Skip to content
Birthday Banner Giveaway!

Don’tcha just love giveaways? Me too.

Tomorrow is my birthday. The big 4-3. Uh. It’s sounds so much older than 42! πŸ˜‰

So to celebrate…I feel like having a little giveaway!

You know the pretty pennant banner that’s in my dressing room? The sweet gals at Tattered Tiques made another one for me to give away.

Now you know for typical giveaways you have to be a follower, follow on facebook, yada yada. Not this one.

For this one all ya have to do is leave a comment describing your most memorable birthday. It will give me something to read while I’m doing Geritol shooters! πŸ˜‰

You wanna hear mine?

For my 40th birthday, my hubby pulled off the biggest birthday surprise ever. We were living in Connecticut at the time. We rented a house on a lake in Maine for the week of my birthday. We got there the day before my birthday. The day of my birthday we rented a pontoon boat and were out on it. Then Jim said he had to go pick up my cake and left. He said to meet him at the house at 1:00. So the kids and I continued to tube and swim and have a good ole time. At 1:00, we went back to the house and when I got inside every member of both of our families was there and yelled “surprise!” Surprise was an understatement. I was shocked. I couldn’t believe my parents, brother, sister-in-law and their son (all from Alabama), Jim’s parents (from North Carolina) and Jim’s sister, husband and two children (from Ohio) were all there. My husband had taken care of every last detail in getting 11 people all the way to Maine to surprise me and I never had a clue. Cause he’s just that sweet. And thoughtful. So that’s my most memorable birthday.

Hannah and I are celebrating with a spa day tomorrow. Can’t wait!

I’ll be back on Friday to announce the winner!

toodles.

Linking up here:http://www.jenniferrizzo.com/2011/08/welcome-to-giveaway-linky-day.html

Make sure you visit Jen’s blog for a party featuring giveaways! Plus her blog is chock full of eye candy…her kitchen is gorge.

52 Comments
  1. My most memorial, was the year The Little Mermaid came out in theatres, and I got to go with all my friendsies and celebrate my 5th birthday.
    It’s funny now watching it with my own 5 year old πŸ™‚

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!! 43 is still crazy young.

    Look how skilled you are, while raising children and moving across continents! 43 is bound to just be better than 42 if you keep up this momentum!

    Enjoy your day!

    August 3, 2011
  2. evelyn #

    Happpyyy Birthday!
    I was turning 10yrs old and being the 5th out of 7 children,I never really had a birthday birthday cake. On the day of my b-day I went on and on about wishing for a birthday cake. Arriving from school I found a home-baked cake for ME! I was so overjoyed!!! Still have my picture with mycake after 45+ yrs. happy…happy memory. Thank you, dear Aunt Nellie!

    August 3, 2011
  3. Mel #

    Happy Birthday ol’ girl πŸ™‚ Just kidding, you’re younger than I am.

    Birthday’s were never a big deal growing up. My mum baked us a cake and we would receive a small gift. For my 30th birthday, my friends threw me a surprise bd party. I was overwhelmed and felt so loved, that they cared enough to make my day, a big deal.

    August 3, 2011
  4. Stephanie #

    Happy Birthday to you!!

    I hate birthdays and no longer celebrate them…
    I have 2 sad stories.
    Suprise party for my 40th was great didn’t have a clue…bittersweet as my #2 son to this day hates that day…his uncle had taken the kids to get supplies and my son found the PERFECT birthday card for me…trying to show it to the adults…he carried it out of the store unpayed for…my brother screamed at him ( #2 is a quiet soul and took it to heart) , returned the card no harm done but to this day my son doesn’t get along with his uncle
    Second sad story on my 33 birthday my husbands grandmother died…

    Sorry to be such a downer but honestly can’t remember a good tale..

