Skip to content
dressing room makeover

One of the cool things about our farmhouse is that each bedroom has its own dressing room.ย Another cool thing is that our bedroom has two closets, so I get the dressing room all to myself. It’s mine….allllll mine….mwah ha ha….

Now don’t go feeling too sorry for my hubby. He’s got an office, a billiards room (formerly our dining room…how awesome am I???), and a gentleman’s bar (no he’s not a lush…it is the original gentleman’s bar from the 1800’s…it’s way cool and I’ll show it to ya sometime).

So back to me… ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s the first time I’ve ever decorated a room that was totally for myself. I didn’t have to worry about anybody else’s likes, dislikes, fave colors, whether it was too “girly,” blah blah blah. ย And lemme tell ya…it was fun.

Before we begin…let me give you a little refresher on what the space looked like before.

Champagne-ish color carpet, walls and trimwork the sameย exact color…which I believe is by Benjamin Moore and called “dingy, depressing and drab.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

It all started with the floors. Once I ripped up the carpet, it was go time. Although a dressing room makeover was way, way, waaayyyy ย down on my to-do list the naked, tack-filled, staple-laden hardwood bumped it straight to the top.

Once I removed all the tacks and staples from the floor, I painted the walls Iceburg by Ben Moore. The trim got several coats of nice, crisp white.

Have I mentioned that I am not a neat painter? ๐Ÿ˜‰

The floor got a couple of coats of white porch paint.

My antique vanity and dresser got head to toe makeovers in French Grey chalk paint.

I found this rug at World Market…perfec-to!

Then I added my china cabinet that I thought I was going to have to get rid of because I didn’t have anywhere for it. Perfect fit.

I found this wonderful chair at Tattered Tiques.

My estate sale dress form {Elsie} was the perfect addition to the corner.

Once I painted the room and had most everything in it, it looked a bit too stark. So I added the picket fence that I found at Tattered Tiques to “dirty” it up a bit.

It’s a great place to hang necklaces.

I already had the white tab top curtains and I made a “make-shift” curtain rod by using antique corbels (another tattered tiques find) and a stick from the yard!

The french doors lead out onto the sleeping porch. That’s a future project!

A wonderful vintage iron piece for between the doors

Some estate sale finds on the vanity

I used a mirror I already had over the vanity. The finishing touch was the fabric pennant banner from Tattered Tiques.ย I ย love the way it finished off the room.

The one thing I haven’t shown you is the vintage chandy for the space. That’s because it isn’t hung yet. I’m waiting for someone…a-hem…to hang it for me.

Cause, Miss Scarlett…I don’t know nuthin’ bout messin’ with no electricity!

Come back tomorrow for a suh-weetย day-before-my-birthday giveaway!

Linking up at these partays…

The DIY Show OffPhotobucket/The Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingDomestically SpeakingTransformation Thursdaybeneath my heartMy Repurposed LifeDesigner Garden


50 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh my word – what an amazing transformation. You go girl making yourself an awesome space! It doesn’t even look like it would be in the same house. Well done!

    August 2, 2011
  2. Jen D. #

    So pretty! Where did the other mirror go?

    August 2, 2011
  3. Mel #

    It’s stunning! I would never leave. Think of getting a cooler for some bevvys, and you have the perfect alone time sanctuary ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 2, 2011
  4. I love seeing how your new home is coming together. It’s just gorgeous! It also gives me motivation to get off my blogging butt and get my own home (which we just moved into) all spiffy too. I’m off to finish that sunroom….

    August 2, 2011
  5. Gorgeous! Great space!

    August 2, 2011
  6. Ido #

    Is gorgeous Susan! Love the idea of the corbels and a branch.
    XXX Ido

    August 2, 2011
  7. love everything about this space! Just gorgeous!
    Thanks for linking!
    XO

    August 2, 2011
  8. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!! My favorite thing in the room is the pennant!

    August 2, 2011
  9. So love your blog! This room is so inspiring…I am about to do a petite space like this for myself! Looking forward to catching up with you…I am your newest follower!

    August 2, 2011
  10. I want a room like that….:(
    So cute and all yours!

    August 2, 2011
  11. Sue #

    Love your dressing room, and esp the awesome dress form!!

    August 2, 2011
  12. Gorgeous! A lovely dressing room all your own -lucky duck!

    August 2, 2011
  13. so beautiful–love all the details: rug, dress form, blue typewriter–so charming. Thanks for sharing at my linky party this week.

    August 3, 2011
  14. It’s just perfect! I love everything I see!

    August 3, 2011
  15. It’s so pretty, I love it and you did a great job everything is so perfect!

    August 3, 2011
  16. Hi there! Really liking your blog…Your dressing room is just lovely! I especially love that rug. You inspired me to get one of my ironstone platters out and put some of my bracelets and jewelry out on my own vanity. Pretty! Hope you’re having a nice week…

    August 3, 2011
  17. WOW! I love it! I would love my own dressing room too! You’re a lucky lady! ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 3, 2011
  18. What a fabulous room and you have “dressed” it beautifully!

