Skip to content
Vintage Card Catalog

Remember the vintage card catalog I found on kijiji just before we left Toronto?

Well, it’s been sitting in the garage collecting dust patiently waiting until I had time to give it a little facelift.

Yesterday was the day. It’s been a while since I’ve refinished anything and I was itching to get my hands dirty!

Here is the before…

Structurally, it was good to go. Aesthetically, it was rough. I really just wanted to paint it with chalk paint. That was the “easy” way out. So I did what I do when I know the right answer but I need to hear the right answer…I asked my husband. And, just as expected, he said I would probably regret it if I painted it. Dang. That meant I had to sand this bad boy!

So I removed all the pulls from the drawers and lemme tell ya there was 89 years of FUNky behind them. Look how the original color of the wood is so much lighter without the gunky build-up. And the paint splatters weren’t helping either. I numbered the drawers so I could make sure they went back in as easily as they came out! Tip: This is good to do whenever working on a piece with a lot of drawers.

I threw the pulls and screws into a pail of hot soapy water to clean them. They are brass but I didn’t want them “polished.” I wanted to keep the patina, but lose the gunk.

So I removed all the drawers and started sanding. And sanding. And sanding. You know the wish I had to get my hands dirty? It came true. πŸ™‚

Just look at the difference a little sanding makes.

After the sanding, I used the shop vac to get rid of the dust, cobwebs and cooties in the drawers.

I didn’t want to stain the piece, I wanted something to bring out the natural grain and beauty of the wood. So I applied Howard’s Restor a Finish. Look at the difference it makes on the one drawer that’s done.

Once the Restor a Finish sat for about 30 minutes, I applied Howard’s Feed n Wax. It sat for 20 minutes and then I buffed it out. One of the smartest purchases I’ve made is a car buffer. It was around $39 bucks and sure does make buffing furniture a whole lot easier! Wax on…wax off! πŸ™‚

I put the pulls back on and my sweet hubby who just wanted to watch the British Open in peace, moved it into the house for me. Did I mention how sweet he is? πŸ™‚

The perfect spot for this card catalog was in the corner of our family room behind our mack-daddy sectional. I will share the sofa saga with you another day.

And here it is in all it’s refinished glory.

I was so eager to get it into place that I forgot to take an “after” photo of the whole piece! Duh.

Well, you know the drawers you can see? Imagine three more rows jusssstttt like them! πŸ™‚

One more quick before and after.

It is perfect in its new home.

I’ll be posting photos of our completed family room this week so be sure to come back now, ya hear?

xo.

Joining these parties:
Boogieboard CottageTransformation Thursday{Primp}Domestically SpeakingGood Life WednesdaysSomewhat SimpleFurniture Feature Fridays

168 Comments Post a comment
  1. wow! it is stunning!!! i am so glad you didn’t paint it and refinished it- it’s perfect!

    July 19, 2011
  2. What a beautiful piece and you did an amazing job of refinishing it. It looks really rich and warm.

    July 19, 2011
  3. Glenda Harder #

    Luv it! Luv it! Look at all that storage in a small area. What are you going to tuck in all those drawers?

    July 19, 2011
  4. WOW…I might have said paint it also…but you made the right choice! It is beautiful!

    July 19, 2011
  5. Absolutely gorgeous! How many hours of total work went into this piece?

    Love your blog!

    July 19, 2011
    • Hi Patty, thanks so much. I think it probably took about 4 hours start to finish.

      July 19, 2011
  6. A lot of job of refinishing. Absolutely gorgeous!!!

    July 19, 2011
  7. You lucky dog! That is beautiful, great job. I think you made the right decision not to paint it.

    July 19, 2011
  8. That is fabulous!!! Love it!

    July 19, 2011
  9. Anna #

    Wow – I love this! Could I ask which colour of the Restor-A-Finish you used? It looks stunning.

    July 19, 2011
    • Hi Anna, thank you! I used the maple-pine even though the piece is oak. πŸ™‚

      July 19, 2011
  10. Another cool project. I swear, you find THE coolest stuff!

    July 19, 2011
  11. This is gorgeous, I just love it! I’ll be featuring it next Tuesday.
    XO
    Kristin

    July 19, 2011
  12. Oh my goodness! It’s amazing!! I absolutely LOVE it! Great job!

    July 19, 2011
  13. Looks awesome!

    July 19, 2011
  14. ReaderWoman #

    Gotta ask – what are you gonna put IN the drawers? πŸ™‚

    July 19, 2011
    • Ha! RW…Not sure yet, but I do know that I’m gonna hide my cordless phones in there. The kids take them and I can never find a phone when I need it! Same for remotes!