    August 3, 2011
  5. Debbie Graham #

    My most memorable birthday isn’t “memorable” in the way most people think about it when you say that..
    For my 21st I flew from Florida to Utah, to see “REAL” snow. I got there and was staying with a friend that was going to school at BYU.
    I was SO excited, we played and played, I went sledding and made snow men. All of the things you can’t do in Florida snow. Yes, it has snowed 3 times in my now 29 years in Florida, though never enough to stick to the ground.
    The day before my birthday I started feeling ill. Thinking it was a bug I moaned about just how much it stunk for me to be getting sick for my birthday! But as the day progressed, it got much worse! I couldn’t keep anything down, not even water. I wanted to scream out in pain at the cramping in my stomach.
    By the next morning and after dealing with it all night I ask my friend to please take me to the ER. She ask me if I could hold off until after church………. wow… Best friend you say? SO…. I tell her I’ll be there when she gets back… OH NO NO NO, had to go with her. She wasn’t good at driving in snow and her boyfriend was coming to take her to church.
    So I go… and I lay on the floor while she attends. I’m sweating, and still trying to throw up, though nothing is there. And when she gets out (2 hours later) and we get to the hospital and they get me checked in, in a town far from home where she is the only person I know well…. She leaves… So she can go move her things into the “good room” at her apartment. THANK GOODNESS I have an uncle and aunt (that I’ve only met twice) that live about 30 mintuet away. I have the hospital call my parents (in FL) and have them call the Uncle. Who makes it in time to hear that it’s my gualbladder and that it needs to come out asap .. Exciting! But do I, like any normal person have it done right then? NOPE! I check out and my uncle gets me some good pain meds (do you know how hard it is to find a drug store open on a Sunday in UTAH??), and I fly home the next day, where my mom meets me and takes me stright to the hospital and within 3 hours of landing I was in surgery… HAPPY 21st BIRTHDAY!

    August 3, 2011
  6. lenka hunwicks #

    Happy 29th b-day!
    My fondest memory was while I was travelling in Australia . I was missing my peeps and so I was sooo blown away when my aussie friends threw me a surprise beach barbi party!
    Love your blogs more and more!

    August 3, 2011
  7. My most memorable birthday was my 30th. I put together a Marie Antoinette themed party. My friends all dressed up and we had a wonderful time eating all kinds of fabulous sweets!

    August 3, 2011
  8. Nana #

    Happy Birthday tomorrow. I know I’m not eligible to win but thought I would share this. My 6 th birthday stands out as my best when I was a kid. I got a used bike which I thought was the best thing ever. But my cake stands out the most. It was shaped like a teddy bear with chocolate and yellow icing. Never forgot it as you and the rest of the family know. I think I have mentioned it a few times through the years. Lol. So on my 50th birthday not only did I get a surprise party but yes you guessed it. There was a Teddy bear cake with chocolate and yellow icing. Things come and go but knowing that your family listens and cares about things that are special to you well that is priceless.

    August 3, 2011
  9. Becca Gruber #

    I would have to say my best birthday was about three years ago. My little girl had just turned 2 and unfortunately wasn’t talking at all due to constant ear infections, despite speech therapy and everything else. She had tubes put into her ears on my 25th birthday. The hospital is a long ways from our house so we had stayed at the Ronald McDonald House overnight the night before, and the plan was to leave Ronald McDonald that next afternoon.
    Everything went fine with the surgery but she had a terrible time with the anesthesia waking up, needless to say my birthday wasn’t turning out to be a great day as we had planned. The doctors finally got things under control and we were released about 4 hours later. I remember walking in the doors of the Ronald McDonald House and saying to my daughter, would you like to go get a cookie since you were such a brave girl today and she looked at me and said COOKIE. Of course I immediately started crying, It was the best day.

    August 3, 2011
  10. my sweet 16 my friends had a surprise party for me in their barn, complete with hayride and horseback rides… awesome!!

    August 3, 2011
  11. Wow what a birthday surprise YOU had! Your hubs was awesome to bring all those special people to Maine to celebrate you. My most memorable birthday was when I turned 50 and realized I really couldn’t stay 21 for the rest of my life. But I’m still trying to act like it! Happy birthday to you and hope this one is fun too!

