Skip to content
kitchen tour

One of the things that sold me on our house was the kitchen. I fell in love with everything about it. Especially all the natural light that comes pouring through from every side.

I’ve been slowly adding pieces to the kitchen and it’s basically finished with the exception of barstools. I want some vintage industrial metal ones and haven’t found them yet.

I’ve accessorized using a combination of baskets, silver, white ironstone and greenery. I’ve added touches of farmhouse, vintage, industrial, and antique pieces to create a look that I call farmhouse chic.

Here’s a little tour…

Thanks for stopping by!

Linking up here:
Anything RelatedBoogieboard CottagePhotobucketSavvy Southern Style{Primp}

The DIY Show Off

56 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m envious! You have a beautiful kitchen. I love that red table and the attendance record too.

    August 15, 2011
  2. Michael Woodward #

    Susan you are amazing! I love what you have done with that kitchen. You got a nitch for this for sure.

    August 15, 2011
  3. Tammy #

    You have a LOVELY kitchen!!!! I love the hood over the stove and the island. What a spacious Kitchen! Love the color of your walls too. Did you recover that stool? I have one just like it and would be interested if you did a post on re-covering it.

    August 15, 2011
    • Hi Tammy, no I bought it like that. Seat covers are super easy though. Just email me if you have questions.

      August 16, 2011
  4. Ido #

    B E A U T I F U L !!!!!!!!!!!!

    August 15, 2011
  5. Susan: You are soooooooo creative and have done such a wonderful job of “finishing” your new home in record time. I am so jealous that I don’t have your touch. Paula Holston (your mom’s choir friend)
    P.S. I love the vintage flatscreen.

    August 15, 2011
    • Hi Paula! Thanks for your nice comment. Yes…it’s a vintage flatscreen! 😉

      August 16, 2011
  6. twicklep #

    I want to live in your home! It’s beautiful! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing,

    Patty

    August 15, 2011
  7. So beautiful, love the pieces you have added and all the light flowing in. I love sunny rooms. This is where I would spend most of my time!

    August 15, 2011
  8. Love the wreath(s) on the window(s). Couldn’t tell if it was more then one window you had the technique on. It is very unique but how do you get them to stay there if that is the part where must people use to open and close the window. PS… Can I say how much to love thevh

    August 15, 2011
  9. Beautiful kitchen! I went from a house in which we re-did the kitchen to our exact specifications and likes, to a kitchen that is, well, less than loved. In this big new fancy schmancy house, my only dislike is my kitchen. It’s ok, but not great. I love your new kitchen and how you’ve accessorized it. I also love black islands, and the matching range hood is gorg!

    August 15, 2011
  10. What a great kitchen….for real. Love how warm and cozy it is and that piece you have the TV on….Holy Crap!!! You have styled it beautifully!

    August 15, 2011
  11. It is all gorgeous. I especially love the mix of materials… I know you must enjoy that space!!

    August 15, 2011
  12. What a beautiful multipurpose room. I love everything about it and can see why you do too. I especially like the little red stool under the table.

    August 15, 2011
  13. The kitchen looks gorgeous! I have a tip on a place to find the kind of barstools you want…Find out what auction company the schools in your area use to get rid of their old supplies and furniture and watch their auctions. Schools sell the old metal barstools out of their science labs all the time.

    August 15, 2011
  14. Also, where did you get the rug that’s under your kitchen table? I’m thinking I MUST find one like it!

    August 15, 2011
    • Hi there, I ordered the rug through French Freak after Miss Mustard Seed posted about it. It was here in two days. Lightening fast. I ordered the 2×3 to go in front of my sink as well and I just love them!

      August 16, 2011
  15. You decorate just like I would! I love receiving all your posts Ivey so many ideas

    August 15, 2011
  16. Your kitchen is beautiful. I especially love the old church register of attendance and offering… brings back memories.