      July 19, 2011
  15. I am in love. Wishing I had one.
    Lisa

    July 19, 2011
  16. Wow! that is just awesome! Beautiful restoration job – I admire your patience.

    July 19, 2011
  17. Mel #

    You dirty rat, you should have left that here for me to savor πŸ™‚

    It looks absolutely amazing and I love that you kept it au naturel. And great idea about hiding the cordless phone and remotes in there. Love it!

    July 19, 2011
  18. Love it! I hope you thanked hubby for his recommendation – great advice.

    July 19, 2011
  19. Wow! This is beautiful! I would LOOOOOVE to get my hands on a piece like this. You should be very proud!

    July 20, 2011
  20. Margaret #

    Soooo gorgeous! I am jealous! I am a Librarian and would love one of those in my home. Wanna sell it now that it’s complete? =-) I do have a question, does it look like you could remove the tracks that are inside the drawers?

    July 20, 2011
  21. Did you have to explain to your kids the original function of this gorgeous piece? πŸ™‚ It’s beautiful! I want it. Truly, I’m totally coveting your stuff. That just doesn’t sound right, does it? LOL Happy Wednesday! So glad to see you! Missed ya.

    July 20, 2011
  22. What a wonderful piece! All your hard work definitely paid off!

    July 20, 2011
  23. LOVE it! I’m jealous! πŸ™‚

    July 20, 2011
  24. Gorgeous!! It was meant to stay in it’s original glory, it’s beautiful!!

    Julie

    July 20, 2011
  25. Love it! It is so pretty! I hope to find one soon as well! Even though I am a HUGE Annie Sloan Chalk Paint fan and stockist, I wouldn’t have painted it either. Great advice from your hubby!

    http://www.sweetvintagedecor.blogspot.com

    July 20, 2011
  26. I am so glad that you did not paint this beautiful piece. I’ve never seen one in a library painted and that’s the look I would want to keep! You did a super job on the refinish, it looks wonderful! A car buffer……..what a great idea! Thanks!!
    Did you get the refinishing product in Canada?? Thanks so much for sharing.
    Take care, VBg

    July 20, 2011
  27. I love it. I have been wanting a piece like that forever. I am jealous. great job

    July 20, 2011
  28. Gorgeous! I love the way you have it accessorized, too!

    July 20, 2011
  29. Wow, this is absolutely beautiful! I would love to get my hands on one of those, it’s such a great piece.

    July 20, 2011
  30. Soo beautiful! I love that you kept the wood… What a gorgeous piece!

    July 20, 2011
  31. Benita Fox #

    I am jealous. I love those old card catalogues. I want one so badly. It is a sentimental thing for me as I loved to read as a child and spent lots of time at the library. Great job!

    Benita

    July 21, 2011
  32. I’m seriously jealous of that beautiful piece! You really made it shine again!

    July 21, 2011
  33. Great job, it looks wonderful what you did to it, much better than just painting it! Your hard work paid off. Thanks for adding your link to Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays.

    July 21, 2011
  34. Beautiful!

    July 21, 2011
  35. As a lover of books and words (given my profession as a writer and countless hours of memories at the library), I say: THANK YOU!

    July 21, 2011
  36. So glad you kept it’s beautiful wood tone! So many people “refinish” by slathering the paint on!

    July 21, 2011
  37. How lovely! I would love to find one of those!
    Kathy

    July 21, 2011
  38. This is a storage treasure. Love the wood and the lovely way you have nestled it into a corner. Good for you in seeing its potential.

    July 21, 2011
  39. Oh My GOSH!!! GORGEOUS!!!! I LOVE THIS! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed, too πŸ™‚

    July 21, 2011
  40. I found just nine drawers at a garage sale and an old typesetting printers holder. My handy husband turned the whole thing into an end table with glass top and we put little items from our travels into the typesetting spaces and keep remotes and stuff in the old library drawers. Yours is just beautiful.

    July 21, 2011
  41. fireandair #

    Ooooooh, I’m dying of covetousness here — that thing is FANTASTIC. I’m so glad you didn’t paint it. When you said you were thinking of painting it, I actually scrolled down to make sure you didn’t before I kept reading. πŸ™‚

    There is nothing but nothing to beat the beauty of wood grain. Painting wood should be a capital crime.

