Skip to content
estate sales dot net and my newest find

Do you know about this website?

If not, you should totally check it out. Get on the e-mail list and you will get a list of all the estate sales in your area each week.

Here’s  just a snippet of what the list looks like.

The best part??? See that little link that says click for pictures? Invaluable. That is how you determine if it’s worth your time or if it’s crappola. Also, if there is something specific that you are looking for (like, say…..a vintage dress form for example) you can scan for it.

Do ya see it? Bottom row…second photo???

No? Here’s a closer look.

Isn’t she perfection?

Funny story…I drove to this estate sale yesterday (40 minutes each way) specifically for this dressform. Well, I called the day before because there was a discrepancy on the start time of the sale. While talking to the guy, I asked how much the dressform was going to be. He said, “We haven’t priced the things in the basement yet.” Bingo…I  knew it was in the basement.

Well, if you’ve ever experienced an estate sale before you know that it’s a mad dash when they open the door to the home. If you are after a particular piece, it’s very helpful to know where it is.

Back to the sale, there were 17 of us right before it opened. I was number 15. Because of the poor turnout (it was pouring rain) they let us all in at the same time. The guy announced that the “nicer” stuff was upstairs and the “hodgepodge” was in the basement. So when they opened the door 16 people rushed upstairs. I made a beeline to the basement and straight to the dressform. I grabbed her like a long lost friend and headed for the checkout. At that time, the other 16 people were heading down the stairs because the “nicer” stuff wasn’t all that nice. This guy that had number 1 or 2 looked at me and said, “How much was it?” He was ticked. Clearly he was there for the dressform too. He also wanted to know what number I had. WT heck? He stormed out mad as a hornet. I would have felt bad for him if he hadn’t been such a butt head. 🙂

So Elsie (that is what I’ve named her) 😉  is now in my newly made over dressing room. It’s almost finished. The last item I’m on the hunt for is a vintage chandelier. Once I find it and have it hung, I will share the room with ya!

Here’s a little sneaky peek of the before…

I ripped out the lurvely champagne carpet to expose some awesome hardwood flooring. I also painted the walls, doors and trim. It looks so light and bright now…Josh (my 13 year old) came in after I painted and said, “It looks like heaven.” Mission accomplished.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend.  xo.

Linking up here:
southern hospitality

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good for you! I’d say it was meant to be yours.

    I’ve been getting the EstateSales.net emails for a couple of years now and it has been a great resource for finding ‘stuff’. The pictures really help and over time I have found that you get to know the people who run the sales at different companies and they point you in the right direction at the sales.

    July 23, 2011
  2. Really nice dress form. Great strategy on your part too. Can’t wait to see the new room.

    July 23, 2011
  3. Score! She is pretty! So how much was she really??

    July 23, 2011
  4. Kim @ A Brush of Whimsy #

    Thanks for the tip…awesome dress form, too!

    July 23, 2011
  5. Margaret #

    No, I did not know about this site. It looks rather dangerous…=-) The first thing I searched for is a card catalog…to no avail. =-( Thanks for sharing!

    July 23, 2011
  6. Pam #

    Yeah for you! I find that estate sale customers are a little grumpy sometimes (not me of course). I had not known about that site, so thank for the heads up. Have fun with Elsie.

    July 24, 2011
  7. Ido #

    Hi Susan,
    Thank you for the great tip. I checked the Estate sales in Utah, of course there is none listed booo! Love the dress form!
    XXX Ido

    July 25, 2011
  8. LOVE Elsie. Mine is Matilda, Tillie for short. 🙂 Thanks for the link to the estate sales. I’m off to check out if there are any sales in my area. Happy Tuesday! 🙂

    July 26, 2011
  9. Thank you for the link to the estate sale website. They are my favorite weekend hunt. Last weekend my 11 year old daughter (who wants to be a writer) came home with a manual typewriter (from the 50’s) and a 1940 Webster’s Dictionary…priceless.

    July 29, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

