Skip to content
sofa saga

In almost twenty years of marriage we have had probably a dozen sofas.

With one exception, they all had something in common. They were highly uncomfortable.

The only exception was our “Sam’s Club” leather sofa. That thing was mucho comfy.

We brought it here to go into the guest cottage.ย But when the movers delivered it, they couldn’t get it through the door. So our super, comfy sofa now lives at one of our mover’s homes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Before the delivery day, I had purchased the Ektorp sofa, loveseat and chairs from IKEA for the family room of our house. I loved the way they looked. So light, and bright and airy.

Now,ย I apologize in advance if any of you have the Ektorp and love it. It is such a great sofa for the money. But comfort is not in this sofa’s vocab. The spring-mark bruises on my family’s butt-cheeks agree. ๐Ÿ™‚

So it was back to the drawing board…the Ektorp sofa went into the master bedroom and I love it there. The loveseat and chairs went into the cottage and they are perfect there.

But dadgummit (sorry, my “bama slang” occasionally slips out)…we have had the last of uncomfortable family room sofas. No more.

So we did the most brilliant thing EVER. We went sofa shopping and let the kids pick.

And we ended up with this. A gi-NOR-mous behemoth of a leather sectional with three recliners that will each fit two people in them.

Every bone in my decorator body said no. But my brain and my butt-cheeks said otherwise. ๐Ÿ™‚

If lovin’ this sectional is wrong, I don’t wanna be right.

Looks like I’m not the only one?

My hubby said that it’s like sitting in a tub of butter. No lie. It is the most comfy sofa ever.

The only problem with it is that the salesperson didn’t warn me about the magic string connecting the recliner and my eyelids. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Once I recline, I’m a goner!

It’s perfect for snuggling up together and watching our favorite showย Swamp Peopleย on the History Channel.

Have you seen it? Who is your favorite person? Mine is Troy. I just love him. “Choot it, Elizabeth!”

So there is a happy ending to the sofa saga. And they all lived happily ever after.

The end.

Come back tomorrow for the tour of our finally finished family room. Say that three times fast!

xo

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. and i thought i was the only one who appreciated swamp people. how can you not love a show where the father shoots his kid on a regular basis while gator hunting and the momma stitched the kid up righ there in the living room? i mean, does it get more real than that?

    i think for a behmoth, your new comfy cozy looks rather stately. ๐Ÿ™‚ sweet dreams

    July 20, 2011
  2. That’s so funny about Swamp People, because everybody in our house suddenly gets a deep Louisiana accent after watching that show! Lol! “Choot em ‘Lizabeth!” is my favorite line!

    The sofa looks great! It doesn’t matter anyway, because nothing is more important than comfort in the family room. You can sacrifice comfort in other places, but not there. Also, if you wake up one morning and the library card catalog is gone, that means my love for it has caused me to become a criminal and drive across country to steal it right out of your house! I have been searching for a piece just like that for years! If you ever decide you don’t need it anymore, I will drive there as fast as I can to get it!

    July 20, 2011
  3. stephanie #

    Great idea to let the kids pick..seems they did a good job
    We love SWAMP PEOPLE too.. Love Troy & Liz…DH likes Trapper Joe..

    July 20, 2011
  4. I can’t believe you aren’t telling us where to get that comfy son-of-a.gun!

    Comfort is my first priority when buying ANYthing. If it isn’t comfortable, it isn’t coming home with me.

    July 20, 2011
  5. OMG! I love Troy too! LOL I love that he wears his lucky shirt every time he goes out! I love the sofa…comfort is everything!

    July 20, 2011
  6. Barb V. #

    where did you get that sofa? We are in the market for a new one and it looks so comfy!

    July 20, 2011
  7. I just bought the Ektorp for my sunroom. I bought only the loveseat, and it is sweet and bright and lovely, and not the most comfy thing ever. I totally agree with you on that one. For our family room, I splurged on a Restoration Hardware English Roll Arm….one problem. It will take 10 wks to deliver, so in the meantime, we’re parking it on the Ektorp loveseat =) Looking forward to seeing your room reveal.

    July 20, 2011
  8. Love the sectional…..I too fight it because I love to move my furniture often. This has to be the most fab one I have ever seen though. Please do tell the manufacturer and model….so the drooling can stop. Thanks

    July 20, 2011
  9. Beth #

    I love your blog and love it when you throw in your Alabama roots. I’m in Birmingham, born, raised, and lived in Alabama my whole life. I want to know as well whereyou bought the sectional. Never thought I’d have a a monster big screen tv in my great room; but, it’s amazing what you do for your grandkids…. now all I need is the comfy seating to go along with it.

    July 20, 2011
  10. ahhhh! i’m so excited for you. and a wee bit jelly LOVE IT! LOVE IT ALL! Your blog is like an escape for me…so much beauty!

    July 20, 2011
  11. For those who asked, here is the link to the sectional: http://www.shopthegreatescape.com/products/product_info/2164_premium-kherington-sectional

    July 20, 2011
  12. lol. Your sense of humor cracks me up. ๐Ÿ™‚ nd i love the coffee table! Where did you get it?

    July 20, 2011
  13. the frenchman's wife #

    hey girl—loooooove that great big sectional…have a great big one myself…perfect to drape your body over at the end of a long day of flea-ing.
    thanks for your comment. two of the three dress forms that you saw at kane have since sold, but i do have one half bod covered with black stocking. there is a discreet # stenciled in white on the stocking. this would be best placed dresser-top for jewelry display, etc. i may also have a 2/3 or so bod covered in the traditional wheat-colored linen material. let me know if either fit your needs. chandies i do not often carry, but i will keep my eyes open–what type of look are you needing in it?
    hope that you are doing well—in envy over that catalogue cabinet that you restored–beautiful!!! best, lisa (the frenchman’s wife)

    July 20, 2011
  14. Lookin great! Glad you were able to re-arrange your other couches into other spaces!

    Oh Swap People, oh how I love thee. I keep teasing my husband a pair of Bruce’s overalls are going to be one of his birthday presents!

    July 23, 2011
  15. Hi again!
    Just wondering how I can follow you.
    Not seeing a Follow link!

    Please let me know.
    Thanks so much.
    Alison

    July 28, 2011
    • Hi Alison, Click the orange icon next to the facebook and twitter icons. ๐Ÿ™‚

      July 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. office space switcheroo | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

