Skip to content
from blah to ahhhhh

So the entryway of the new house had white walls. I don’t do white walls. They feel too institutional to me. “Shutter Island-ish” as my teenager says.

Sure, there are more pressing things that I should be doing (oh let’s say… unpacking boxes for example) but the entry kept bugging me. Calling to me. Beckoning me. Each and every time I walked through the door.

So many times, entryways are dealt with as an afterthought. To me they are one of the most important “rooms” in a house. They are the first glimpse that people have of your home. They should be warm, welcoming and inviting.

My entryway was none of the above. Forget unpacking…this space needed some attention!

The first step was taping off the seven doors, two openings and one window. One and a half rolls of Frog Tape later…I was finally ready to transform the space.

I chose Huntington Beige by Benjamin Moore. The family room is that color and since the rooms lead to one another it made sense.

Although the paint made a HUGE difference, It still needed some more warmth. To me nothing warms up a space like fabric and texture.

I added a couple of runners, some drop cloth curtains, a denim slipcovered parsons chair, and some pillows.

Then some lamps, pictures and mirror and accessories.

I found the antique skis at a garage sale this past weekend.

The entryway still beckons to me but now it’s in a good way. It says, “come on in, kick your shoes off and stay a while.”

Partying here:
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating

http://cottageandvine.blogspot.com/

Roomspiration
40 Comments Post a comment
  1. It’s lovely and so welcoming.

    I’m in the process of painting our new apartment (ok, having it painted) and unlike you, I chose mostly white. I love the Scandinavian look – though I stop at painting the floors white. Plus, it’s on the ground floor with huge trees outside so the white really opens the place up…

    May 26, 2011
  2. great job! love the skiis!

    May 26, 2011
  3. Bernice #

    Jealous … there is really nothing else to say … oh and we miss you 😦

    May 26, 2011
  4. Melinda #

    Susan, It’s so inviting! I hope we get to see the rest of your beautiful new farmhouse very soon! I can’t wait!!!!!!!

    May 26, 2011
  5. First of all, my mother steered me your direction. Maybe because we are all southern girls, and she loves our hockey team and they are mostly from Canada! I’m sure it was subconscious! To my point, I love your new home and I LOVE the entry!! It’s amazing the things you will settle on when looking for a house, and that it NOT one of them for me!!

    I love reading your blog and love your ideas!!

    I have a small blog myself, but not many finished projects because I’m busy raising a toddler, working full-time and going to school full-time at night. Whew, I got tired just typing that 🙂 I would love for you to check it out and maybe even follow it!

    Oh and don’t beat yourself up over painting instead of unpacking, you had to unpack SOME to get that entry looking that beautiful! Look forward to seeing the progress!

    Andrea @ DwellRepurposed.blogspot.com

    May 26, 2011
  6. I love seeing you living your farmhouse dream! Welcome back to the U.S. 🙂 Your entryway is certainly inviting once you worked your magic. Can’t wait to see the rest of the house… Happy Memorial Day!

    May 26, 2011
  7. It’s beautiful, really great job, now I have to ask what are all the doors for? Are these all closests? Never seen so many doors in an entry like this…such a beautiful place lucky you

    May 26, 2011
    • Kathy, double doors to dining room, gentleman’s bar, basement, 2 are closets, front door. 🙂

      May 26, 2011
  8. Very welcoming indeed. You have a lovely space, I adore the brick floors and all the white doors. Love the new wall colour and you really did add some warmth with the rugs and fabrics.

    May 26, 2011
  9. Kim @ A Brush of Whimsy #

    How lovely!

    May 26, 2011
  10. Such a great change! I was looking at my e-mail and your daily post came up. I just couldn’t get myself to continue reading my e-mails until I did some dashing around my house moving things around and planning what colors to paint my white walls.
    Your work beckoned me to do some work of my own. I just love the colors you chose for your entry and how you put it all together. Cannot wait to see the rest as it unfolds!

    May 26, 2011
  11. Kim B. #

    Beautiful!!!!! I love the skiis…but you know, I know someone really talented who could paint you a set of oars if you wanna change it up 🙂

    I love what you’ve done! Can’t wait to see the rest!

    Where did you get the denim chair cover, Pottery Barn???

    May 26, 2011
  12. love those floors- the home is just amazing… i am green over here! 🙂

    May 26, 2011
  13. Don’t take this personal, but I hate you right now. From a woman who has an entryway of 3.5 x 4.5 feet. Oh, how my heart aches! Beautiful!

    May 26, 2011
  14. What a beautiful space ~ it is so welcoming & open, and the new color really warms it up. Love it!