    Hugs,
    Mary

    August 3, 2011
  12. Beth Carter #

    My best ever was my 50th. Hubby took me to Las Vegas, not to gamble, but to see Phantom of the Opera!! It was awesom. We also did a helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon. Gotta love those sweet hubbies.

    August 3, 2011
  13. happy birthday!!! My most memorable birthday was my 22nd birthday. I had just started dating the boy who I was going to marry and we were going to California together to have fun and meet his family before school started again. For my birthday present he got me tickets for us to see Wicked in LA! He knew how much I wanted to see that show and I was SO excited. It was the best gift and most amazing date and birthday!

    August 3, 2011
  14. I happen to also be turning 43 in just 18 short day.

    Your giveaway is lovely! My fingers are tightly crossed. πŸ™‚

    I hope you will stop by and enter my giveaway for a $40 Anthropologie gift card.

    My most memorable birthday was blogged about. I threw my own 40th birthday~
    http://decortoadore.blogspot.com/2008/08/party-fit-for-marie-antoinette.html

    August 3, 2011
  15. My 30th birthday of course, I had a 2 year old and a 4 mth old but knew I had to celebrate somehow and really wanted to go away even if it was just for 1 night. My parents came down to stay the night with our girls while hubby and I went to Temecula, CA for a day of wine tasting and 1 night away. I was so worried about a night away from a 4 mth old but ended up having a much needed wonderful day and night away! It was even better coming home to my 2 girls who were of course fine and did great with mommy away πŸ™‚

    August 3, 2011
  16. We were on a family vacation to Connecticut and stayed at a Holiday Inn…they had a restaurant with a “Middle Ages” theme. I just love that memory! It goes back decades!

    August 3, 2011
  17. Rosemary Bell #

    My 52nd birfthday is one I will never forget. It was only a few months after hurricane Katrina had flooded our home and my husband had recently been diagnosed with cancer and given only a few months to live. His sister was living with us to take care of him during the day while I went to work. Without my knowledge she invited family and my closest friends to help celebrate my birthday. It turned out to be an evening of healing and sharing. Old hurt feelings were put aside and a renewed appreciation of life and our blessings were felt by all. Despite all our troubles, it was the most love filled birthday I have ever had. -Rosemary

    August 3, 2011
  18. Happy Birthday to you!!! I hope this year is great for you too.

    My best b-day ever, was my 21st. I was looking forward to going up and drinking it up legally in a bar for so many years, but by the time my b-day came around I was married and pregnant, so I was a bit bummed that I wouldn’t go drinking it up with all of my friends down at the bar. My husband and sister Holly, started planned a party for me I’ll never forget.

    On the day of my birthday, my husband woke me up to take me out for the day. When we finally left the house, he stopped at the gas station to fill up the car, and bought me a rose. Then we were on our way, but I forgot my purse I told him to go back home (apparently all part of the plan; he figured that I would forget something, and make him go back home). We pull into the driveway, and he said, “Hey, Wait here I’ll go get it.” There I sat for 10mins before I thought, β€œWhat’s taking him? Can’t he find it?” and headed in.

    When I opened the door, my whole family yelled, “Surprise!!” and were standing there holding dozens of roses! For my birthday I received 21 dozen roses! By far, it was way better than going out and drinking with my friends. It was a perfect day.

    August 3, 2011
  19. What a great birthday surprise! I feel your pain, I’m 46, so take comfort that there are always those of us older {ugh} than you. My favourite birthday memories would be tied between my 26th when hubby proposed to me and my 32nd when I was holding our long awaited first child. Happy Birthday and many more! Thanks for the chance at the lovely giveaway.

    August 3, 2011
  20. Camille #

    Happy Birthday! Like you I am a Leo and today is my 39th Birthday. I woke and was in the midst of getting ready for work to find my daughter super excited to give me her hand made card and present from her and her sweet father. So in my “basic attire” we sat on the bed and ready the beautiful cards. I felt very special in that moment πŸ™‚ The card was made with lot’s of love as she described each part and why she chose each color. She is my best gift ever therefore my 32nd birthday is my most memorable!

