Skip to content
milk and honey

After three years of wandering through the dusty and barren shopping desert, we have at last reached the Promised Land.

And it’s milk and honey, people. Milk.and.honey.

My favorite part of moving to a new area is discovering shops that are destined to become regular “haunts” for me.

Today I found two.

The first…Steeplechase Antiques. A fan-tab-ulous little antiques shop in downtown Barrington. It is the anti-antiques store. Not dark or dingy. Not musty or smelly. Not snooty or uppity. Not overpriced or pretentious. Just really great things at really great prices and the owner, Karrin, is delightful.

Here are some of the treasures that came home with me.

A fantastic vintage game wheel. Our family room wall had a bare spot and this was a perfect addition.

An oak tilt-top table

Wooden bistro chairs marked “Lutheran Mission.”

Vintage wooden pins

WW1 or WW2? metal lockbox

antlers

The second isn’t a permanent shop but is located in a warehouse and is open at various times. It’s called “Tattered Tiques” isn’t that cute? They have all things antique, shabby, vintage, farm and industrial.  Here’s the website if you’re interested!

And here are the goodies I picked up there today…

I have no idea what this is…I’m guessing a vintage mail cart? No clue. I just knew it was coming home with me. How cool would this be as a laundry room hamper?

A vintage shipping crate/basket from England. This thing is massive…it’s going to hold blankets.

Vintage botanical prints that you could purchase by the sheet. Genius! Can’t wait to frame these babies.

Old letters tied with twine and a skeleton key. Love.

And last but not least, these wonderfully chippy corbels. I plan to make a shelf for the bathroom wall with these.

So those are my two new favorite places to score awesome vintage things! If you live in the Chicago area and would like to share your faves, I’m all ears!

In other news…my baby turns 17 tomorrow. If I could have any super power, it would be to turn back time. It seems like only yesterday that his daddy and I drove 9 hours to take him to a Barney concert. 🙂

Isn’t he handsome? And what a fine young man he has become. No mom could be prouder.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends!

sharing here:

southern hospitality

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. What fabulous finds!! And what a handsome boy ~ I know mine will be that old before I know it, and it makes me crazy to think how fast time is flying by. Happy Birthday to him!

    June 17, 2011
  2. Kim #

    Great stuff! It’s always fun finding new places to shop in a new town.

    June 18, 2011
  3. Happy Birthday Josh!!!
    Love,
    The Oakley’s
    Love all the pics of the fun finds…so you have textured walls…love and miss those…our walls are flat flat flat…except for the ones that I have textured!

    June 18, 2011
  4. jennifer #

    I have lived in Algonquin (one of the adjoining towns to Barrington) and am so glad you are so close. i’ve ogled at your crafts/finds and pined that you were so far away in Canada. Now that you’re closer, i would be able to actually go where you find these wonderful things (you really have a good eye.i have been here 12 years and have mostly done my antiquing only in a couple of places). Am too close to Algonquin Commons, ha,ha ). You might want to check out woodstock and mchenry as they have a ton of antique stores (if you have not done it yet). and yeah, there’s a HOMEGOODS (yeah!) at Algonquin Commons

    June 18, 2011
  5. What a handsome son, love you place and your new finds…read you everyday and so enjoy your blog..thanks for sharing

    June 18, 2011
  6. So glad to see you back! These are EXCELLENT finds! My favorite is the big mail sorter/laundry bag. It looks like something straight out of an old movie!

    June 18, 2011
  7. Holy smokes that is some great loot. I love it all! I would have bought everything you did hands down.

    June 18, 2011
  8. I want that game wheel, it is the coolest. The patina, texture, not something you see everyday. Perfect.

    June 18, 2011
  9. oh my gosh. so many awesome things. i’m in love with every single thing you brought home!

    June 19, 2011
  10. Pam #

    Awesome finds. I think I could live at the shop. Happy Birthday to your son. I guess Barney doesn’t do any permanent damage then does it.

    June 19, 2011
  11. Thanks for mentioning our shop! We’re so happy you found Karin at Steeplechase as well…we’ve known her for years and she has such great stuff. She puts on a fabulous little French market in South Barrington…you should check it out.
    We love your blog and are so glad to be a part of it! You have some new followers! Come back and visit us!

    July 8, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

