Skip to content
Hannah’s birthday surprise

So last week was Hannah’s 12th birthday. We’ve been planning her birthday surprise for a while now. But first, a little background.

Hannah lives, eat, breathes Twilight. She is an official twi-hard. Team Jacob. Obsessed.

Hannah is the kind of kid that never wants anything. Never asks for anything. Doesn’t “need” anything. She’s very happy and content.

When you ask what she wants for Christmas or birthdays she never can come up with anything.

So we thought, what better than an “experience” rather than “stuff.”

I did buy some “stuff” because I needed it to lead up to the big surprise!

I had random things in the bags like “Eclipse” gum, an umbrella, a twilight tote full of teen beat kind of magazines.

Then some Twilight t-shirts that I ordered…

This one was her fave.

And then a Forks (where the Twilight series was based) dvd.


After she had opened all the gifts, we brought in one last gift…a suitcase.

And inside was a scrapbook-type itinerary that I made highlighting her surprise birthday trip to Forks, Washington (where the Twilight series was based).

I love the look of confusion on her face.

As she read through the itinerary, she was in utter disbelief. It was priceless.

Hannah, my mom and I are having a “girls getaway Twilight va-cay.”

We are flying into Seattle and then driving up the coast to Forks. We are staying in a local hotel in the “Twilight” room.  We are signed up for several Twilight tours which take place in a Twilight tour bus that plays the Twilight soundtrack as you ride from place to place. 🙂

We have reservations at Bella Italia in Port Angeles where Bella and Edward ate. Hannah said she is ordering the mushroom ravioli which is what Bella ordered. We are going to the rain forest (which I’m most excited about).

All Hannah keeps saying is “I’m so excited. I’m so excited.”

I think it will be a priceless memory for us. Seeing her witness firsthand all the things she’s read about will be amazing.

Just like her.

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. ♫♪Happy Birthday to you!♫♪
    ♪♫♪Happy Birthday to you!♪♫♪
    ♫♪Happy Birthday, dear Hannah!♫♪
    ♪♫♪Happy Birthday to you!♪♫♪

    Sung in my best bloggy birthday voice, of course.

    Wow! What a fabulous birthday present! Hope you have the best time ever. It’s sure to be a most memorable birthday. You are the coolest Mom ever. ☺

    June 28, 2011
  2. How sweet and creative! She will never forget what hard work you put into this trip for her! What an amazing mother, as well!

    June 28, 2011
  3. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    Boy, Susan, you have been a busy girl. What a wonderful surprise for Hannah, and Grammy gets to go too. You girls have a wonderful time and try to leave Forks as it was before you all go there. heehee

    June 28, 2011
  4. Marcia #

    I live in Wenatchee, WA, which is in the middle of the state. You guys will LOVE it there. It’s quaint, beautiful, and chock full of antique stores. Port Townsend is an historic town you don’t want to miss also. It’s a little out of the way, but not much. I’m assuming you’ll take the Kingston Ferry across Puget Sound, which is also a beautiful adventure. I love my state! I hope you all enjoy it too!

    June 28, 2011
    • Marcia, thanks for the suggestions! If you have any more, I’m all ears! We’ve never been to the Pacific Northwest so I want to squeeze in as much as possible!

      June 28, 2011
  5. stephanie #

    what a wonderful gift…i love rhe experience and memories will last long past “stuff”…i am also green wirh envy as i am also a twi-hard…team edward…hope hannah and you have a blast..please post pics for us too

    June 28, 2011
  6. A very cool gift!!! She would have loved it where we lived. We just moved from Port Alberni, on Vancouver Island. The crew and actors were filming on the West Coast (Tofino and Ucluelet) and regularly stopped at Tim Horton’s in Port. They were often seen on the Ferry’s as they came from Vancouver (where they filmed most of the movies). Alas, I never saw them =(
    PS I’m team Edward hehe

    Have a fun time!

    June 28, 2011
  7. Anita Carter #

    happy Birthday hannah!!! What a great present Susan!!! I know y’all will have a great trip!!! I know watching her open the suitcase was priceless. I did something similiar for Delaney, we went to the Justin Bieber concert in Memphis last summer!!! I hope y’all have a fabulous time and I can’t wait to see the pictures. I hope you make it to Montgomery soon!!! Take care!! Love and Miss you!!!

    June 28, 2011
    • Hey A. I think we are visiting in Aug. I’ll email when I know the definite dates. 🙂

      June 28, 2011
  8. How cute!!! She will be a fan of mine, just tell her I live one hour from Forks!!!

    June 28, 2011
    • Kathy, do you have any other “must-see” suggestions? We have four days there.

      June 28, 2011
  9. twicklep #

    Happy Belated Birthday Hannah! I wish you a fun and exciting tip with your very special Mom and Grandma. Priceless!!! 🙂

    Patty

    Michigan

    June 28, 2011
  10. It never occured to me to visit the town of Forks for an actual vacation. But I love the sound of it, I’ll have to look it up. I’m a huge Twilight fan.

    June 28, 2011
  11. That is so sweet! Dang, I’m gonna need to start saving now for my daughter’s 12th birthday (she just turned 9)! 😉

    June 28, 2011
  12. Kim B. #

    I think you could win the best mother ever award…seriously, I’m sure there is just such an award!! 🙂

    Sounds like an amazing trip!!

    ps…I went to pick up a piece of furniture from a lady in Oakville the other day, but it’s not anywhere as nice as the things I got from you…Sigh, it’s just not the same without you!!

    June 28, 2011
    • Hey Kim, Miss u! More furniture? You are a hoot! Any news on moving this way? I have our business all picked out! Keep in touch!

      June 28, 2011
  13. I was in Forks before anyone ever heard of Twilight. The rainforest is amazing. The whole area was amazing and that was 20 years ago.

    June 29, 2011
  14. My word, what a lucky girl! That is such a fun, special treat that I know you will all enjoy! Happy Birthday to her, and have fun on your trip!

    July 1, 2011
  15. Hannah #

    Thank you. Yes, she is the most amazing mother a person could ask for. I love you mommy.
    Am I the only person that’s Team Jacob? What’s wrong with the world 😛

    July 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. office space switcheroo | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

