Skip to content
Screened Porch

One of the many, many things I love about our farmhouse is the screened porch.

It was badly in need of some freshening up.

So I took advantage of the gorgeous weather on Friday and gave it a couple of coats of fresh white paint.  That ceiling just about did me in…my neck and back will never be the same!

But it was oh, so worth it.

Here are some photos of the “after.”

The curtains are my favorite part of the porch. I first saw the idea here and filed it away knowing I would use it someday.

The curtains are $10 dropcloths from Home Depot, the rods were $9 at Wal-Mart and the clip rings were purchased at an estate sale for $1 per pkg. There are two more hanging on the opposite side. $80 for the perfect finishing touch.

Found the tiered antique table at a garage sale on Friday for five bucks. Spray painted it white.

Almost all of the pieces used, I had on hand. Remember the dining room mantel? The end tables were a thrifty makeover that I did a while back but forgot to show you. The only things I purchased were the lamps and bee pillows (HomeGoods) and the rug (Home Depot).

Which brings the whole porch makeover to just under $350 including paint.

Thanks for stopping by!

I hope you have a wonderful week. 🙂

Linking up here:
 http://linda-coastalcharm.blogspot.com/

The Lettered Cottage
20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow it’s absolutely gorgeous! Our current project is a “deck rejuvenation” and also planned on using dropcloths for the curtains also. Could so see myself sitting here enjoying the sounds of nature. Well done!

    May 23, 2011
  2. By the way, where did you get that gorgeous rug?

    May 23, 2011
    • Hi Cathy. Thanks! I found it at Home Depot…it’s a Martha Stewart in the outdoor section.

      May 23, 2011
  3. mary Paulson #

    Simply Beautiful! Oh the thrill of the hunt for these treasures that we know one day will come in handy. Thank you for sharing ………

    May 23, 2011
  4. This is just beautiful, a sunroom wow could be a living room, well done! BTW I really look forward to your daily posts, love your blog!

    May 23, 2011
  5. Mel #

    Oh Susan! What a wonderful space! My favourite part is the mantle. What a brilliant idea.
    I’m so happy you are settling in and sharing your posts with us once again.

    May 23, 2011
  6. It all looks so beautiful, and I can’t believe you got it finished in a weekend!!

    May 23, 2011
  7. Melinda #

    Susan, GREAT JOB! I just love, love , love your new home!

    May 23, 2011
  8. It’s beautiful, Susan. No wonder you haven’t written for a few days–you’ve been BUSY! Painting, garage saling, shopping, fluffing, hanging…I have always wanted a screened porch to keep the bugs out but let the night sounds and breezes in. My best friend when I was little had one, and we would always sleep out there in the summer.
    The mantle really adds character to the room. And the $5 drum table–score! Thanks for taking us along on your new house journey! It’s lovely.

    May 23, 2011
  9. Ido #

    I love how that porch turned out! You are the queen of savings! love that! Congratulations on getting the house of your dreams, it’s beautiful, enjoy it!!!!
    XXXX Ido

    May 23, 2011
  10. I love this. You just inspired me!

    May 23, 2011
  11. wow!!!! that is gorgeous!!!! it looks like areal dream come true! do you have room for one more? 🙂

    May 23, 2011
  12. Jan #

    Wow, so fresh and clean! Love the mantle!
    Blessings!!

    May 23, 2011
  13. OMG!!! I just LOOOOOOOVE it, so much I featured it over at my blog..
    http://www.onetwotwodesigns.com/2011/05/sun-room-love.html
    I love your blog, you are fabulous!
    ~Kelly

    May 24, 2011
  14. OMGoodness…I LOVE your thrifty porch makeover…looks outstanding!!

    Blessings,
    Linda

    May 26, 2011
  15. This is a truly beautiful porch! My eye went to those curtains right away; they really do add to the overall look. I’m a fan of black and white so I love your color choices. What a lucky find on the tiered table; love it! I love those bee pillows. I haven’t been to Home Goods in a while; the thought of finding those pillows may send me straight there.
    Tammy

    May 29, 2011
  16. This porch is amazing!!! I love everything about it! Beautiful.

    June 15, 2011
  17. How jealous can I be! I have always wanted a screened in porch. It can be so buggy here in Georgia that you can not be outside in the summer. Beautiful job.

    June 18, 2011
  18. Hannah #

    …That paint fell from the ceiling and stuck in my hair. Hurtful mother. Hurtful.

    July 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Kane County Antique Market | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