    August 15, 2011
  17. Wow Wow Wow Susan! Breathtaking! You’ve made it look not only beautiful but warm and cozy…very welcoming! I’m so happy for you!!

    August 16, 2011
  18. What a great kitchen!! It’s so beautiful, but also warm and cozy. A room I’m sure the whole family must love hanging out in. All of your wonderful touches have made the room extra special!

    August 16, 2011
  19. Simply beautiful! Its an absolutely feel-god, come-on-in kinda kitchen. My fave is the corner shelf. Love that! I love your farmhouse. I’m jealous! 🙂

    August 16, 2011
  20. BEAUTIFUL!! Martina

    August 16, 2011
  21. FABBY #

    Fabulous kitchen, I would’ve fell in love at first sight too! Beautiful stove and hood, love this part. Great shelves all over and you’ve done it so beautifully. Cute old fashion milk rack. I love it that it’s so warm and cozy and woody looking, I’m partial to wood, myself. Thank you for the tour. Have a nice evening. Visiting from WUW. FABBY

    August 16, 2011
  22. Your kitchen is absolutely beautiful and magazine worthy! When we remodel our kitchen, I want to put in a wood stove with 2 chairs beside it. I cannot think of any place cozier to have that morning cup of coffee. Everything is so charming and you do have the “touch.”

    August 16, 2011
  23. YOur makeover is absolutely fabulous! I have a farmhouse inspired home too. Your kitchen is chic yet so so warm and inviting! You have kept to your farmhouse roots and made this kitchen a very upscale heart of your home! BRAVO!
    Yvonne

    August 16, 2011
  24. Pam #

    Your kitchen is gorgeous! I love your attention to detail! I’m definitely adding your blog to my blogroll! 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Pam

    August 16, 2011
  25. Kim #

    Gorgeous kitchen. Love your black hood and the silver trays.

    August 16, 2011
  26. Linda@Coastal Charm #

    It’s sooooo PRETTY…love the island…love the TV stand…love the little red table…well lov it all!!!

    Blessings,
    Linda

    August 17, 2011
  27. You have a beautiful blog. This looks great. I would love for you to stop by My Dream Canvas. Take care Anu

    August 17, 2011
  28. Mel #

    Even I might want to cook if I had a kitchen that gorgeous. Nah, maybe not.

    What a great space. Your accessories are perfect and I particularly like the stand your tv is on.

    August 17, 2011
  29. Beautiful! I wish I would of had my fridge built in. The island is beautiful, I’m in the middle of painting mine black. I’m visiting from Savvy Southern Style.

    August 17, 2011
  30. Totally gorgeous! Beautiful, warm and homey!

    August 17, 2011
  31. Jessica #

    Gorgeous gorgeous home!! And I am in LOVE with the cart you have the tv on! Where can I get one??

    August 19, 2011
    • Thank you, Jessica! I found it at an antiques store. It is a printer’s stand. I’ve never seen one before. Sorry…that wasn’t very helpful.

      August 19, 2011
  32. Stop It ! This kitchen makes my mouth water, it is so beautiful. Your little touches are very inspiring. Thanks for posting!

    August 19, 2011
  33. Miss Kitty #

    Gosh! So many things to love about your kitchen…where would I start? One thing that really “takes me back” is the church attendance sign that I remember seeing in small country churches. I am now following you via email.

    August 19, 2011
  34. I check your blog regularly (I even have a link to it from my own little blog), and I love the way you have decorated your home. This particular post, though, must have been for me! I have been agonizing over how to decorate my new home with paint colors, and as soon as I saw the color on your walls I knew I had found it. Please tell me you know the name of this color and where I can find it!! It looks very much like San Antonio Sage from Sherwin-Williams, but I’m not sure. Thanks and keep up the awesome inspiration!

