Skip to content
let it rip

ahhh…one of my favorite Dixie Chicks songs.

It’s also what I did to the carpet in my dressing room.

I pulled up one teensy little corner and discovered hardwood underneath. And the rrrrrripping began. A dressing room makeover was not even a priority at that point (there are much more pressing projects around here) but once I got ripping, I couldn’t stop.

It was the equivalent of a peeling sunburn from my teenage years. I couldn’t leave it alone.

The tack strips were a bear to rip up. And there were about a zillion staples that held the padding down.

This pry bar made it lots easier.

Now, these pine floors were not in great shape. Better than carpet but not in great shape.

There were dents and gashes and holes and scratches. I had no interest in having them refinished. Too expensive and I wanted a lighter look anyway.

So I painted them.

After doing some research, I decided white porch paint was the way to go.

I love the lightness the white floors bring to the room. I even love that they highlight the imperfections.

After all, sometimes that’s where the beauty is.

Be sure to come back next week when I’ll reveal the dressing room makeover. It is my favorite project EVER.

It’s also my birthday week, so I’m gonna have a suh-weet giveaway!

Enjoy your weekend, peeps!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. LOVIN’ the white floors. great choice. and i agree, i love to highlight imperfections. it’s what makes things special.

    July 29, 2011
  2. How exciting! I look forward to the whole reveal! Hope you have a fan-tabulous birthday week!!

    July 29, 2011
  3. I love dark floors but it would have been a major j-o-b getting that floor refinished….i think you made a good choice in painting the floor b/c it looks great! can’t wait to see your reveal.

    judy

    July 29, 2011
  4. Ido #

    How wonderful discovery! How do you clean the painted floors, do they chip easily, I’m curious, but I LOVE the look of painted floors.
    Have a lovely weekend!
    XXX Ido

    July 29, 2011
  5. Oh, I was hoping you were going to paint it as I was reading along. What great luck to find the hardwood and the paint looks wonderful! I’m really enjoying the peek and look forward to the full reveal.

    July 29, 2011
  6. Joy #

    Well, that was major impressive – the wood floor was great and the cottage look white paint is even better. A quick upgrade that will make you smile every peep.

    July 29, 2011
  7. Ok…where did you get that rug from?? I got a small glimpse of it in your last post, and now a full view in this post… I LOVE it. Please tell me you got it around here and it was cheap!!

    July 29, 2011
  8. You’re torturing us with this makeover! lol! I can’t wait to see it!

    July 30, 2011
  9. Girl…you are a woman after my heart…love the painted white floors. Just had ALL of the floors in my house painted white and could not be happier……Can’t wait to see the big reveal.

    July 30, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

