Skip to content
family room

I’ve been taking my time assembling our family room since we moved in two months ago. It’s pretty much finished with the exception of drapes which I ordered from Restoration Hardware, but they won’t be in until August.

My goal for the room was to create a neutral and comfortable space for our family, while staying true to the farmhouse vibe.

You saw our mack daddy sofa already. Like a big ol’ slice of heaven. The coffee table and end table are from World Market. I wanted the Restoration version but wasn’t willing to spend Jake’s first semester of college tuition on it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Theย mirrorย was found at HomeSense just before we moved. The pillows are from RH and PB.

Card catalog. I like the way it fills up the empty corner behind the sectional and kind of anchors this half of the room.

I picked these antique fishing floats up at an antiques store in Forks, Washington. Hannah loaded up on Twilight stuff but I had other kinds of souvenirs in mind!

The vintage game wheel fromย Steeplechase Antiques, the antique wash basin stand I got in Toronto before we moved, and various vintage suitcases I’ve picked up here and there.

This vintage shipping basket that I found at Tattered Tiques makes a great place to store all of the throw pillows when we are on the sofa.

View from the sofa. My command central. ๐Ÿ™‚ Doesn’t every mom need one?

The antique European Pine cabinet (another Steeplechase find) was an early birthday gift from my hubby. It makes my heart sing. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s hard to tell in the photo but it’s massive…7 feet wide by 7 1/2 feet tall.

Built-ins. I’m totally not happy with the styling of these. I need to take about 10 things away and it would look better. Better yet, I really need Layla to do a “pick my presto” on it.

So that’s it…the grand tour of our family room.

Thanks for stopping by!
Linking up here:

The Shabby Nest{Primp}

 

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    I can totally picture your family all nestled in on that luscious sofa. I would not have associated a leather sofa with a country farmhouse, but it totally works in your space. Proving once again, that you have great taste. Are the coffee table and end table new? I love them.

    July 21, 2011
  2. I think you did a great job styling your bookshelves FYI! The room seems pretty long and narrow and you’ve done a nice job arranging what looks like an awkward space. The card catalog looks great, and I think your husband was right about not painting it. Looks like a room that will be comfortable and function well for your family. Thanks for sharing.

    July 21, 2011
  3. I too love your pine cabinet! Your entire room looks stylish, yet family friendly. Great job!

    July 21, 2011
  4. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    All I can say is that the new sofa must be really, really comfy because I don’t see your hubby’s old worn leather recliner anywhere. Did he actually get rid of it, or is it hiding our somewhere? Love the clock above your desk and the card catalog looks perfect. I’m sure you agree it was worth all the hard work. Easy for me to say, huh? Great arrangement, the room looks great.

    July 21, 2011
    • Hi Kathleen! Thanks. Jim’s leather chair is in his office. Hope you guys are doing well! Take care.

      July 21, 2011
  5. I adore your beautiful family room! It was a European farmhouse look to it that I just adore! It’s great inspiration for me as I try to pull off this look in my own home. ๐Ÿ™‚

    July 21, 2011
  6. What a warm, handsome room you have created! It’s wonderful and I could see myself very comfortable there. Thanks for sharing……will be looking for a view of the curtains….
    Take care, VBg

    July 22, 2011
  7. Wonderful interior with some amazing pieces of furniture, complete my style! Nice post and blog!

    July 24, 2011
  8. I fell in love with your card catalog at first sight. You did a brilliant job, it looks stunning.

    Hugs, Tina

    July 29, 2011
  9. Oh I miss the old library card catalogs! What a neat decorating idea! Thanks for linking up to Roomspiration today ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 14, 2011
  10. I just love your style! OF COURSE your living room would be this gorgeous. I love that antique washbasin and the card catalog!

    Thanks for linking up to the roomspiration party today!

    September 14, 2011
  11. MJ #

    What a beautiful, cozy room!

    **visiting from the roomspiration party! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 18, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