    Enjoy your day tomorrow with those you love πŸ™‚

    August 3, 2011
    • Happy Birthday, Camille! I hope you have a fantastic day. πŸ™‚

      August 3, 2011
  21. Ido #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SUSAN! You’re not getting older, you’re just getting BETTER! I don’t have a memorable birthday, nobody has ever surprised me on my birthday, that’s why I’m making sure that my son has his best birthday ever every year.
    XXX Ido

    August 3, 2011
  22. I don’t have just one I can pick, what I remember the most about my birthdays is just watching my mom bake and decorate my cake each year–the most memorable being one with several layers with a different colored frosting between each–the rainbow cake.

    August 3, 2011
  23. Sandra Nartker #

    One year my sister in law found out some friends had planned a surprise birthday party for her and she refused to go. The next time we wanted to surprise her we had her come and help us decorate for our annual Germanfest gathering. After she finished and went home to clean up we added birthday decorations and when she returned it was “Surprise” and she had helped with all the decorating:) The best part was after the initial shock was over, she stayed for the entire party.

    August 3, 2011
  24. Happy Birthday Susan! So happy to be part of your birthday giveaway! Yay! Hope you have a fabulous day! I’m off to go celebrate my father-in-law’s birthday today…he is a wonderful man, so you have good birthday company!
    …I don’t know if I have a most memorable birthday(I have an awesome family, so I’m lucky to always have a great birthday), but I did get a siamese kitten from my grandparents on my 11th birthday. Cleo was my best friend growing up. She lived 21 years!

    August 3, 2011
  25. Happy Birthday to YOU!

    I would have to say that my most memorable birthday would have to be my 22nd. You see, I had my first son on August 5th (he’ll be 23 this Friday) and then on the 19th, I turned 22! I was so happy to have my new baby I didn’t even need any presents that year! I hope your day is awesome! I love your blog. Thanks for the chance to win the pennant, I am a bit obsessed with pennants right now for some reason! LOL! πŸ™‚

    August 3, 2011
  26. You have a great husband. Me too! Aren’t we lucky!? Don’t fret, I just turned 44! My daughter made me the best chocolate cake I’ve ever tasted with fresh raspberries in between the layers and on top. It was beyond delicious!

    One of my favorite birthday memories, because it’s like something I’ve seen in a movie instead of my real life is:

    For my 34th birthday my husband was going to be in Dundee Scotland for a conference on mining law. (I know, exciting right?) He invited me to come along and my mother practically grabbed up the children in her arms and pushed me out the door with her foot. She really insisted I go along.

    So we were in Dundee and we wanted to eat at a little castle. We got in a cab with a colorful, wonderful driver who took us all the way out to the castle. The castle which only does one dinner seating and refused to accommodate us. They guy told us there’s another beautiful place a little ways away. We agreed to have him drive us. We got to Murrayshall and they graciously accepted us. We sat for a while in their gorgeous waiting room and they took us to the grand dining room. The only other patrons in the dining room that night were a group who had just golfed on the beautiful course. They were jovial, the three or four couples. They played the grand piano in the room and sang. What a lovely thing to get to witness! We had a beautiful red haired waitress, a young girl named Katherine, who had commented on my ring and earrings. The earrings, by the way, had been a birthday gift given earlier that day, during a much, much less fortunate meal. The presentation had actually been interrupted, mid-way, by the lady running the conference, who barged right over to our table for two like the proverbial bull in a china shop. When she arrived at our table, practically panting, she apologized for interrupting what was obviously an intimate moment… and proceeded to do just that!

    Anyway, back to the graceful, elegant situation we find ourselves in just hours later, at Murrayshall. The friendly group playing the piano has somehow included us in their fun. While we are still seated at our own table, they’ve managed to make us feel like a welcome part of their group. Before I knew it someone (The waitress? My husband?) had let them know it was my birthday. The next notes out of the piano were, of course, “Happy Birthday” with a happy group wholeheartedly singing along.

