Skip to content
Kane County Flea Market

This morning my mom & dad and Hannah & I left home bright and early headed for the Kane County Flea Market in St. Charles.

Cash in pocket and driving my husband’s truck, I was ready for some serious treasure hunting. It took us about an hour to get there and we had great (but hot) weather. It was only in the 80’s…I think the last 5+ years living in the north have turned me into a wimp. πŸ™‚

As soon as we got through the gate my dad ditched us looking for old tools. We, on the other hand, were looking for “pretties.” Β It didn’t take us long to find them.

My two absolute favorite vendors were Whimsy/Room 363 (in the Poultry barn) and The Frenchman’s Wife (in the air conditioned Expo building).

Whimsy/Room 363 is a gorgeous space shared by friends, Mark & Traci. I spotted their wonderfully styled booth from the far end of Β the barn. After seeing the photos of their space, you’ll understand why.

This chandy had me at hello. I wish I had a spot for it.

And this iron day bed was ahhhhmazing.

See the locker baskets and the long cubbies? They came home with me. πŸ™‚

I also bought an old chippy industrial cart but I don’t have a photo of it. I’ll share later.

Their selection and prices were fantastic. If you are ever at Kane Co. Flea Market, stop by this wonderful booth. You’ll be glad you did!

If you too far away, check out their blogs (links above).

My second fabulous find of the day was The Frenchman’s Wife‘s booth.

Hitting the pause button…I’ve been on the lookout for a big chippy farmhouse table to put on our screened porch. The black wrought iron set is just not cutting it. It’s not big enough for our family and it doesn’t fit the farmhouse vibe.

Unpause…cue angels singing…today this beauty entered my life. Not technically a farmhouse table…it’s actually a factory table. But it’s got that farmhouse chippy charm and that awesome industrial flair. It’s a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll…5 points if you can name the artists of that song.

Anyhoo…it’s being delivered in the morning. Can not wait.

Lisa (the Frenchman’s wife) has a great eye for design and a wicked sense of humor (check out her blog…link above).

Here are some more photos of her space.

How awesome is this cart? Love.

All of the furniture in this space is heavenly and the carefully chosen accessories are fab.

The fresh, uncluttered approach was so refreshing after a day of flea market booth overload!

If you are ever at Kane Co. Flea Market, be sure to stop by Lisa’s booth. You can thank me later. πŸ™‚

One more view of my suh-weet new table!

I’m looking forward to going back next month. Better start saving my pennies!

Enjoy the holiday tomorrow!

Linking up here:
southern hospitality

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Donny and Marie sang that song! πŸ™‚ and I love the table, great find!

    July 4, 2011
  2. Donny and Marie Osmand. Do I get 5 points?

    July 4, 2011
  3. Gorgeous! Can’t wait to see that table on your porch. How come we don’t have anything that fantabulous down here in SC?! All I have is the Jockey Lot, where the colorful people come down off the mountain to sell interesting items. πŸ˜‰

    PS…I had Donny and Marie dolls that I would set up on a shoebox stage while watching the Variety Show. I can still see those purple & pink flame stitched outfits! LOL

    Happy 4th of July! πŸ™‚

    July 4, 2011
  4. That looks like it was a FUN day!!! Can’t wait to see your new eye candy in your home.

    I bet it was the humidity that wimped you out!

    Hugs from Iowa,
    Michelle at Pine Needle Hill

    July 4, 2011
  5. Stephanie #

    Beautiful finds…..what great shopping you have found….
    Aging myself….Donny and Marie sang that song….
    Hope you have a great 4th celebration….

    July 4, 2011
  6. Donny and Marie. I remember how they would start their show with that song. Loved watching them, plus had a huge crush on Donny.

    Now to get to that gorgeous table. Are you going to leave the table like it is or you going to doctor it up some? Would love to have one myself, but not enough room, now if the hubby would agree to get rid of the pool table (that has not been played in 2 years) I would have the perfect place in the sunroom.

    WIth the kids almost gone, browsing the flea markets is at the top of my list.
    Have a great and blessed 4th of July.

    SHerree

    July 4, 2011
  7. Ok…seriously that table…is to die! I want it so bad…..can’t wait to see it on your porch.

    July 4, 2011
  8. I’ve been to Kane Co. several times! My Mom grew up in Geneva and I have several pieces in my house from there. We even found a vendor years ago who built custom furniture and he made our dining room table, chairs and a console table in our family room. Our tv hutch is from Kane Co….we got it like 15 years ago and I still love it…it’s made out of old barn wood. I also have so many Christmas decorations from vendors there. So glad you had such good luck. Unfortunately, my sisters, Mom and I all think that it’s not as good as it used to be…less vendors and the prices aren’t as good as they used to be. Maybe things are starting to turn around πŸ™‚

    July 5, 2011
  9. Hey girl–I hope that you and your family enjoyed a nice holiday supper on your beautiful new table! It looks so tremendous on that porch–everything was beautiful! Thank you again for your purchase and, most of all, your o-so-kind words about my work at Kane…that was very generous of you!! Thank you, thank you, thank you.
    I will keep my eyes peeled for the additional items that you’re hunting for.
    Best, Lisa. (the frenchman’s wife).

    July 5, 2011
  10. Your already settling in and finding new fun places to go! Reminds of an awesome place we used to go to in Texas called Canton Days…once a month all year round and is a blast! So your new find looks and reminds of those Canton flea market days…I am going to have to come over there and check it out for myself!

    July 5, 2011
  11. We just moved to Illinois in June and I having been dying to go the the Kane County Flea market. It will be the first flea market I’ve ever been to. I am hoping to go in August so maybe I’ll see you there! Love, love, love your new table!! It is fabulous!

    July 18, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. glimpses of the 4th | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

