Skip to content
vanity before & after

Do you remember the awesome antique furniture score I made back in April?

All of the pieces were in great shape, but in need of a makeover to freshen them up a bit.

One thing I knew for sure was that I needed to get rid of this “dated” finish and lose the gold highlighting.

The vanity and matching seat

and chest before…

Once I got rocking and rolling on my dressing room, I knew just what direction to go with the pieces. I’ve had some Annie Sloan chalk paint that I ordered a while ago just sitting on the shelf begging to be used. This was my first time using chalk paint. Surely I’m the last person in blogland to try it??? I chose Paris Grey. Perfect.

And here they are now…

I think they look so clean and much more current. And no ugly gold highlighting.

before

after

before

after

Come back tomorrow and I’ll show you what unusual product I used on the vanity seat!

toodles.

Joining these parties:
{Primp}Photobucket/The Shabby NestThe DIY Show OffTransformation ThursdayFurniture Feature FridaysChic on a Shoestring Decorating

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Just beautiful!! The pieces and your finish you did a great job. I must do more Craigs list perusing

    July 27, 2011
  2. i love the finish on these! the color is to die for and those curved fronts had me at hello!

    July 27, 2011
  3. nope, I’m the last one to use Chalk Paint…my order should arrive any day and I have many pieces lined up to use it on.

    July 27, 2011
  4. So gorgeous! The gray really suits the style of the furn. I am sufficiently jealous.

    July 27, 2011
  5. I love it! You did such a fabulous job
    Thanks for linking!
    XO

    July 27, 2011
  6. I love it! I haven’t dipped my toes into the Annie Sloan pool yet because I’m trying (operative word) to be disciplined enough to do other projects and use other paint first. This resolution has caused me to stop all together. I do have a few pieces just waiting for Annie Sloan magic. You scored with this set – the great purchase and the fantastic fix. Love it!

    July 27, 2011
  7. Great score and a lovely finish!

    July 27, 2011
  8. Kim @ A Brush of Whimsy #

    Those are just gorgeous! You are not the last one! I have some coming in the mail right now! πŸ™‚

    July 27, 2011
  9. Looks really nice. Love the grey, it is such a good color.

    July 27, 2011
  10. Just love the grey. You’ve done such a wonderful job. We cant buy Annie Sloan paints in Australia yet but am hoping that we will eventually get them.

    July 29, 2011
  11. Wow! What a beautiful dressing room you’ve created! And no, you are not the last one in blogland to try chalkpaint. I was just looking to see if there was somewhere close by where I could purchase some! I take it you were pleased with it? Nice choice on the color, too!
    Best Wishes and Blessings,
    Amanda

    July 29, 2011
  12. great job–so beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    July 29, 2011
  13. Certainly you are not the last to use the chalk paint. Mine has been on backorder with an Ontario supplier. I live in Calgary Alberta and there doesn’t seem to be any western Canada stockists yet. I do believe my order is on it’s way to me next week! Can’t wait.

    July 29, 2011
  14. Love it! I found a great vanity like yours… searched forever, and now it’s our sideboard πŸ™‚

    would love your redo input!
    http://chocolateshoesandcoffee.blogspot.com/2011/07/repurposing-your-vote-on-color.html

    July 30, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