    July 21, 2011
  42. Absolutely lovely and wonderful!! Just goes to show what you can do with a little love and two hands…reminds me of one of my favorite songs called “Hammer and a Nail” by the Indigo Girls πŸ™‚ Take a look at the lyrics and if you haven’t listened to the song before I highly recommend it!!

    July 21, 2011
  43. I love refinishing old furniture. OK, I hate it. But I love the results. I like that you didn’t paint it or use too much shellac. It’s a great piece. So much character. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

    July 21, 2011
  44. Eva McCane #

    it looks fantastic! great job. i’m jealous.
    http://www.icouldntmakethisshitup.wordpress.com

    July 21, 2011
  45. What a beautiful piece of furniture! You gave this treasure a whole new life.

    July 21, 2011
  46. The card catalog is great! Your farmhouse is even better πŸ™‚ Absolutely beautiful.

    July 21, 2011
  47. I have looked for one of these for so long! Yours looks perfect, well done!

    July 21, 2011
  48. Oh oh OH this book nerd is grinning like an idiot right now! This is just awesome. Love the idea, love the execution, love the final product! Well done and thanks for the inspiration.

    July 21, 2011
  49. Gorgeous! I love this, I will be keeping my eyes open for something like this. You did a really beautiful restoration job.

    July 21, 2011
  50. Marissa Kings #

    That looks amazing now! I definitely want an antique card catalog for my house one day. What are going to store in it?

    July 21, 2011
  51. That is gorgeous!!

    July 21, 2011
  52. Amazing job! Although I love the new technology in libraries, sometimes I miss the old card catalogs! What a beautiful recycling job! πŸ˜€

    July 21, 2011
  53. Modern Funk #

    What a cool project! Beautiful blog!

    July 21, 2011
  54. Love it! It fits perfectly.

    July 21, 2011
  55. Gorgeous! Beautifully done!

    July 21, 2011
  56. Susan #

    I want one for all those neat drawers. Great job! susan

    July 21, 2011
  57. What a beautiful piece and terrific refinish job you did. Makes me want to get my hands dirty with a new project. Thanks for sharing.

    July 21, 2011
  58. alteredforhim #

    Oh wow, this is gorgeous!

    July 21, 2011
  59. costlyopportunities #

    This is great! I love the idea of reusing objects thought to be unusable.

    The school where I graduated from never took out their old card catalogs. They pretty much left them as a background, and set up computers on shelves built into the units to be used as electronic card catalogs. I just love the juxtaposition of the old and new.

    July 21, 2011
  60. sillykhan #

    Beautful

    July 21, 2011
  61. sillykhan #

    Beautiful

    July 21, 2011
  62. That looks amazing once done, I think I will have to keep my eye out for something like that, goes to show a little hard work makes something look so much more different.

    July 21, 2011
  63. mkohse #

    What a treasure! Nicely refinished too! Have always loved those card files. Would love to have one myself, being a designer I always have such a need for good storage. Great piece for storing supplies, crafts, etc, etc. Enjoy!

    July 21, 2011
  64. Wow, you did a great job, and it sounds like it was a lot of hard work but it certainly paid off! The originial wood for it is just gorgeous and you brought it out really well with all of your hard work too.

    July 21, 2011
  65. I love that you kept it as close to its natural state as possible. Nice job!

    July 21, 2011
  66. gorgeous! I’ve wanted a card catalog for a while but have no where to put one or refinish one 😦 yours is lovely though!

    July 21, 2011
  67. I love your card catalog. What a good choice to sand and stain it with pine stain rather than oak. You have a great eye, and I know you had lots of fun with this project. Thanks for sharing.

    Deborah.

    July 21, 2011
  68. this is beautiful! well done.

    July 21, 2011
  69. I work in a library and this is just so cool…congrats on being FP too.

    July 21, 2011
  70. Wow! Great job – it looks wonderful. I will have to keep my eyes open for one of these. Where ever did you find yours?

    July 21, 2011
  71. JoΓ£o de Mancelos #

    A great job! Congratulations! πŸ™‚

    July 21, 2011
  72. allenavw #

    How did you find this? What did you search? I’ve absolutely fallen in love with this piece and I am dying to find one and restore it the way you have yours. Any advice on search terms or keywords you used would be fantastic. This is a gorgeous restoration you’ve done and may I just say I’m very jealous of it.

    July 21, 2011
    • Hi there. Thanks so much. I found it on kijiji a site similar to Craigslist. I searched for a year before I found one. I just entered card catalog under antiques and under furniture on a regular basis until I found it. Hope this helps. Happy Hunting!

