12, 2011
  5. Bonnie Wood #

    Welcome to Illinois! Your flowers/trees are beautiful! And a path to the cottage…awesome!!! Have fun settling in. I love your blogs:)

    May 12, 2011
  6. Your grounds do look beautiful. Welcome to Illinois! So happy you finally got your dream home.

    May 12, 2011
  7. Kathi #

    Beautiful photos!!!! I am jealous! Lilacs are my favorite and moved south 10 yrs ago. I miss having them in my yard!

    May 12, 2011
  8. Traci #

    It looks absolutly lovely. I can’t wait to see more.
    Traci

    May 12, 2011
  9. Cathy #

    Two of my fav flowers – lilacs and peonies! Can’t wait to see photos when the Peonies bloom.

    May 12, 2011
  10. mary paulson #

    Peaceful, beautiful and so much greenery! Enjoy your new surroundings.

    May 13, 2011
  11. I am so thrilled and happy for you! I cannot wait to join you on your farmhouse journey. Lucky, lucky you!

    May 13, 2011
  12. lenkaa #

    Wow, great photos! So happy that you are putting down new roots in such a tranquil place. Riley looks happy in the new farmhouse! Can’t wait to see more.

    May 13, 2011
  13. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. #

    Welcome home! I’m so excited for you. Can’t wait to see more!

    May 13, 2011
  14. I left a comment on your Mother’s Day post ’cause this one wasn’t popping up. I just had to add that I am jealous if those are YOUR gardens. Wonderful!

    May 13, 2011
  15. Thanks, everyone for your nice comments! πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

    May 13, 2011
  16. Kim B. #

    So beautiful…I love the US flag by the front door!! And Riley looks very happy!! πŸ™‚

    Glad you made it there safe and sound! I can’t wait to see more photos!

    May 14, 2011
  17. Karen #

    Welcome to Illinois!! what beautiful pics, scenery, amazing farm house, simply cant wait to see your work soon! take it all in and breath….and please stay put :-), kinda like you livng closer. Enjoy your journey thru all your Decor fun!

    May 16, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

