Skip to content
fab finds from the Arboretum Antiques Market

A couple of weeks ago, I went to an Antiques Market at the Arboretum in South Barrington.

It was my first time to attend and is held several times a year. Although the day got off to a stormy start, the weather eventually cooperated.

I loved this sale because the number of vendors was just right. It took me about an hour to shop the whole thing. It was very refreshing to have every booth with awesome merchandise  instead of having to weed through smurfs memorabilia and tube socks like at the typical flea markets.

Here are my purchases…

an antique dough bowl…I’ve been on the hunt for one of these to hold my fishing floats since I saw the idea here. Sidenote…if I could have anyone in blogland come and decorate my house, it would be Joan of For the Love of a House. Her taste is impeccable.

vintage pyrex bottles with cool scripty labels attached by the vendor…how easy would these be to make?

old pocket watch

a round lock and key. Have you ever seen one of these? I think it’s beautiful!

a small oil painting with scrumptious frame for our bedroom

a vintage chenille blanket…I’ve got plans for this.

This antique glass canister with metal lid. Perfect for dog treats! The best part is when I need the dogs to come back inside, they hear the “clang” and come running!

And last, but not least. These wooden stadium seats for the foyer…perfect for the kids to sit and put shoes on.

I love the wood as is, but this idea from Eddie Ross has my wheels spinning!

How clever is that? I’m picturing painting them barn red with some awesome fabric padding on the seats.

Well, that’s it for my fab finds from the Arboretum.

Have you been to any good sales lately?

Linking up here:
southern hospitality

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. That stadium seat idea would be perfect for my little nook.
    http://www.facebook.com/ajax/sharer/?s=2&appid=2305272732&p%5B%5D=656848622&p%5B%5D=8900113
    A little two seater would be perfect.
    Thanks for the wonderfull ideas and keep up the wonderfull work.
    Roxann

    August 7, 2011
  2. Went to a friends cabin that she is selling and the R.E. agent wanted her to get rid of everything and they asked me if I wanted any of it…..now that was a bonus all free. But nothing as cool as your stuff!

    August 7, 2011
  3. You found some great things! Since I had my toddler with me I was glad it was a small show. I wanted to go to Kane County flea this week-end, but it is my son’s so didn’t make it. Hopefully I can go in September. Look forward to seeing the stadium seat make over. The wood patina is great, but I agree with you the Eddie Ross makeover is awesome!

    August 7, 2011
  4. Awesome finds! You really did well!

    Nancy

    August 7, 2011
  5. You have some great finds! I would love to have any one or all of them!
    Debbie

    August 7, 2011
  6. those are some fantastic finds! i love that little round lock!
    and in response to your question i am an eight irish. not much, but i guess it’s the lucky bit!

    August 7, 2011
  7. Such great finds! I love what Eddie did with those stadium seat, too! I did a stadium/theater seat project a couple years ago. If you’re interested, you can see it here…

    http://www.whisperwoodcottage.com/2009/09/do-you-have-your-tickets.html

    Can’t wait to see what you do with yours!

    August 7, 2011
  8. I love all your finds, especially the wooden seats

    August 7, 2011
  9. All of your finds are fabulous!!! –The stadium chairs will be so pretty red with fabric! 🙂

    August 7, 2011
  10. Great finds! I love antique hunting.

    August 7, 2011
  11. Any chance you’ll be starting your “Flea Market National Tour” anytime soon? I’d love for your to cull through my state of SC and find some flea markets like yours! 🙂 Great purchases you made. I especially love the dough bowl. I found two, recently, at a thrift store…50¢ for both! Best deal of the century.

    Thanks for sharing your finds! Happy Monday! 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  12. adore YOUR eye for great finds. I want Joan (For the Love of a House) to come decorate my pad too. First I have to get into antiques though, probably huh? I also really like your before/after inspiro. All around great finds and you had me at beautiful fishing floats.

    Bernadette

    August 10, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

