Skip to content
antique violin case

When antiquing, I like to find unusual pieces to use as accessories. My latest find was an antique violin case. It immediately spoke to me because it was made of wood.

It appeared as though someone had stripped it down but not refinished it. My friend liked the rusticness of it. But I thought it needed a little help to bring out the natural wood tones.

This job called for some Howard’s Feed-n-Wax. Did you know you can find it at TJ Maxx? I found it on the kitchen aisle and paid $4.99.

I rubbed the case down with feed-n-wax and let it sit for 20 minutes. Then I wiped off the excess and the wood had a much richer, more finished look.

And now it lives in my foyer.

And I love it there.

Sharing here:
Good Life Wednesdays

{Primp}
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. forget the case (although I love it). LOVE the brick floors!!! 🙂

    August 9, 2011
  2. what a beautiful find!

    August 9, 2011
  3. That’s pretty and unique. Perfect.

    August 9, 2011
  4. Cas #

    What a gorgeous little accent piece. Nice!
    Cas x

    August 10, 2011
  5. Karen #

    So cute! It looks so happy!

    August 10, 2011
  6. Very very cool!

    August 10, 2011
  7. beautiful case! looks great in it’s new spot.

    August 10, 2011
  8. What a unique find…it looks wonderful where you have it nested!

    August 11, 2011
  9. Lovely find and looks great in its new home 🙂 Thanks for adding your link to Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays.

    August 11, 2011
  10. Could your foyer be any more gorgeous??? I don’t think so!!! It looks wonderful!!

    August 12, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