    So that, my friend, is the story of one of the most memorable birthdays I have ever had.

    And this is the story of how I wrote a short story in the comments on someone else’s blog!

    p.s. Happy Birthday!

    August 3, 2011
  27. have fun at the spa! you deserve it! my birthday is on tuesday…. i will be 3-3. and my son has the same bday and he will be 6. that being said, the day he was born was my best and most memorable birthday ever!!!

    August 3, 2011
  28. My birthday is tomorrow too, but I’m gonna be 53! You’re still a young’in!! My most memorable birthday was when I turned 41. We went camping on the coast in a yurt. I got really sick when I was there with an infection & pretty much suffered the whole time! I still loved being at the coast tho!! Enter me to win the beautiful banner. It would look perfect in my studio/office. Thanx so much!
    Blessings,
    Cindy

    August 3, 2011
  29. Visiting via Jenn’s giveaway link up! I love banners and that one is just gorgeous! Happy birthday!

    August 3, 2011
  30. Happy Birthday!!
    Oh this is an easy one. My most memorable birthday? My 21st – or at least the day before I turned 21.My boyfriend (now hubby!) and I at the time had gone out witha few friends and were walking back to the bus stop for our ride home. I was wearing heels (which I never do) and my feet were hurting me so the boyfriend was giving me a piggy back ride. Well, one of our friends decided that it’d be fun to also get a piggy back ride – on my back (while I was on my boyfriend’s). He ran and jumped on my back, and me and the boyfriend fell face down, into the concrete – because he had been holding me (holding my legs like you do when you ride piggy back) he didn’t put his arms out to brace himself. We were a bloody mess, but didn’t think much of it – just some scrapes here and there. well, i woke up on my 21st birthday with a black eye. and not just a little black eye, but a completely swollen shut (as in i could not open it at all) purple eye lid and a swollen cheek. I went to the hospital just to make sure nothing was broken (and the bf came along for good measure) – and well, i was fine, but when they did XRays on the bf (his forehead was scraped up) they found out he had a broken nose. SO I spent my 21st birthday, in the hospital, trying to explain how I had a black eye, my bf had a broken nose, and no we were not in a domestic dispute.

    August 3, 2011
  31. rebecca #

    love the flag. and happy birthday! i love birthdays! i get so excited for mine i start celebrating a whole month early. by the time my actual birth day comes, i am sick of celebrating! so i usually end up just being home with a home cook meal, family and close friends. i think that is the best way to spend a birthday!
    rwvanvoorhis at gmail dot ocm

    August 3, 2011
  32. Happy Birthday!

    My happiest birthday was the 1st birthday I (14 years ago) I celebrated with my now husband. I met him in March and my birthday was in June. It wasn’t that anything special happened, like a surprise party, or a great gift. The gift came when I realized that I had finally found the “one” for me. This “gift” from God was a long time coming. But, it was so worth the wait, for I had met and fallen in love with the man who accepted me completely for who I am. It was the gift of his unconditional love he gives me that made this birthday special, and everyone there after.

    August 3, 2011
  33. Karen Millburg #

    Happy Birthday Susan!!! you are still a young child my dear!!

    my memorable bday…when I turned 40, my husband surprised me totally with family and friends in our attached garage of our house. he said we were to go to a little gambling boat with another couple..and I had my cutest lil bag full of quarters..all ready to go! then poof, opened the door to leave and there everyone stood..and sang happy bday..etc…whew I dont do surprises well. actually I kept looking for a big greyhound bus to come and pick us all up to take us to the boat…I didnt take that lil purse off my shoulder for a long time! a fun late night!

    have a good spa day, enjoy!!

    August 3, 2011
  34. Happy Birthday.

    August 3, 2011
  35. Wow, what a surprise your husband pulled off! How sweet!