    May 26, 2011
  15. I love your house. I didn’t even notice the walls. I couldn’t get past the beautiful brick floor. Someday, I am going to have a brick floor. The after pictures are so welcoming and the dog loves to be in pictures I see. So cute. I found you at My Romantic home. If the follow buttons were working, I would follow you. I will come back when it gets fixed.

    May 27, 2011
  16. Hannah #

    Lol the little bear is in the pic 🙂

    July 1, 2011
  17. Kim #

    OMG, I love it. Love the color you chose and the brick floor adds such great warmth. Love the furniture and accessory choices and the skis add at touch of whimsy.

    August 8, 2011
  18. Oh my gosh! Your entry is amazing…magazine worthy. The paint color, the brick floor, the accessories, and the sweet dog…I love it all! So glad to find your blog today. 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  19. I do like white walls, but in this case you were smart to go with a color. All of your details make the area so inviting. Well done!

    Thank you for joining the party!

    August 8, 2011
  20. LOVE it! The walls brought out the gorgeous tones in the brick, and the black accents make it even more striking.

    August 8, 2011
  21. I love your entry – the floor is amazing – but overall it just hugs you in. LOVE IT.

    August 8, 2011
  22. This is such a warm entryway! I love the lighting and the welcoming feeling that is created..such a pretty shade on the lamp. Visiting from Cottage & Vine – new follower. Do visit mine..http://www.lminteriorsllc.blogspot.com

    August 8, 2011
  23. Here from Cottage and Vine! You have a lovely entry! The brick floor is great and I also love how you showed before and after pictures of the rugs, pillows, etc! Really shows how much fabric and color can change a space. Your home looks very warm and inviting… I’m getting ready to look around! 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  24. So, so beautiful! Good idea to stop packing, warm up the entry and share with us! You have a new follower. Thanks so much for sharing. Love it!

    August 8, 2011
  25. Add me to the list of folks here who love your entry, and especially love your floor. This is EXACTLY what I imagine for our scary basement … now I can show my husband a picture of what I see in my head.

    Since this is my first visit, and definitely not my last, it sounds like you are new to farmhouse life. If so, let me tell you that you will love it. I am thankful every morning to wake up in our farmhouse, and it sounds like you are too.

    I’m off to prowl around your blog a bit more. I like what I see so far.

    August 9, 2011
  26. So comfortable and inviting looking. Love the pillows and wall color and how cool is that floor? Definitely a wow moment.
    Pam

    August 9, 2011
  27. You did a great job warming it up and decorating it. It’sbeautiful!..Christine

    August 9, 2011
  28. Quite a transformation. Love your brick floors!!!

    August 9, 2011
  29. Found you from the Roomspiration party!

    What a warm, welcoming entryway! And those skis are amaaaaazing. What a great find. They look like they could cost a BILLION dollars from pottery barn, but much cooler. Gorgeous space!

    September 12, 2011
  30. Your entryway is beautiful! It looks very warm and inviting. And I love the glass lamp! I like the rugs too, they make the space look inviting, but still show off that awesome floor.

    September 12, 2011
  31. Jae #

    i love your floors. this is really nice.

    September 12, 2011
  32. Oh my goodness! It is fantastic! My favorites: the brick flooring, the wreath and denim slipcovered chair {I want one, where did you get it??}! It is beautifully done. I would love to walk through that entry way every day! Seriously!! Thank you so much for linking up with Roomspiration. Happy Monday!!

    September 12, 2011
  33. Sooooo welcoming. The rugs, the skis, the doggy….makes me want to come in and stay!

    September 12, 2011
  34. almost forgot…the floor is STUNNING.

    September 12, 2011
  35. Oh my goodness – the brick floors are so beautiful! What a treat to start with that! You did achieve your goal, the entryway is wonderfully warm and inviting – I’d so love to pop over for a little visit 🙂

    September 12, 2011
  36. Your entryway is very warm and welcoming! You did a beautiful job of decorating it. Lesa

    September 12, 2011
  37. Wow, mission accomplished! Great job on your entryway, I want to come over and kick my shoes off. 🙂 Love the space and will look forward to seeing more!

    September 12, 2011
  38. Beautiful! I think white walls work well in some spaces (my husband agrees with you), but in your case I think the warm beige is just the perfect touch with the warm brick floors.

    Your entry is very warm and inviting now.

    September 12, 2011
  39. First, I would like to say that I have never seen another house that has the same crazy tile like I have in my house! Secondly, I absolutely love the way that you transformed the space, it gives me some hope! Where did you get the black entryway table with the baskets in it, it is really cute!! Great job, I just found your blog today, and can’t wait to keep reading! -Dana

    October 25, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