      July 21, 2011
  73. I like this card catalog. But what will you use it for? Here, in Russia, I see such catalogs only in public libraries.

    July 21, 2011
  74. This is absolutely awesome–what a project! It came out wonderfully. I only wish that a) I could find something like that and b) I actually had some space to put it in. Congrats on being FP’d, I love your site πŸ™‚

    July 21, 2011
  75. wow! You did a nice job on bringing it back to life!

    July 21, 2011
  76. Magnolia #

    Absolutely gorgeous! I’ve been wanting an old card catalogue for awhile now. I only hope I can find one and refinish it to be as beautiful as yours!

    July 21, 2011
  77. I love this! I’ve been lookin for a card catalog for over a year, it looks like you got VERY lucky!

    July 21, 2011
  78. It is beautiful!!!! Great Job.

    July 21, 2011
  79. Corn-eel-ious #

    Cute cabinet.

    July 21, 2011
  80. Very interesting project! It does look awesome!

    I laughed out loud when reading about you knowing the right answer, but…:-)

    July 21, 2011
  81. Absolutely gorgeous. I wished my girlfriend would clean up as good as your card catalogue did.
    Just sayin’

    Congratulations on being Freshly Restored, Ooops I mean Freshly Pressed.

    Have a great day!

    Michael

    July 21, 2011
  82. This is absolutely amazing, and I REALLY want one now. Gorgeous. Love your blog!

    July 21, 2011
  83. Jen #

    I’m not ashamed to say that I envy you for this find! I want an old cc so badly! But I can’t find one that is even remotely in my budget! I love, love, love what you did with it and I’m going to feature it tomorrow on my site! Stop by and grab a button if you’d like.
    Jen

    July 21, 2011
  84. wow that is beautiful.

    I recently started a salon and that furniture would be great for my for storing different items and hair feathers that I got from http://www.FeatherAccents.com

    Awesome work.

    July 21, 2011
  85. gorgeous!! a true vintage beauty – looks wonderful in your lovely home πŸ™‚

    July 21, 2011
  86. Fascinating that in such a very short time we went from little paper cards to electrons for the storage of information about books.

    Even the books are disappearing with the advent of that electron again.

    July 21, 2011
  87. What a beautiful piece! You’ve inspired me to restore some old furniture we have in the house. Finally bought a sander, so… I’ll add it to the “to do” list!

    July 21, 2011
  88. I’m a little green with envy! That is beautiful and great job as well. I found you via Miss Mustard Seed. Pop on over for a visit if you get time. http://thededicatedhouse.blogspot.com

    July 21, 2011
  89. graymatterinfluence #

    Beautiful work. I have got to get me one of those!

    July 21, 2011
  90. Beautiful house, and you have done a great DIY work!!

    July 21, 2011
  91. I am utterly, completely, unabashedly jealous. It’s gorgeous. I love that you chose to restore the wood rather than paint it (although I love painted pieces, too). I WANT A CARD CATALOG! Do you think if I ask Santa for Christmas??

    July 21, 2011
  92. I am in awe! Would love to find one of those! And that dog in the header is awesome. Love your blog. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed today.

    July 21, 2011
  93. I love that card catalog and wish I could find one. I’m so envious. Looks great.

    Missy at http://lookiewhatidid.blogspot.com

    July 21, 2011
  94. What a beautiful piece!

    July 21, 2011
  95. I can’t understand why people buy Ikea rubbish which usually costs more than buying something Delicious from a second hand shop and giving a bit of spit and polish. It something in oak will last forever whereas Ikea stuff usually doesn’t survive the first move.

    July 21, 2011
  96. I love it! I’ve been wanting a card catalog forever, I’m totally jealous πŸ˜‰

    July 21, 2011
  97. Really beautiful!

    July 22, 2011
  98. Nice doggy there posing in front of the house πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2011
  99. I’ve always wanted to find an affordable card catalog! I love that you went with the stained look:)

    July 22, 2011
  100. looks great!

    July 22, 2011
  101. This is really awesome! I want one for my bedroom now!

    July 22, 2011
  102. Katie #

    Wow. Gorgeous and so cool. This is my dream piece of furniture. Wonderful work and thanks for sharing the names of the products you used, too!

    July 22, 2011
  103. bonkasaurus #

    the transformation is stunning! i love fixer uppers, they make for the best projects.
    It’s timeless. Congrats on being FP btw

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

    July 22, 2011
  104. That’s great! I love the before and after pics, especially when you put on the Howard’s Restor a Finish on one drawer. Nice tip about putting numbers on the drawers, too. I guess it really helps to get things organized.