    My favorite BD memories are of my mom always making an angel food cake, and sitting it on the special BD plate–you would wind it up and it would play the “Happy Birthday” song. There would always be candles on it, and grandparents came for supper. We always got to pick whatever we wanted for our birthday meal. I don’t remember any certain presents, but I remember my mom would make it a special day for us. She would tell us all about the day we were born. She even sent me angel food BD cakes when I was at college, and continued to make me one every year until she died.

    August 3, 2011
  36. Margaret #

    This is a fun way to enter your giveaway! One memorable birthday for me was a few years ago. I was going through the adoption process and on my birthday I still hadn’t been matched. I felt calm but sad that perhaps God’s plan was that I wasn’t to be a mommy after all. Lo and behold, the next day the agency called with the match to my beautiful daughter! I know it wasn’t on my birthday, but it’s always how I remember it, basically my birthday surprise!

    Oh, and yeah, you’re still a youngster, I am facing the big 5-0 in a few more months…but don’t have any idea of how to spend it. Enjoy your spa day!

    August 4, 2011
  37. I haven’t been following your blog for long but I already love all your stories and of course, especially your makeovers and decoration! πŸ™‚
    My most memorable birthday was actually this year! My other half managed to gather ALL of my friends, from Paris (where I studied and where my family lives) and from the town in eastern France where we live today (around 40-50 friends all together) to come to my parents’ house in Paris, preparing a perfect birthday buffet and a great party without me noticing a tiny bit of it…. it was a wonderful surprise and a perfect evening!
    So, have a very happy birthday and thumbs up to all those husbands,boyfriends, family members and friends who manage to make the best surprises for us!!
    Enjoy the time with your daughter today and relax in the spa!

    August 4, 2011
  38. Happy birthday! I just found your blog and WOW, I mean WOW… WOW WOW!! I love your house and blog!

    August 4, 2011
  39. Happy Birthday! My most memorable is also my 40th! My husband actually pulled off a huge surprise party for me, too! I was shocked. It came a week after my birthday and to say the least, my real 40th was bleak. I spent the day cleaning for his college buddies who were coming to visit, my husband bought me a hose reel and my parents forgot to call me…I was bummed for a week… until everyone gathered at my neighbors for a great party!

    August 4, 2011
  40. Michele E. #

    Happy Birthday! My hubby’s birthday is today too! My favorite birthday was my 21st. No, not because of drinking but because of family! My mom, dad and little sister took me to the zoo! As a child this was a favorite thing to do. My dad’s cousin, Gary, would come pick me up and take me as his kids were older and he needed an excuse to visit the zoo! Well wouldn’t you know, as we’re wondering around the zoo we run into Gary! Next one of his kids, then my cousin and her family, then my aunt & uncle, then my older sister and her family and so on! When it came time to eat we went to the picnic area where my dad waited with fried chicken and all the fixins everyone brought to share! All in all there were over 30 of us there! And what makes every single one of my birthdays even more special? I share it with my brother! No we’re not twins born 9 years apart on August 15th.

    August 4, 2011
  41. Pattie #

    my most memorable birthday was when I turned twenty. It was less than a month after giving birth to my son, who I put up for adoption because I was young and he was the son of a really abusive guy I had been “dating,” so I gave him away so he didn’t have to be a part of that. I was all alone on my birthday, depressed and thinking of him, and feeling betrayed because all of my friends had disappeared after I had dumped this guy, five months after getting pregnant when he started cheating on me and physically abusing me. I was eating dinner alone when a friend of mine, named Kyle, came to my house with a small cup cake and a lit candle. He sat down, told me that despite all that had happened, I was beautiful and strong because I had done the right thing, and had loved my baby enough to give him a better life, even if it meant breaking my heart, and that I had had the courage to stand up for myself despite being all alone. He told me then and there that I inspired him to be a better person, and if willing, he wanted to be a better person for me. We have been happily dating since then, and plan on getting married when the time is right. It was the best birthday I’ve had because, despite being terribly sad, troubled and depressed, someone still thought I was special. πŸ™‚

    August 4, 2011
  42. pam in oregon #

    My most memorable birthday was 11 years ago. I was very upset about my 21 year marriage ending in divorce and I was feeling so alone and uncharished. My mother arranged for 6 of my dearest friends to come to her home for a birthday luncheon and it was a complete surprise to me. To this day I can’t think of anything that would have meant more to me at that time!

