Skip to content
clothesline piping

Yesterday you saw the newly made over vanity and seat.

That poor, poor vanity seat cushion. Looked like it was designed for Little Bo Peep.


Moray pink taffeta with light blue piping. Scary stuff. Now, I’m sure pink moray taffeta has its place…just not in my house.

Not up in here. 😉

So I bought some tan osnaburg fabric at JoAnn’s for $5.99/yd. less 40%. holla!

I covered the seat. Never covered an oval cushion before…it’s so not perfect!

A definite improvement but I really missed that piping. Not the blue, mind you…just the piping. I liked the way it “finished” it off.

I suppose I could make piping if I really wanted to. But I like to do things the lazy quick and easy way.

Even if they are a little unconventional.

So I took a clothesline and my glue gun and went to town. It took about a minute. Seriously.

And this is what I wound up with…

From Little Bo Peep to awesome vanity seat in about ten minutes. Love.

Linking up here:

{Primp}The Shabby NestThe DIY Show Off




10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kay #

    Are you kidding me! That is brilliant! I think you should get the ‘thinking-outside-the-box” prize!

    July 28, 2011
  2. Wonderful transformation and i LOVE your piping 🙂

    July 28, 2011
  3. What a cool idea and so quick and natural looking. Love the set!

    July 28, 2011
  4. What a good idea. Fast and easy, and cheap!!

    July 28, 2011
  5. I use clothesline to make piping all the time! Soooo much cheaper than buying pricey cording at the fabric store.

    It looks fab!

    July 28, 2011
  6. Mel #

    Fab idea but I’m a little dense, so ‘splain to me… you used the line and then made piping out of it? At first I thought you just glued the line on, then I thought, no, it would just come off. Told you i’m dense. LOL

    July 28, 2011
  7. Mel #

    Get outta town, you’re brilliant. I MUST do this. Thanks.

    July 28, 2011
  8. LOVE IT! I’ve nevert tried piping, 1 because I’m intimidated by it and 2 because I’m lazy-Love this trick!Thanks for sharing!

    July 29, 2011
  9. Traci #

    What a great tip. Cording is so expensive and this is a great alternative.
    Thanks for sharing it.
    Traci

    July 29, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

