Skip to content
vintage stadium seats

Yesterday I shared the vintage stadium seats I found at an antiques market.

I really liked the old wood as it was but this idea from Eddie Ross just kept coming back to me.

The seats that Eddie covered were slightly different from mine. His seats were flat but mine have a curve so I decided to only make fabric inserts for the seat backs.

So I headed to Calico Corners and found some fabric that I loved. I only needed half a yard.  I went to Tar-jay and picked up some foam board from the school supply section.

I measured the seat back and cut the foam board to fit.

The piece of foam board was big enough that I had enough for both seat backs. Foam board is easy to work with. Just measure, score with scissors, and rock the pieces back and forth until it breaks clean.

Next, I trimmed the fabric with about an inch allowance larger than the board and starting hot glueing.

A little tip…miter the corners so the fabric won’t bunch.

Confession time…I totally planned for the stripes be vertical. I realized my mistake after the inserts were finished. But I have to say, I kinda like the horizontal stripes.

The inserts just pop into place. I can make new inserts with different fabrics to change with the seasons.

I toyed with the idea of leaving the wood alone but decided to paint.

I chose Apple Crisp by Benjamin Moore.

Another tip…if a Ben Moore paint chip has a triangle on it, that means that you should use a tinted primer. Tinted primers are important if you want to end up with the color on the chip.

After two coats of tinted primer and two coats of paint it looked too “clean.”

So I used Annie Sloan soft wax in dark to warm it up. BTW, my favorite application tool for this wax is an old sock. Perfect for applying and smoothing.

See the difference with the wax and without?

All finished. My assistant Riley…mugging for the camera. 🙂

The color in the photos looks more yellow than it truly is. It is much more gold.

Before

After

And in the foyer.

Happy Monday.

Joining these parties:
southern hospitalityDomestically SpeakingSavvy Southern StyleFurniture Feature FridaysDesigner GardenTransformation Thursday

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Happy Monday, is right! Yes, Eddie’s project was inspirational. Your take on it is just as fabulous! You should link this up to the DIY Club Project Party Monthly Contest over at thediyclub.com. Love it!

    August 8, 2011
  2. Karen #

    I love your project simple and fast yet soooo cute. Thanks for sharing!

    August 8, 2011
  3. Tammy #

    Not that it really matters but are you sure those are stadium seats? They look more auditorium seating from an old school to me. Either way, I love them.

    August 8, 2011
  4. really great job, love that color and your *mistake*

    August 8, 2011
  5. You jumped right on that project and got it done – and I love the results! Love the paint color with Annie Sloan’s wax … love the fabric you chose, and the horizontal stripes look great, you’re right! Thanks for sharing this really awesome project with us.

    Hugs,
    Mary

    August 8, 2011
  6. First, I love the seating all by itself. Second, I LOVE IT WAY MORE after you worked your crafty magic! The stripe is just the right pop of pattern!

    August 8, 2011
  7. I thought your fabric choice was snazzy– we are using a lot of horizontal stripes in our displays and advertising– it just looks new and fresh and young– (sometimes mistakes are good things!) I enjoy your postings, attitude, and use of color– keep up the good work–
    I think you inspire lots of others out there–
    Greg Lawrence
    CalicoCorners Calico Home
    calicocorners.com

    August 9, 2011
  8. Super, super cute!!I like that it’s not the typical thing you’d find in a foyer, but practical and so great looking!! I’m so glad you gave the tip of using an old sock for the dark wax! I just ordered that wax and was planning on going out and buying a nice brush. So thanks for saving me some dough! 🙂

    August 9, 2011
  9. those are soooo cool! i never would have thought to pair that textile, but it is so perfect!

    August 10, 2011
  10. Nice update. The fabric adds great texture.

    August 11, 2011
  11. What a cute chair or I mean chairs…. SImple , yet dramatic in change. I bet it looks good in the house!

    August 12, 2011
  12. Hello!
    I just found you through GirlGoneNatural. I love your blog and the fact that you are living your farmhouse dream. Your projects are inspiring! I’ve only just begun exploring our blog but already am in love with the vintage stadium seats and violin case. I am putting a link to you on my own blog. I just started it two weeks ago, and like you, am living my dream- but of a cabin in the woods. Please stop by sometime. I have a few projects posted and will be posting more as I work on my place here! In the meantime. I will keep visiting you for inspiration and connection with a kindred spirit! ~Delena

    August 12, 2011
  13. What a wonderful makeover! The fabric you chose is fantastic…and I really like the gold color too! 🙂

    August 14, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Elkhorn Antiques Market | Maple & Magnolia
  2. pantry makeover | Maple & Magnolia
  3. August re-cap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