    August 4, 2011
  43. Happy Birthday! My 40th was in June! We raced go-carts with family and friends in the morning. Later more friends came to the house and we swam, bbq, and hung out! Such a fun day! I’m a new follower-I found you from Jennifer Rizzo’s giveaway party! I’m having a giveaway too! Stop by and say hi!

    Hugs,
    Jody

    August 4, 2011
  44. Susan Jones #

    It’s hard to pick one memorable birthday – there have been so many of them (so many birthdays, that is…). One that I do remember happily is my 11th birthday. We were staying at my aunt’s house and she planned a beatnik party for me. My grandmother, cousins and siblings were there, along with some of the neighborhood kids, and we all dressed how we thought beatniks would look. We had a homemade blueberry pie. I still recall the great feeling from that day.

    Happy birthday and thanks for the giveaway!

    August 4, 2011
  45. Karen #

    I love my Birthday so to pick would be impossible. When I turned 40 3 girlfriends an I went to key west for 5 days what a blast. 25 my best friend thru a surpise party and boy was i suprised that was fun. I always celebrate my birthday the whole weekend after. thats fun 2
    Happy Birthday.I thought 43 was old then I turned 48. How in the world is it possible I’m starring down 50. I feel 28.
    Cheers
    Karen

    August 4, 2011
  46. Anita Carter #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET FRIEND!!! Sounds like you are going to have a great birthday I hope it’s the best ever!!!!! I just love your blog!!! Take care!!! You Rock!!! And can I just say to all your followers, that you have always been this amazing and talented from the very first time I met you 20 + years ago. Keep it going….. God has given you an incredible talent and I am so happy that you are able to share it with everyone. You put a smile on some many faces. Keep shining for the Lord!!!! Many Blessings……Love, Anita

    August 4, 2011
  47. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! You are going to have a fabulous time – wish I could join you!
    Have a great day!
    XO Traci

    August 4, 2011
  48. Char #

    Happy Birthday! My birthday was yesterday! My husband also threw me a huge, fabulous 40th surprise birthday party! Such fun!!

    August 5, 2011
  49. happy birthday and thank you for the chance to win your lovely banner! on my 50th birthday, my hubby surprised me with a family lunch in the function room of an expensive restaurant, a powerpoint presentation (he scanned so many old pictures!) and a clearbook filled with pages of letters and greetings from friends and families! what a lovely birthday!

    August 5, 2011
  50. I’m also a newbie 43! So Happy Birthday to you! Thanks for the chance to win. πŸ™‚
    My most memorable birthday was my 30th. I had always said I wanted 3 kids before I turned 30 and I was due with #3 the day after my 30th. BUT, I had high blood pressure and they had to induce me on the 1st of the month instead of the 20th. πŸ™‚ Yay for me! Little did I know how big of a blessing that would become. 4 days later my dad died suddenly. It was the most bitter sweet time of my life. I was very close to my dad. The day he died we had some uninterrupted time at the beach holding new baby (which would have never happened had I gone on time) and talking really deep, really meaningful, sharing and mutual love. It was such a gift to me. We just didn’t know what to do with ourselves for a bit and then a mere 2 weeks later I was turning 30. Again bitter sweet. My mom gave me a bottle of Old Spice for my birthday. It was my dads smell. He wore that my whole life. I still have the bottle and every now and then I open it and go in for a hug. I miss him every day. That little baby carries his name and his love for all things cars, just like his grampa…and he’s now a new teenager. It’s my oldest son who looks just like my dad as a young man. It’s pretty amazing. Tears come at night, but joy comes in the morning. I live there, in that joy spot and I celebrate every birthday loving my dad and staying in joy.

    August 5, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. August re-cap | Maple & Magnolia

Comments are closed.