    August 22, 2011
    • Hi there Karen, Glad you are here (and thanks for the link). Our kitchen was painted that color before we moved in so I’m not sure. I’ll look to see if there are any paint cans in the basement and let you know if I find one. Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

      August 23, 2011
  35. YOur kitchen is GORGEOUS!!!! I LOVE the black! Also love the finish of your cabinets. Can you tell me what they are? Love the til backsplash too. The rug is terrific and I ahve a friend who might love it too! Came over from SSStyle. XO, Pinky

    August 23, 2011
    • Hi Pinky, Thanks for the sweet comments. I think the cabinets are maple. They were done by Grabill Cabinet Co. in Grabill, Indiana. Hope that helps!

      August 24, 2011
  36. What an incredibly wonderful, warm and very inviting kitchen! Your home is just gorgeous! I have a white house with black shutters and am trying to figure out what color to paint the front door…and now I see your white door and am thinking…how great that looks! I may have to go with white…and I wasn’t even thinking about that! so thank you.

    Every nook of your kitchen is a little treasure. Love the tropy! I think you should say that you won it for kitchen design and decor! lol or just whatever you want! lol

    Have a wonderful week. I just popped over from Savvy Southern Style. Isn’t that a fun Wed Party? I am going now to check out your other posts!

    Kristine

    August 23, 2011
    • Hi Kristine, thanks for the awesome comments…they made my day. I’m laughing about the front door comment because I actually just painted it to match the shutters (today’s post). I’m off to check out your blog! Have a good day.

      August 24, 2011
      • Ok…I am laughing too because I just came back to your blog after you left a comment on mine and cracked up when I saw your black door! sooo funny. ok, so black it is. I really LOVE a black door…great for fall decor…black and white gingham and orange…mmmmmmm…yummy. Ok, my problem is…my husband doesn’t like black doors…should I be defiant? and ask for forgiveness? or should I go red. You wouldn’t believe what color is on there now-YELLOW. See, I told you I am struggling with this. Right now I have a can of Burnt Ember in my garage just waiting to cover up the yellow. I had heard yellow doors are IN but I guess I am just not with it enough to live with the yellow door. It is just too much and besides, what on earth do you put on a yellow door at Christmas time?

        August 24, 2011
      • Does your husband like red? I wouldn’t pick a color that he’s not going to like or you’ll never hear the end of it. Our house in Connecticut was white with black shutters and had a red front door and I LOVED it. Very striking. Just my 2 cents! Good Luck!

        August 24, 2011
  37. The paint is going on soon…red it is. Baby is napping, and I ‘m headed for a paint brush!

    August 24, 2011
  38. Your kitchen is decorated very well. Their were many things that I am now inspired to do in my own home. Thanks for sharing.

    August 24, 2011
  39. Oh, I just want to come live in your guest house!
    Brenda

    August 25, 2011
  40. What a gorgeous kitchen! I like pretty much everything about it. . . but if I had to choose a favorite element, it would probably be the old church register! Oh, my word, that reminds me of my childhood. Our churches always had two of these in the front–one on which the hymn numbers were posted and one on which the attendance and offering numbers were posted. I just love this hung in your home–especially with the “Attendance a year ago today” sign. Precious!

    I’m visiting from Savvy Southern Style–you were right next to me in Kim’s features. So nice to meet you!

    August 25, 2011
  41. I love your kitchen. It is just full of charm.

    August 29, 2011
  42. WOW! I am so glad that I visited your blog today – your kitchen is amazing!!!!! Every part of it is just beautiful!!

    October 8, 2011
  43. Your kitchen is a dream! I love your style the most but the basics are stunning too! Wow! Thanks for sharing this in the Roomspiration Kitchen party too! 🙂

    October 13, 2011
  44. I found your kitchen through the link-up on DIY Showoff and think it’s beautiful! That surprises me because I’m usually no attracted to wood-tone kitchens. Now I’ll have to carefully reconsider my plans for our upcoming reno. I just love everything about your kitchen!

    October 24, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. August re-cap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

