Skip to content
guest cottage

In honor of Independence Day, I thought some photos of the guest cottage might be fitting because I’ve chosen a red, white and blue color scheme for summer.

Have a safe and happy 4th of July and to my Canadian friends…Happy Canada Day!

Sharing here:

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialThe Shabby Nesthttp://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com/

28 Comments Post a comment
  1. Allison #

    Your guest cottage is so charming! Happy 4th to you!

    July 1, 2011
  2. Sharon #

    Sweet guest cottage!…What’s up… with the different handles, on the mirrored white painted chest?!

    July 1, 2011
    • Sharon, it was like that when I bought it and I think it’s cool so I didn’t change it.

      July 2, 2011
  3. Can I come stay in your guest cottage? šŸ˜‰ I love it!

    July 1, 2011
  4. So pretty. Did you just whip it up? You are good girl!

    July 1, 2011
  5. I’ve been wondering what you’ve been working on.

    Simply gorgeous Susan. I’ll send Wills and Kate over after their tour here; it’s fitting for royalty šŸ™‚

    July 1, 2011
  6. Rebecca P #

    What a sweet little guest house! Is that a kitchen behind the two big sliding doors? Everything looks so cute! Can’t wait to start seeing what you’ve done with the main house!

    July 1, 2011
  7. Jamie K #

    Absolutely Gorgeous!!!!! Love it!!

    July 1, 2011
  8. Your guest cottage is adorable, and so beautifully furnished! I would love to be a guest in such a great setting. Happy 4th to you too!

    July 1, 2011
  9. That is amazing!! I want to move in! wow!

    July 1, 2011
  10. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    What a wonderful welcoming spot for your guest. Just beautiful.
    Happy 4th to you and your family.

    July 1, 2011
  11. Hannah #

    Love it good job. I helped lift the heavy stuff šŸ™‚

    July 1, 2011
  12. It’s lovely!
    Thanks, same to you! Enjoy and be safe.
    Take care, VBg

    July 2, 2011
  13. My bags are packed! When can I visit? šŸ˜‰

    It’s beautiful! Love the airy and fresh look you’ve created. Happy 4th! šŸ™‚

    July 2, 2011
  14. that is adorable! how awesome to have a separate guest cottage and how fun to decorate it! you have done a beautiful job- so peaceful and quaint and welcoming!

    July 2, 2011
  15. I was in Joliet on Tuesday….IF I HAD KNOWN THIS GUEST COTTAGE WAS SOOOO CUTE!!! Well, you might have had visitors šŸ˜‰ We drove 669 miles that day…out and back…ugggghhh.
    Hugs from Iowa,
    Michelle at Pine Needle Hill

    July 2, 2011
  16. I love your post and all of your holiday spirit! I’m visiting from Be Different Act Normal! Iā€™m hosting my first ever blog party and its all 4th of July-all Red, White, and Blue! Iā€™d love for you to link up and share with me!
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com/2011/07/4th-of-july-link-party.html

    Hope to see you over at my place soon!
    Kaitlin-The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

    July 3, 2011
  17. I am amazed at all you have accomplished in such a short time. I admit it…. I’m addicted to your blog!
    I have an “Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award” waiting for you on my blog.

    July 3, 2011
    • Michelle, thank you so much for your very nice comments here and on your blog! And thanks for the award! Have a great 4th!

      July 3, 2011
  18. Your guest house looks so cozy and welcoming! The red, white and blue theme is perfect for Summer. Well done. New to your blog, will visit again. šŸ™‚

    July 3, 2011
  19. what a lovely guest cottage, enjoy your celebrations

    July 4, 2011
  20. Katina #

    LI’ve the stacked suitcases. It looks like you painted them. If so, what kind of paint did you use? I have a set I have considered painting turquoise.

    July 4, 2011
    • Katina #

      Love not Li’ve–iPhones have a mind of their own.

      July 4, 2011
    • Hi Katina, on the white one, I used spray paint. On the gray one, I used latex paint and rolled it on. I think it has a much nicer finish. Turquoise would be so cute. Have fun!

      July 4, 2011
  21. WHAT??!! You have a guest cottage? And it is already decorated! You are quick! I wish I had one of those…or maybe just another couple of rooms to decorate šŸ™‚

    July 4, 2011
  22. Thank you so much for linking this up! I love it! So cute! Perfect for my first blog party celebrating the 4th of July!

    I’m hosting my first ever weekly blog party and it starts today! It is called {re}create into something new! So please link up anything that you have reinvented, repurposed, recycled, revamped, reused, reorganized or redone! http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com/2011/07/recreate-into-something-new-blog-party.html

    Thanks again!
    Kaitlin–The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

    July 14, 2011
  23. I just got one of those chests with the mirror above that is identical to yours…came out of a friends cabin that they are selling…I can’t wait to paint it up and have it look as pretty as yours!

    July 18, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

