Skip to content
sentimental art

I’ve said it before but I think art ought to mean something or speak to you in some way.

When I was working on my dressing room makeover, I needed some small artwork…something vintage and out of the ordinary. Something personal and sentimental to me.

I started with a couple of vintage frames. I popped out the artwork and glass and painted them with chalk paint.

Then I covered the cardboard backing with a few paper towels. Why? I didn’t have any batting and I wanted to add a little fluff before I added fabric. I’m a big proponent of using what you have and making due. And not running to the store for one item!

Then I covered both cardboard pieces with tan osnaburg fabric (looks like linen) that I found at JoAnn’s for $5.99/yd. less 40%! I first heard about osnaburg from Jami at Freckled Laundry who is basically the queen of linens!

Once the chalk paint dried, I sanded the edges and detailing with a fine grit sanding sponge. In my opinion, the best part about chalk paint is how beautifully it distresses!

Next came the “artwork.” I had a crystal brooch of my grandmother’s that I love and another brooch that I picked up at an estate sale last week.

I pinned them onto the center the paper towel/osnaburg covered cardboard piece.

Then I popped them back into the frames and hung them on my dressing room wall.

This one is my grandmother’s brooch. Just costume jewelry, but it’s a priceless gem to me. Every time I see it, I think of her.

I love how this custom “artwork” adds vintage glam and sentimentality at the same time.

I can’t wait to show you my dressing room makeover! It is hands-down my favorite project ever!

Linking up here:

freckled laundryAnything Related{Primp}a beach cottageDomestically SpeakingChic on a Shoestring Decorating

38 Comments Post a comment
  1. Such a creative idea!

    July 26, 2011
  2. Those are gorgeous & so fun!! Love that it has special meaning as well 😉

    July 26, 2011
  3. Mel #

    Loveliness

    You have a dressing room? wow.

    July 26, 2011
    • Hey Mel. That’s the beauty of a 100+ year old house. Every bedroom has its own dressing room! 🙂

      July 26, 2011
  4. I really love this…can’t wait to see the whole room!!!

    July 26, 2011
  5. this is truly wonderful. I’m just adoring how you’re incorporated and HIGHLIGHTED the beauty of your grandmother’s jewels rather than storing in a drawer. Fantastic!

    July 26, 2011
  6. Oh.My.Golly. I’m almost in tears, as those brooches remind me of my grandmother. What a beautiful way to capture your grandmother’s memory. Thanks for sharing! Can’t wait for the reveal. Happy Tuesday! 🙂

    July 26, 2011
  7. Stephanie #

    I did something similar…took a larger frame (11×14) painted corkboard added antique ribbon stripes then pinned on my grandmothers broaches…smile everytime I see it..

    July 26, 2011
  8. LOVE!!! Great idea. I have so many of my grams brooches and do wear them, but this would be a lovely way to see them on a more regular basis!

    July 26, 2011
  9. Ido #

    Wow, those turned out great! We still don’t have the Annie Sloan Chalk paint in the State, can you believe that!
    XXX Ido

    July 26, 2011
  10. I love what you did with these! What a fantastic inspiration.

    July 26, 2011
  11. Wow, how simple and how gorgeous! Love the idea and since I have some jewelry of my own I’m a thinkin I might do the same, but then I would need a dressing room? Do you like the Annie Sloan paint? I haven’t used mine yet.

    July 26, 2011
  12. I love, luv, lurve this idea and have collected vintage brooches for a while. Mind if I copy you?

    July 26, 2011
    • Robin, go right ahead. I’d love to see your finished project! 🙂 Have a great day.

      July 26, 2011
  13. looks so pretty 🙂 i’ve done the same thing too – why not?! i love seeing pretty brooches all around the house. your framed jewels are wonderful – great job on painting those picture frames!

    July 26, 2011
  14. Amy #

    What a beautiful project with such sweet sentiment. Love it!

    So nice to visi with you.

    July 27, 2011
  15. Aw, they look so darling! What a fabulous idea too – thanks for sharing!

    July 27, 2011
  16. Very pretty, I may try that with some family jewelry.

    July 27, 2011
  17. Jen #

    How pretty great idea I have a few of my grandmothers I just lay them in her mirrored tray but this is a great idea!!! I am a newbie to your site so want to say hello from Ohio!!!

    July 27, 2011
  18. Thanks for a terrific idea, I love it. I have two brooches that are sentimental to me so I am going to copy your idea.

    July 28, 2011
  19. What a great way to display those sentimental pieces. I absolutely love it!

    July 29, 2011
  20. Love this! So simple but elegant! I’m checking out that fabric my next trip to Joann’s and a pair of these are going in my vintage Hollywood room I’m working on! Thanks for sharing!

    July 29, 2011
  21. I definitely agree with you about art needing to mean something or speak to you. You did a fabulous job with the frames, and the brooches are just the right touch. So beautiful!

    July 29, 2011
  22. Pattie #

    Looks gorgeous 🙂 I love the bottom pin, simply beautiful. So many people love jewelry because it’s art for the body, but we don’t realize it can be art in itself too. 🙂

    July 29, 2011
  23. They look really lovely. Can’t wait for the reveal of your room make-over 🙂 Thanks for dropping by Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays and sharing.

    July 29, 2011
  24. These are absolutely fantastic! I would LOVE it if you could link this up to my Tutorial Tuesday and share it with my followers! I think they would love it and be inspired just as much as I am!

    Kari
    Newlyweds on a Budget
    Newlyweds on a Budget

    July 29, 2011
  25. I am visiting via Romantic Homes.

    What wonderful project to honor your grandmother!

    Have a happy weekend!

    July 29, 2011
  26. They look great! How fun to have something in sight everyday that is sentimental! Thanks for linking up to my party!
    Kaitlin-The Not So Simple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com

    July 29, 2011
  27. What an absolutely beautiful idea. I love that the frames look classy and vintage and I love how the broaches are family history and a decoration. Awesome idea. I’d love for you link up at my Friday Link up on Blissfulanddomestic.blogspot.com

    July 29, 2011
  28. Hi,

    Nice to meet you! Love your jewelry art idea! I am sentimental too, and love my moms and grandmas old jewerly. I may have to try this! Thanks for sharing.

    Debbie

    July 29, 2011
  29. wow, these are beautiful–great idea! Thanks for linking up.

    July 29, 2011
  30. That’s quite pretty.

    July 29, 2011
  31. You are so right, art ought to mean something. This is so beautiful. What a wonderful idea to do with my wedding brooch, which just sits in the botom of my jewelry box right now.

    July 29, 2011
  32. Love this design, absolutely gorgeous! I sent your blog link to my niece – she has some jewelry of her grandmothers, and is preparing to do a big wall collage of pics that mean something to her – this would be perfect!

    Hugs,
    Mary

    August 1, 2011
  33. Found you at {Primp} what a beautiful idea, just stunning!! Love all the meaning it has too.

    Michelle
    {www.ourwonderfilledlife.com}

    August 2, 2011
  34. These are just beautiful! I have several brooches of my grandmother’s, and this is the perfect project to showcase them. Thanks for the idea!

    August 3, 2011
  35. I cant tell you how much you have opened my eyes!! Thank you for all the wonderful ideas!!

    August 4, 2011
  36. This would work with grandmothers earrings, too! This is my next project for my bedroom wall!

    October 28, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