    August 3, 2011
  19. So very, very, very cool. Love it. It turned out lovely! Thanks so much for linking it up!
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    shaunna

    August 4, 2011
  20. Love everything about this! And very much wishing I had a dressing room in this little house! Thanks for linking up with Lemon Tree today!

    August 4, 2011
  21. I linked to this from Lemon Tree’s Facebook page, I just love it!

    August 4, 2011
  22. I AM IN LOVE WITH YOUR ROOM! love absolutely everything about it…I am currently making-over our guest bedroom and would love for it to have a similar feel to your dressing room. I have been searching for the perfect gray paint to paint the guest room dresser…I LOVE the french gray chalkboard paint you used…would you mind sharing with me what brand you used? (guessing Annie Sloan?) thank you so much for the inspiration!

    August 4, 2011
    • Hi Melissa! Thanks do much. Yes it’s Annie Sloan and the color is Paris grey. I’d love to see your guest room when you are finished! Have a good day. ๐Ÿ™‚

      August 4, 2011
  23. Wow, what a lovely room! So clean and pretty and love all your unique touches!
    ~Pam

    August 4, 2011
  24. Again…..Very, Very pretty!!

    August 4, 2011
  25. LOVE THIS!! I’m featuring your project on my blog tomorrow as one of my Favorites of the Week. Hope you can stop by! http://www.howtonestforless.com

    Erin @ How to Nest for Less

    August 4, 2011
  26. Ammmmazing, you make me sooo jealous. Love your style x

    Christina

    August 4, 2011
  27. really incredibly beautiful! how wonderful to have a little place of your own!!

    August 4, 2011
  28. I’ve peeked in on this a few times and just love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 5, 2011
  29. It looks absolutely perfect. Love every nook and corner of that room. The idea of using a stick to hang the curtains is amazing. The white curtains look so pretty on that stick.

    Saw your link on ‘French Country Cottage’. I am hosting my first Link-up party – Tea Time Thursdays. Would be glad to see some of your awesome posts there. Hope to see ya at the party ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://tanyaanurag.blogspot.com/2011/08/celebrating-one-party-time.html

    August 5, 2011
  30. love, love, love, this space! I’m soooo jealous ๐Ÿ˜‰ One day I will have a place to call my own just like it!!

    julie

    August 5, 2011
  31. Gasp! It’s GORGEOUS! Oh that mirror and the cabinet with the glass door, oh and the chair… oh my! I want one to call my own! LOL. I hope you will come share this at my VIP party today. http://designergarden.blogspot.com/2011/08/vip-party-22.html

    August 5, 2011
  32. wow! Only in my dreams could I have a room like this! Your dressing room should be in a magazine spread! seriously! simply beautiful!
    gail
    ps thanks for linking up, catching you this week!

    August 5, 2011
  33. This is FANTASTIC!!! I love your space and everything you have done with it! Love the painted floor and the decor – soo charming!! Thank you for linking up at Feathered Nest Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 8, 2011
  34. What a great room. Love the floor.

    August 10, 2011
  35. What a beautiful space, every bit of it is perfect! t. xoxo

    August 10, 2011
  36. Absolutely gorgeous~ I could live there! And I LOVE the trunk on top of your china cabinet!

    August 11, 2011
  37. I have got to get some Annie Sloan paint! Your dressing room turned out absolutely beautiful!!

    August 13, 2011
  38. SO CUTE! I totally love it! I’m transforming my third bedroom into a dressing room/office, so this definitely has helped inspire me! Love it.

    Trissta
    http://www.livingonthechic.com

    August 16, 2011
  39. Does French Gray chalk paint work like any other latex paint? Just considering refinishing some furniture (first time) and would love advice… This is just beautiful, I have dressing room envy now!

    September 1, 2011
    • Chalk paint is completely different from latex paint. No priming is required, the texture is very different and distresses very well, it dries super quickly and the finish (once waxed) is beautiful. I will never go back to regular latex paint. To buy it, just go the the Annie Sloan website and find a stockist near you. Happy painting!

      September 1, 2011
  40. What a lovely room! And that window treatment is so very fun! Visiting form SNS ๐Ÿ™‚ Laurel@chippingwithcharm

    October 1, 2011
  41. What a gorgeous room! I’m not even sure which feature is my fav. I’d take it all! But I sure have my eye on that gate section… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Shared on FJI Facebook for SNS 101.

    Donna

    October 2, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lessons Learned: My Favorite Projects {August 5th}
  2. August re-cap | Maple & Magnolia
  3. orlando antiquing finds {part 2} | Maple & Magnolia
  4. Lessons Learned: My Favorite Projects {December 30th}
  5. sleeping porch project | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