    July 22, 2011
  105. i really love what you did with it! i want one for myself πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2011
  106. Now that is absolutely gorgeous! As a long term library employee, I’m soo happy to see old catalogs being loved dearly. What storage space!

    July 22, 2011
  107. One Hundred & 80 Days #

    Beautiful. I have been a big fan of the library since I was little. I would get dropped off on a hot summers day and would loose myself in the stacks.

    An antique card catalog would be such an amazing find.

    Thanks for sharing!

    July 22, 2011
  108. This is one of my favorite pieces ever. I’ve been wanting a card catalog too. Yours is just beautiful.

    July 22, 2011
  109. Beautiful restoration… I totally admire the whole refurbishing business. Any tips on how to start?
    P.S. Your dog is a cutie!

    July 22, 2011
  110. Hi! I’m a fan of DIY work and I think you did a great job with this piece. I love it! I try to be more organized with my stuff (but often fail). Would love to have one myself, I always have such a need for good storage. Great piece for storing small things, crafts, and other stuff. I am sure I will visit your blog again and I’ll add it to my favorite blog list πŸ™‚ Have a nice day!

    July 22, 2011
  111. That is a gorgeous piece! Thanks for sharing! I’m a new follower πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2011
  112. Beautiful work! I too am glad you didn’t paint this piece. I have a dresser with mirror that I have in my garage that needs to be refinished. I’m going to check out that product you used. Thank you!

    Also, just painted my bedroom furniture it was white, painted it black. It is amazing what paint can do for furniture. However, I think your choice was right for your piece. Thanks for sharing your project.

    July 22, 2011
  113. Wow! what a wonderful piece!! good choice of finish! nice break from the “Shabby Chic” everyting- painted- white -look thats so the rage!!
    I have spent most of my life watching and then helping my parents refinish furniture and houses! They HATE painted wood!
    Great idea! the car buffer!!

    July 22, 2011
  114. Wow this is BEAUTIFUL! I could use it to store my vintage photographs! Now I need to find one πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2011
  115. I love the old suitcase on the top!

    Congrats on being pressed.

    July 22, 2011
  116. This is amazing! I am so impressed! Thanks so much for linking up with {re}create into something new! How cute!

    Kaitlin–The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

    July 22, 2011
  117. shabbylisaw #

    Absolutely gorgeous! Green with envy here πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2011
  118. Incredible! Makes me look at my hands full of thumbs with envy…

    July 22, 2011
  119. Great choise not to paint it! It looks wonderful in the corner. All that hard work paid off!

    July 22, 2011
  120. I shared your post on my Top 10 Pretty Things πŸ™‚

    http://www.stoneycreekshops.com/2011/07/top-10-pretty-things.html

    July 23, 2011
  121. THIS IS BEAUTIFUL! Great job! Now I want an antique card catalog. :). So inspiring- glad you shared!

    July 23, 2011
  122. I am SO impressed with this! Wow,wow. I want one of these really bad. πŸ™‚ You did an outstanding job. It is perfectly beautiful.

    July 23, 2011
  123. Badpanda22 #

    Oh I like this very much, what a lovely piece of old furniture…i have done a little furniture restoration myself, but you have done a fantastic job! I would love to own that object πŸ™‚

    July 23, 2011
  124. Wow! This is incredible! I have found so many vintage furniture that r in bad condition like this one. I wish i know how to refinish them the way you did! Great work!

    July 24, 2011
  125. You did a great job with this catalog, it looks great!

    July 24, 2011
  126. Tribe of Mannequins Creator #

    You have a gorgeous, gorgeous home.

    July 25, 2011
  127. Sue #

    I am in absolute card catalog lust!!! WOW, I so would have scooped that piece up too, great job!! Sue

    July 26, 2011
  128. Sue #

    PS, I love the way you accessorized it too, just perfect!! Sue

    July 26, 2011
  129. I have one in my craft room and want to paint it white… it would “match” the decor in there.. but will I regret it?? HELP

    July 26, 2011
  130. great job. I love it!

    July 27, 2011
  131. Excellent results! I’ve always used Briwax…will have to give Howard’s Feed n Wax a try. Thanks

    July 28, 2011
  132. so stinkin’ gorgeous!!

    July 28, 2011
  133. Deidre Miles #

    Beautiful!

    July 28, 2011
  134. what an unusual piece and I love the way it turned out. i bought some of the howard’s restore=a=finish last week to use on several pieces, even the hubby noticed how good it did!

