Skip to content
chippy red table

Today I made my weekly stop into Steeplechase Antiques.  Lately I’ve gotten a lot more selective about pieces I buy and bring home. (Mainly because I’m running out of room!) I have to know exactly where I’m going to put something, or I don’t buy it. Also I’ve got to really, really love it.

As soon as I stepped into the shop I spied this chippy, red beauty. It was totally speakin’ my language. A no-brainer.

I had the perfect spot in mind for it in the kitchen. I love the way it stands out against the green wall.

I love the red, the chippiness, the wood on top, the quatrefoil cut outs, the shape of the piece, okay so basically everything about it.

Another favorite purchase (also from Steeplechase) is this wonderful antique church attendance register. I just love it.

Thanks for stopping by!

Linking up here:

Chic on a Shoestring Decorating


19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Awesome!! I wish Steeplechase Antiques was driving distance from me. Your table and the sign is gorgeous.

    August 11, 2011
  2. Mel #

    Oh, I really like this table and I’m glad you have left it as is. Don’t you wish it could tell you it’s story?

    That church needs more members (5?) lol

    August 11, 2011
  3. What a great find–that red is wonderful! And your home is just beautiful!

    August 11, 2011
  4. This is unique indeed, never have seen one that looked like this..great find my friend

    August 12, 2011
  5. WOW!! What a FAB FIND – and also love the quatrefoil cut-outs on the apron! Lately, I’ve started obsessing over RED – I think if I spied this table, I would have been in heaven!!

    Thanks for sharing!
    xo Lynda

    August 12, 2011
  6. Really love that! Great eye you have!

    August 12, 2011
  7. That table is awesome and, like the others, I’m lovin’ that chruch sign but worried about the fate of the church itself. Do you think the five congragents found somepleace else to worship?

    August 12, 2011
  8. Stephanie #

    the table is perfection….why can i never find anything so lovely??? But half the fun is in the hunt…so i’ll keep lookin’

    August 12, 2011
  9. I love it! I wish you lived out here in San Diego so we could go hunting for fabulous finds together; you have great style!

    August 12, 2011
  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m so glad that I clicked back to see yours because I LOVE your style! I can’t wait to keep looking around. Your house is amazing!

    August 12, 2011
  11. Susan,
    I LOVE the red table! So cute and tattered. That church sign is awesome too, and so unique. Only 5 church members? I wouldn’t be able to sneak out the back early there! Karrin always has such great stuff!

    Julie – Tattered Tiques

    August 12, 2011
  12. What a great table and I love the old church sign! Such awesome pieces! I can see I need to take a trip trip to Barrington soon. We drove through it on our way home from the water park this summer and it looks like a charming place.
    I took my kids to the Threshing Bee in Sycamore today and we all had so much fun!! They had a flea market and I got some wonderful treasures for very good prices.

    August 12, 2011
    • Oh, Lisa. I can’t wait to see your treasures! Yes, you need to come to Barrington…I’ll take you around to all my favorite spots!

      August 12, 2011
  13. michele #

    Love the chippy red table. Really love Riley!

    August 12, 2011
  14. Love love the red table…it would look awesome in my house too! I love the church sign…perfect spot and love the whole look. Would love to come visit and go decor hunting with you!!

    August 13, 2011
  15. You have to love a chippy red table!! So charming! Thanks for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday! 🙂

    August 18, 2011
  16. I’m so glad I found your blog! Love your style! I’m near Barrington too and am SO going to Steeplechase now — never been there. Drooling over that table …

    September 16, 2011
    • wow…we are neighbors. I just visited your blog and it is really beautiful. Definitely stop by Steeplechase and tell Karrin I sent you! She is open Thurs,Fri,Sat from 11-5 each week. Also, not sure you if know this but there is one final Antiques Market at the Arboretum in South Barrington on Sunday! It’s a small show but a nice size that you can cover easily in an hour. I always manage to find some treasures!

      September 16, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