    Judy

    July 28, 2011
  135. This is so awesome!
    I would die for a piece like this!
    If you ever want to sell…. please think of me.
    πŸ™‚

    Your newest follower,
    Alison

    July 28, 2011
  136. Love it! My husband is looking for a vintage card catalog just like this one. We built one recently but it’s not the same as a vintage

    July 28, 2011
    • Lauren, don’t give up…it took me a year but I finally lucked up on it! Search craigslist often!

      July 28, 2011
  137. Wow! Your work on the catalog is outstanding. I’m sooo glad you didn’t paint it either. My brother just got one from a local school…..it was in wonderful condition with great patina….he didn’t have to do any work on it at all. He just had to dust it and move it in. That was great for him because he just didn’t have time to do anything else to it.
    Again, a beautiful job!

    July 28, 2011
  138. i absolutely love how this turned out!!! you did a fantastic job!! I’ve been looking for a card catalogue for forever, it seems… can you just bring me yours? πŸ™‚

    July 29, 2011
  139. It is gorgeous! I’m so glad you opted for not painting it. You DO NOT find wood like that anymore. Seriously. I”m in love with this piece. That is truly the prettiest card catalog I’ve ever seen, says the librarian assistant of 5 years. πŸ˜‰ It’s a true treasure and you did a beautiful job of bringing it back to life. I can hear it singing now…yep, that’s a happy card catalog. πŸ™‚

    July 29, 2011
  140. All I can say is WOW! I used to be all about painting, but anymore I loving the warm tones of wood! Excellent job!
    tot

    July 29, 2011
  141. Andrea @ Big Creek Cottage #

    so beautiful……I am a bit jealous….have always wanted one of these old wood card catalogs but havent found one yet…..so I will enjoy this one through you….your hard work really paid off this is just beautful…….curious……are you storing anything in all those fabulous little drawers…..( I often wondered if I found one what would I use it for?)

    July 29, 2011
  142. I am so, so, so, so jealous! I would love to have a card catalog and this one is beautiful!! Great job on refinishing it, I love that you kept the natural wood, it would have been a total shame to paint over that. Love it!!

    July 29, 2011
  143. that is amazing! I have to watch for one of those too! Tell us what you will keep in the drawers!

    July 29, 2011
  144. Wow! I’m inspired. I wanted a card catalog too but didn’t really search for one. In June i stumbled upon a one at an estate sale and snapped it up. Mine looks like it held those old IBM cards or other types of inventory cards, not library cards. It came out of an old brewery in Stockton. I have it in the house but haven’t done anything with the finish. Maybe now…

    July 29, 2011
  145. Absolutely Beautiful! Your hard work REALLY paid off!

    July 29, 2011
  146. so gorgeous – I would so love to stumble upon one of those…must keep looking!
    great job – enjoy!

    July 29, 2011
  147. Really a lot of love and hard work went into this piece…and it shows! What a great find and a terrific finish!!

    July 29, 2011
  148. Katie B. #

    wow! this is one of the coolest pieces i’ve seen on any blog! great job!

    July 29, 2011
  149. paige #

    perfectly done! my hubby even gave 2 thumbs up… he nevers does that !! great tips on howards stuff and car buffer – they’re on my wish list now, along with the always present card catalog :-)) 5 stars, from both of us = 10 :-))

    July 30, 2011
  150. Fantastic job! It looks amazing in your home, love Linda x

    August 1, 2011
  151. This is very beautiful!! It looks like a lot of work, but the end result is stunning!!
    -Linda

    August 4, 2011
  152. Beautiful! I love it. Looks perfect against the sage/biscuity wall. Love your style!

    August 30, 2011
  153. I am completely in love with this piece. I have one, different configuration, but exact style. Do you know anything about the history of this piece? It could be a Canadian piece. Ha!! I just went back and re-read the post. It IS Canadian, that is why it looks so much like mine(from the early 1920’s). Did you find any manufacturer labels on it? I know a little bit about the manufacture history of this piece.

    October 6, 2011
  154. So glad you didn’t paint it. It’s absolutely gorgeous!

    November 4, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. family room | Maple & Magnolia
  2. yin and yang | Maple & Magnolia
  3. watchmaker’s cabinet | Maple & Magnolia
  4. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia
  5. card catalogs & cabinets, oh my! | Maple & Magnolia
  6. Feature You Friday Best of 2011 | | Scissors & Spatulas {and everything in between}Scissors & Spatulas {and everything in between}

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

